1/28 Sophie AM BG 57, +17.5 at 114, lethargic

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

Here's yesterday's condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35409

I haven't shot Sophie today, and we're at +1. I'm leery of giving her any insulin so low (yes, I have read the "how to deal with low pre-shot numbers post). At 4:30 this morning (which is PM +4.5) she was at 85. I had left out some HC food w/gravy. I was so tired I had to go back to bed.

At AMPS today, she was at 57, which makes me wonder how low she got after her 85 reading. Why can't kitties be consistent? :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AMPS 57, +1 69

Correction - her +1 was 69. Just gave 1.5 oz Fancy Feast with gravy. . she ate about half of it.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AMPS 57, +1 69

At +1.5, 71. She barely seems to be rising at all, and hasn't eaten her full breffis. I've brought her to work to monitor her. She seems slightly stressed and a little tired, but not horribly. She's mostly laying around and asking for the occasional head rub.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AMBG: 57, +13 69, +13.5 71

So... when you don't shoot, call it AM BG instead of AMPS, k?
I almost passed out when I saw AMPS 57, +1.... as if you had shot it! LOL.

She's doing great. I think it might be time for you to practice twisting that syringe plunger.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AMPS 57, +1 69

Oh, sorry to give you palpitations Cyn! I'll definitely use the right terminology from now on. Yep, we'll be skinnying-up her dose. We're +2.5 now, and I'm not going to shoot until I see a definite rise, esp. since she hasn't eaten much.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AMPS 57, +1 69

JoshS said:
Oh, sorry to give you palpitations Cyn! I'll definitely use the right terminology from now on. Yep, we'll be skinnying-up her dose. We're +2.5 now, and I'm not going to shoot until I see a definite rise, esp. since she hasn't eaten much.

whenever you shoot, make sure you can shoot 12 hours after that... so you might consider waiting until your regular PMPS time. An early shot is the same as dose increase, a late shot like a dose decrease. Obviously, shooting early can be more dangerous, as there is overlap to consider.

Another option you might ask about... is shooting the regular 1.0U tonight (if she's sky high) then shooting the reduced dose in the AM tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AM BG 57, +1 69, No shot

Yes, I'm considering skipping her AM shot altogether so that I can give her PM at a reasonable time. Shes at 89 at +2.5 (what would be 2.5 if she'd had her AM shot). She's not very active, and really wants a lot of rubbing and holding. I suspect she got too low while I was sleeping, and being here at the office (though it's quiet and kitty-friendly) is not her favorite thing. So, lots of rubbing her head on me and arching up for butt-rubs:))
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AM BG 57, +1 69, No shot

JoshS said:
YShes at 89 at +2.5 (what would be 2.5 if she'd had her AM shot). She's not very active, and really wants a lot of rubbing and holding. I suspect she got too low while I was sleeping, and being here at the office (though it's quiet and kitty-friendly) is not her favorite thing. So, lots of rubbing her head on me and arching up for butt-rubs:))

Of course ECID (each cat is different) but MOST cats have higher bgs when they are stressed.

if you skip a shot, + numbers are just how long it has been since you shot. So, you and Sophie are at +14.5 right now.

she's doing great. maybe some sputtering pancreas. Give her small, frequent meals, if you can. and plenty of scritches and butt-rubs, lol.
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AM BG 57, +1 69, No shot

Thanks for the continuing ed, Cyn - I'm making mental notes. If you don't mind, what's a sputtering pancreas?
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AM BG 57, +1 69, No shot

Great job today, Josh, and Sophie looks good!!! A sputtering pancreas means it is occasionally making its own insulin. .....a good thing :-D Hope Sophie continues to surf green for you today and gives you a nice PMPS!
 
Re: 1/28 Sophie AM BG 57,

Well, we're at +17.5, and her sugar is 114. She's had very little appetite, surprisingly, and has been quite lethargic today. I know her BG is in the safe range, but her lethargy worries me. It seems clear she must have had a hypo last night while I was sleeping - do you suppose it just wore her out? I feel so bad about it.
 
hi there

according to your earlier post, you had left out HC for her after the 85 last nite and then went to bed.
did she eat what you left out for her?

just wondering, has she been limp/lethargic? or laid back, quiet, yet alert?
from the sounds of what you describe of her at work today, she's been alert but quiet and friendly.
she seems ok, yes?
hopefully she is still acting ok by the time you see this.
 
You don't know whether she had hypo symptoms. What I will say is that I don't go to sleep on a dropping number -- HC or not. You need to make sure numbers are leveling out before you go to sleep or you need to set an alarm and get up and test. Take this as a lesson learned.

The lethargy may simply be from Sophie being in lower numbers than she typically experiences. Her body isn't used to being in that range.
 
Yep, she did eat what I left out, but I don't think it was enough.

At work, she was wont to lay down all the time, didn't come when I called. She would get up and rub against me if I petted her, but very, very low energy. She's snapped out of it in the past hour and a half.

And hoo-boy - We're up to 422 from 166 in just two hours.
 
Yes, Sienne, definitely a lesson learned. I'm trying, it's just that a lot of these experiences are new to me since Sophie's recently diagnosed. I'm doing the best I can, and trying to learn from you guys and my mistakes.

Here's a recap of today:

AM BG at +12 - 59, No shot
+13 - 67
+13.5 - 71
+ 14.5 - 89
+17.5 - 114
+18.5 - 166
(then a car trip back home from office, which she hates)
+ 20 - 426 (I unit shot)
 
I completely understand. We're all invested in Sophie's safety and you're mastering all of this information. Its probably not a bad idea for you to reduce back to 0.75u and we'll evaluate how Sophie's handling that dose.

You might want to take a look at this note on handling low numbers. It gives you a better idea of when and how much to test.
 
Updated recap:

AM BG at +12 - 59, No shot
+13 - 67
+13.5 - 71
+ 14.5 - 89
+17.5 - 114
+18.5 - 166
(then a car trip back home from office, which she hates)
+ 20 - 426 (I unit shot)
+ 21 (actually now +1 for PM) - 382
+ 3 - 220
 
Sophie's now back to her usual self, and is eating up a storm and chasing laser pointers :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Oddly, she's become much more squirmy about getting her ears pricked over the past two weeks. It didn't used to bother her at all, but now she tries to avoid it. Hmm.

Looks like I'll be up for a while, at least until I see her BG flatten out.
 
Nice job with Sophie today, Josh! Glad she's back to her normal self. :) At the rate, she's dropping, you may be up late tonight monitoring her.
 
Well, little Miss Longhair seems to have leveled off:

+1 -382
+3- 220
+ 4-180
+ 5 -189
+6 - 186

Maybe Daddy can actually sleep tonight. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top