? 1/28 Pearl PMPS 132, +1 112, +2 68, +2.75 80, +3.75 102

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning everyone,

Pearl's high bounces the last couple of days are so worrisome. Remember how I didn't know how much I liked GREEN?!? Well...I LOVE GREEN!!! I WANT GREEN ALL THE TIME!! These other numbers are for the birds, much more stressful with the high numbers (For me!) Even yellow now, ick! :eek:

So, I hope today is our day :joyful: If NOT, question: It is a good idea to increase dose to 2.5U tomorrow morning (or bump teeny to 2.375)? We are on Cycle 15 now of 2.25U. I had been holding off to see if we could get back to the lagoon. Her lowest NADIR on 2.25U is 75 (on Cycle 8), so I am not sure if that means I can theoretically increase dose, or whether it means that 2.25U is just her dose she must stay on forever until she drops below 50??

Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-27-pearl-pmps-265-ugh-1-203-2-194.242164/#post-2728446

Happy Thursday to all!
 
Last edited:
Yep. The pink last night was the high before the bounce cleared. It’s clearing now. Yes I think I told you that greens become addictive. Patience pants get passed around a lot here.
 
Pearly Pearl.....the old dose increase threat worked! That’s a big drop, little one.

Regarding reductions, kitties can also earn them after a week in normal numbers mostly below 100. If she wasn’t in normal numbers most of the time but was having nadirs above 50 without a lot of wiggle room to increase, she could be at a dose a while. That’s ok. Time in green = healing time.

I’ll be curious to see if the mix of foods you were using to slow her down will work today. She’s on a mission.
upload_2021-1-28_8-3-51.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-1-28_8-3-51.jpeg
    upload_2021-1-28_8-3-51.jpeg
    46.1 KB · Views: 267
Yep. The pink last night was the high before the bounce cleared. It’s clearing now. Yes I think I told you that greens become addictive. Patience pants get passed around a lot here.

LOL, yes. I think you may even have been the one to gift me my first pair of patience pants ;)

I would SO MUCH rather deal with the greens and low numbers, interesting how my tune has changed over the week. I've started to worry I "broke" her!
 
Pearly Pearl.....the old dose increase threat worked! That’s a big drop, little one.

Regarding reductions, kitties can also earn them after a week in normal numbers mostly below 100. If she wasn’t in normal numbers most of the time but was having nadirs above 50 without a lot of wiggle room to increase, she could be at a dose a while. That’s ok. Time in green = healing time.

I’ll be curious to see if the mix of foods you were using to slow her down will work today. She’s on a mission.
View attachment 59567

Your picture made me laugh so hard, :D:D:D:D:D

So, I experimented a little today. Usually with the first drop, I provide some of the 3% food. The last few days I have noticed that equals not much more decrease for the rest of the cycle, usually. So, today after the first drop I decided to hold off on the 3% just to CHECK if it was really doing anything, or whether there was indeed only a single drop. And the results are in: the 3% does do SOMETHING as evidenced by her second big drop without it. And an hour after giving the 3%, she had only dropped about 8 points. So I believe Pearl must be pretty carb-sensitive.

Marje, so because of her 75 NADIR and not a lot of wiggle room, she stays at 2.25U now indefinitely? No consideration on increase at this point in time (and decrease if below 50). Is that the right understanding?

Have a lovely day!:cat:
 
Last edited:
Your picture made me laugh so hard, :D:D:D:D:D

So, I experimented a little today. Usually with the first drop, I provide some of the 3% food. The last few days I have noticed that equals not much more decrease for the rest of the cycle, usually. So, today after the first drop I decided to hold off on the 3% just to CHECK if it was really doing anything, or whether there was indeed only a single drop. And the results are in: the 3% does do SOMETHING as evidenced by her second big drop without it. And an hour after giving the 3%, she had only dropped about 8 points. So I believe Pearl must be pretty carb-sensitive.

Marje, so because of her 75 NADIR and not a lot of wiggle room, she stays at 2.25U now indefinitely? No consideration on increase at this point in time (and decrease if below 50). Is that the right understanding?

Have a lovely day!:cat:
Great info!!!! I love it when members take the bull by the horns and do the experiments on feeding to see what works when.

I was really talking in hypotheticals on reductions. IMHO, she does have wiggle room. A cat without a lot of wiggle room is getting in 50s and 60s as nadirs with mostly blue bookends on most cycles. Let’s see how she does today and what her nadir is. If she doesn’t get any lower than the 100s, I’d definitely increase her dose to 2.5u. You can do that tonight or tomorrow. If she does get below 100 but just into the 80s or just dips into the 70s, she still has room for an increase.

Sometimes, when you are seeing green nadirs but they just aren’t getting down into the 60s-70s or aren’t staying for several hours, an increase might just be needed for a couple cycles. ECID.
 
Great info!!!! I love it when members take the bull by the horns and do the experiments on feeding to see what works when.

I was really talking in hypotheticals on reductions. IMHO, she does have wiggle room. A cat without a lot of wiggle room is getting in 50s and 60s as nadirs with mostly blue bookends on most cycles. Let’s see how she does today and what her nadir is. If she doesn’t get any lower than the 100s, I’d definitely increase her dose to 2.5u. You can do that tonight or tomorrow. If she does get below 100 but just into the 80s or just dips into the 70s, she still has room for an increase.

Sometimes, when you are seeing green nadirs but they just aren’t getting down into the 60s-70s or aren’t staying for several hours, an increase might just be needed for a couple cycles. ECID.

Thanks for this, very helpful explanation! I'll see what the rest of this cycle brings and maybe tonight we will be in for an increase!
 
Best of luck with the increase and yay for the PM numbers! Looks like Pearl has decided to hang out at the beach:cool:. Surf safely, Pearl:).
 
Ok I have 2 tsp 3% but will add some more now. Will test in 30 min (she wolfs the 3% down so fast).
Wouldn’t you know she would decide to show off with a dose increase. Sometimes they do this ......only stay at a dose a cycle or two and the extra insulin can kickstart them to start doing better but it sometimes means a poke fest :confused:
 
Wouldn’t you know she would decide to show off with a dose increase. Sometimes they do this ......only stay at a dose a cycle or two and the extra insulin can kickstart them to start doing better but it sometimes means a poke fest :confused:
I hope that's what happens! I ended up giving a whole 20g of the 3% just now, I had to remember we are only on +2 so have awhile to go before the insulin wears off some! (the time I spiked her with the 3% I had given 60g so I think this 20g will be good).Thanks for being here!!!
 
I hope that's what happens! I ended up giving a whole 20g of the 3% just now, I had to remember we are only on +2 so have awhile to go before the insulin wears off some! (the time I spiked her with the 3% I had given 60g so I think this 20g will be good).Thanks for being here!!!
You’re welcome!
 
Ok we got 80 after 30 min!
Excellent. Man is she ever carb sensitive! So we are at +2.5?

We can let her go an hour but I’ll let you decide whether to feed because you seem to really have this down. What do you think? I will say it’s still early so maybe a small amount of the lowest carb? I’ll leave it to you.

I was just thinking maybe we want to wait another 30 mins to feed her so it’s an hour since the 3% and then test 30 mins after that but if you do feed her, go easy.
 
Excellent. Man is she ever carb sensitive! So we are at +2.5?

We can let her go an hour but I’ll let you decide whether to feed because you seem to really have this down. What do you think? I will say it’s still early so maybe a small amount of the lowest carb? I’ll leave it to you.

I was just thinking maybe we want to wait another 30 mins to feed her so it’s an hour since the 3% and then test 30 mins after that but if you do feed her, go easy.

Isn't it amazing - all that time, I thought the 3% was really 13% - and imagine if it HAD been. I would be playing a totally different ballgame with how rapidly she responds to A CARB (she is like her cat mom).

We are at the 2.75 right now. I can test at 3.75 (3.75 is 10:45EST). I was on the fence about feeding her right now, and she wouldn't even take a treat when I gave her her nighttime meds, so I think she won't be eating for at least 30 min - 1 hour anyway of her own accord. :D :D :D
 
Last edited:
Isn't it amazing - all that time, I thought the 3% was really 13% - and imagine if it HAD been. I would be playing a totally different ballgame with how rapidly she responds to A CARB (she is like her cat mom).

We are at the 2.75 right now. I can feed her at 3.25 and then test at 3.75 (3.75 is 10:45EST). I was on the fence about feeding her right now, and she wouldn't even take a treat when I gave her her nighttime meds, so I think she won't be eating for at least 30 min - 1 hour anyway. :D :D :D
Sounds like a plan. I’ll check back in at +3.75.
 
Well it's 131. :( Seems to be paralleling the numbers right about +5 for other nights she went green. I don't know if this means it will go back down later or not.
I’m just so surprised at how carb sensitive she is. You barely gave her any. Keep in mind, too, this cycle is likely not the 2.5u dose.

I wouldn’t think she’d come back down but hard to say especially if it hasn’t been two hours since the 3%. You are probably fine to call it a night.
 
I’m just so surprised at how carb sensitive she is. You barely gave her any. Keep in mind, too, this cycle is likely not the 2.5u dose.

I wouldn’t think she’d come back down but hard to say especially if it hasn’t been two hours since the 3%. You are probably fine to call it a night.

When I fed her last, I even gave 0%. So she has only had 20g 3% this whole cycle, and that 3% was about 3 hours ago now. Aaayyyyy.

You mean the 2.5u hasn’t kicked in yet and still operating on the 2.25 this cycle?

I will just go to sleep - keep my awake hours for a different night I’m sure it will be a soon!

Thank you so much for your guidance and help!!
 
When I fed her last, I even gave 0%. So she has only had 20g 3% this whole cycle!

You mean the 2.5u hasn’t kicked in yet and still operating on the 2.25 this cycle?

I will just go to sleep - keep my awake hours for a different night I’m sure it will be a soon!

Thank you so much for your guidance and help!!
While we can sometimes get a response the first cycle of an increase, the depot typically doesn’t fill to the new dose that fast.

She had a really nice day in blue! She’s doing so much better.

You’re welcome and have a sleep full night. I’m starting to turn into a pumpkin ;):p
 
While we can sometimes get a response the first cycle of an increase, the depot typically doesn’t fill to the new dose that fast.

She had a really nice day in blue! She’s doing so much better.

You’re welcome and have a sleep full night. I’m starting to turn into a pumpkin ;):p


Thank you - needed the encouragement. When she bobbles back up to pink or red, I feel so discouraged - like we've lost all the ground we've gained (LOL I am even beginning to feel that way with YELLOW now). Truly, GREEN is so much less stressful (even though I thought it would be MORE).
 
Back
Top