1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 +3.5~47

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Active Member
Hey Lantus Land! Moses is looking good :smile:

I just got home and tested, so we'll see how his behavior goes the rest of the day. It seems like it will be a nice day, like the past three days. We'll see what happens when the PMPS is here and we can look at that magical number. Then I can judge what the night will be like... ~O)
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156

Hooray! Moses PMPS isn't lower than yesterday's yay!!! I hopefully won't be on nerves for a night #3 in a row. Hooray! So worth celebrating.

When I injected Moses at his PMPS he yelped and turned around to bite the syringe. He's never done that before, I felt bad. :sad: Maybe I was a little sloppy... I'll try to be more careful next time, Moses. Ouch! (Thankfully he didn't bite the needle part, just a warning bite)

I'll probably test him again at +2.5 to see the point before his nightly nadir. Should be interesting!
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156

Beautiful day Moses....wonder what the night will bring...so happy you will be testing him Erica...
You know where he was last night, right? he is really getting the hang of this dance, eh? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 Question!

So... Moses just hit his lowest number ever just now, at his +2.5 of 48. He just had a good snack of his LC Evo dinner leftovers (like usual).

But b/c his numbers the lowest I've seen, I'm a tad worried. :?

Yesterday he dropped 9 points from his +2.5 to his +3. Should I be still and test at +3? Or go ahead and feed him some HC for safety sake. By the way, +3 seems to be his peak...

Also, he experienced some eating/injection association with his insulin injection tonight at his PMPS :sad: I watched a movie and when I returned at +2 it looked like he didn't eat much of his dinner. I've brought it into a new room and have been coaxing him to eat it. It looks like he's taken a couple bites since, but not his typical intake.

Looks like that yelp means a lot more than "ouch" after all :cry:

Suggestions, anyone?
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 Question!

Please get a +3. If he's eating LC, that should be fine. If his numbers are still dropping when you re-test, you can feed some MC (you can mix some LC with a little HC). You are going to need to test for a bit to make sure Moses' numbers don't come up and then drop again. What time do you usually head to bed?

I do believe that 48 earned Moses a dose reduction. Please have others confirm, though.
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 Question!

Honestly, an ideal bedtime for me is at his +1.5 but that passed an hour and a half ago. The past two nights I've stayed up until his +4.5, which is super late for me. And truly, I think his glucose rises at +4.5 from what I've seen. Perhaps tomorrow night I'll test a +5.5.

And this might sound selfish... but I can't be this test crazy all the time. I know he just started this nightly low numbers thing, but I can't continue to blow through the strips like this, testing every 30 minutes post PMPS. I do understand it's the beginning of his dance, but I gotta start picking out the most important times (of course this is an entirely different issue) blah

okay, I'll test again, it's his +3 right now.

Woah, he's beginning to really eat now!!! Yes! okay, I'll test when he's done snacking. Whew... good points! Ha! "don't touch him!" Hands off! :lol:
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 Question!

Moses did earn a dose reduction with that 48. Sienne called it correctly.

Awesome. Feed to get Moses surfing or even higher since he has nothing to prove now. It's still early in the cycle so whenever you do go to bed make sure there is plenty of food for him to eat. Ok?
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 Question!

Yes, I will leave food out for him tonight.

Questions:

*1. So, just b/c my brain's hairy with worries... his dose reduction (that Sienne & Gabby and CD & BigMac confirmed, thank you!) will look like a .75u shot tomorrow morning at his AMPS?

*2. I can look at other sugarkitties' spreadsheets, but can anybody pinpoint from my last 3 nights when are the crucial times to test after his PMPS? For safety I want to check every 30 minutes, but I can't go through that many testing strips every night. Any advice? Just guessing right now I'd have to say his +2, +3, and +4 if I could only pick three numbers.

WCR: He's pretty lethargic right now. Doesn't look like he's in any discomfort. His right ear doesn't bleed anymore though :sad: Poor Hulk!
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 Question!

Yes, +3 ACTION STARTS, +4 getting lower.+5 or 6 near nadir(unless Moses is a late nadir kitty)
You guys are doing great!! Dosecrease looks Good--Great job :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 +3.5~47 Question!

Sienne & Gabby, I'm not liking these numbers in the 40s. It went up 1 point in half an hour, so the good news is that he's no longer dropping. And he's continuing to snack on his LC dinner. Should I go ahead and give him a half teaspoon of HC mixed with the LC, to raise the numbers? Or leave him?

I think I'll test again in an hour at his +4.5.

I'm wiped out. Thanks for helping me, Sienne and CD. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 +3.5~47 Question!

Yes, the new dose tomorrow AMPS will be .75unit. And Roni has good suggestions for timing of the tests. Of course it depends on what the number is... if the +3 is pretty high, you could stretch it out for the next test to +4.5 and then maybe +5.5 to get you closer to the nadir test. It is hard to be short on strips, I understand your concern.
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 +3.5~47 Question!

Oops didn't see you most current post. Yes, go ahead and give him some HC. He has nothing more to prove tonight, he already earned the reduction.
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 Question!

When you test in the AM, if Moses is rebounding, you can shoot your current 1.0u dose to help bring down the bounce. If his numbers aren't sky high, then shoot the reduced dose - 0.75u.

Looking at other SS may not help to answer your question. Some of what helps regarding testing is knowing your cat. For me, I try to always get a +2. Usually testing then will give me a clue as to what's going on with Gabby's cycle. Gabby will also 'tell' me if she's running low and you'll see on her SS, those are times when I may get a +1 or +1.5 (or in the AM, I need to leave for work). You need to figure out whether a +2 makes sense for Moses. I don't know and can't tell from your SS if Moses' nadir is at the same time in the AM and PM. Fundamentally, as long as Moses is in safe numbers you don't need to test every 30 min. At times when his numbers are running low, it makes sense to get more tests. Some of this is where your comfort level is, how fast he's dropping, and how early in the cycle it is. A fast drop early in the cycle warrants closer monitoring than a gradual drop that's close to nadir.

If Moses is going to continue to surf, if you want to bump up his numbers with some MC, that may make sense so you're not testing all night. I'd give him some MC and leave plenty of LC out for him to snack on.
 
Re: 1/28 Moses PMPS 156 +2.5~48 +3~46 +3.5~47 Question!

Okay! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thank you so much! :RAHCAT

I'll give him a tad of HC, a good rub down, and perhaps we'll make it to bed by his +4... sounds so good!

And he'll get .75u in the morning. Whew! Super good. That helps me remember that this is him being weaned (perhaps) off insulin. Soooo good!
 
Sweet dreams Erica and Moses!

Just look at all that green :mrgreen:

Congrats on the dosecrease... he definitely earned it!

Goooo Moses!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top