1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Okay, so I'm being patient. And I'm reading and reading and reading. And I've always considered myself somewhat intelligent. But not now. I absolutely can't get this whole thing into my head. I don't understand what it is that determines Elian's BG numbers and what I need to do to change them. I don't know why but I just don't get it. I went to bed last night reading and reading and reading. I put the printout on the floor next to me and shortly after I hear........Elian peeing on them. My boy is smarter than I am!!!!!

With that said.....time for an increase tonight? And if so - .50 increase? My syringes don't show .25. Thanks in advance for reading and being here for us.


http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87879 yesterday
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5 Increase time?

What you need to pay attention to is the lowest number in the cycle. Where do the majority of those numbers fall? If most of the nadirs are below 300, you increase by 0.25u. If they are above 300, you increase by 0.5u. It's that simple. Where it gets tricky is how to differentiate when a bounce is happening. That's usually the place where most new members need help.

With bounces, once the numbers start coming down, there's usually momentum behind them. For example, on 1/27, Elian dropped from the 400s to 141.By last night and into this morning, he was back into red numbers -- a bounce that cleared and a new bounce started. The risk with increasing is that if the bounce is breaking, you're adding insulin to numbers that are dropping with a good deal of momentum. While for someone experienced with handling bid drops with their cat this usually isn't a problem, most new members get panicky. This is why we suggest you wait until you see that the bounce is clearing prior to raising the dose.

That was my long winded way of saying wait to see where Elian's numbers are up to your pre-shot time.
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5 Increase time?

looks to me like there is a very clear pattern of dropping between +4 and +8 and then rising back way up high into the 300's and 400's. confused_cat (I'm not counting today cause that is totally different....also some kind of crazy bounce)? I'm thinking maybe some kind of snack should be added around +4 to keep him from dropping the way he does. I don't know exactly how to manage that but I know that others have worked with feeding and insulin to manage bounces.....it's tough though
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5 Increase time?

Again - thank you Sienne and Caryl. I just feel so stupid! It's just not sinking into my head what is going on and what I need to do. :( With that said - I will try to post a +9, 10 and/or 11. I'll be in and out all night. I am currently feeding E and his brothers 3 x times a day with a Halo treat or two after each BG test and injection. I also put another can in E's bowl before bed.
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase tim

It's overwhelming in the beginning. Everyone's been in your shoes. Just breathe and take it one step at a time.

As long as you can get tests in, it will be OK to increase the dose. In part, I wanted to give you background information so if numbers dropped, you'd understand why and know to intervene with food.
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase tim

I'm going to up him tomorrow when I can keep an eye on him. Definitely don't want to start him at night. Do you think a vet visit is necessary or a waste if time and $$$? I printed out the spreadsheet last time and gave it to her - I would do the same so she has it in his records. But I'm thinking that all of you can and are guiding us better than she would!
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase tim

going to 2.25? 2.50? either way, you don't need to go to the vet Susie. Just test E every few hours if he seems to be dipping (I mean to the 100's give him 1/2 a can of food so the bounce isn't to big). He may even go higher which you already know and that's no cause for alarm (NDW). We want him out of the reds and pinks and the only way to do that is to increase his dose and this may not be the answer either. Baby steps :) He'll get there :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

ps keep testing for ketones!
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase tim

I agree with Caryl -- I've never consulted with my vet about dosing. You could always e-mail the vet with the link to your SS.

We don't suggest feeding 1/2 of a can of food if numbers are dropping. Rather you want to feed a teaspoon or two. If a kitty's numbers are dropping, you may be testing and feeding over the course of a few hours. You don't want to fill Elian up.

Also, food doesn't do much to offset bounces in most cats.
 
Re: 1/28 Elian amps 401; +3 410; 323 +5; 334 +9 Increase tim

is there a link where I can read about when and how much to feed? I've just been feeding him 3x day - after amps and pmps and once mid afternoon. Then I make sure there is food in the bowl when I go to bed at night. But he shares with his three brothers so there's no guarantee that he is the one eating at night. But he's the first one sitting and waiting for breakfast every morning. Oh - and he gets a treat after each poke. Too much food? Too little? I am so darn lost and confused. :?

PS It's not an excuse for not "getting" all of this but just a little bit about me: on top of trying to get Elian healthy and regulated I am 7 years divorced and doing everything on my own; have my 83 year old mom visiting with us for two and a half months, have my two 20-something daughters with developmental delays with me almost 24/7, am working my pet sitting business and...... just trying to stay afloat. It's all overwhelming but I am so grateful for all that I have and try to help others who are less fortunate as much as possible. So I'm going to hafta turn to all of you for help and advice....as hard as that is for me! I'm so used to doing everything by myself!!!!! So thank you, thank you, thank you in advance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top