1/28 Cooper AMPS(NO SHOT) 81, +1 93, +2 .25 123, +4 158, +6 200, +9 319, PMPS 327, +2.5 337, +6 306

When you get a low number you should wait for 20 minutes - no food - and then test again. See which way the numbers are going.

You can then decide on when it's safe to shoot - perhaps a reduced dose or skip. What was his BG last night when it says N/A and you gave 3.5 units?

btw, you'll need to reduce his dose now - he's fallen below 50, so it's time to reduce to 3.25.

He was going down last night - what was the next number after that?

What is his number now? You can remove the 911 - I'll be here with you for a bit this morning.
 
Last edited:
When you get a low number you should wait for 20 minutes - no food - and then test again. See which way the numbers are going.

Oh ok. The way he was acting and how low he was kinda put us in a panic which I know we shouldn't do.

You can then decide on when it's safe to shoot - perhaps a reduced dose or skip. What was his BG last night when it says N/A and you gave 3.5 units?

Unfortunately my fiance cannot test him. So on nights that I close at work he doesn't get a pmps test.

He was going down last night - what was the next number after that?

He had gone down to a number like they before at +6 so figured he was ok and we went off to bed. Feel horrible about that now
 
Oh ok. The way he was acting and how low he was kinda put us in a panic which I know we shouldn't do.

It happens....prepares you for next time.... :)

Unfortunately my fiance cannot test him. So on nights that I close at work he doesn't get a pmps test.

Have you tried a Libre? I can't emphasize this enough - but I would not shoot insulin at all - ever (sorry for being so strong here)...without a test first. I just couldn't do it. It's kind of like giving medication to a child without knowing if it's safe...please please consider getting help for fiance to test or a Libre for not being able to test...otherwise it's just not safe to give insulin....

He had gone down to a number like they before at +6 so figured he was ok and we went off to bed. Feel horrible about that now

Unknown number at PMPS - significant drop at 6+ = trouble ahead. Next time, please set an alarm and get another test in an hour. Cooper was finally working the dose and most likely continued to drop through the remainder of the cycle...and needed some food to help him along.

So sorry for the nasty surprise this morning...get ready for the bounce today. Don't beat yourself up...this is all a learning experience and you caught him in time! :)
 
Unknown number at PMPS - significant drop at 6+ = trouble ahead. Next time, please set an alarm and get another test in an hour. Cooper was finally working the dose and most likely continued to drop through the remainder of the cycle...and needed some food to help him along.

Yeah after this he will be watched and getting more tests from me.


So sorry for the nasty surprise this morning...get ready for the bounce today. Don't beat yourself up...this is all a learning experience and you caught him in time! :)

Just happy he knew too wake us up. Now that I'm coming up on his technical AMPS and shortly after I will have to leave for work(with him coming of course) can I feed him his normal LC food even with skipping his dose? And then at his PMPS give him a reduction?
 
Please edit your title and remove the 911 - that's for emergencies - and I think you've gotten things under control now.

It's going to give people waking up and getting on the board a 'heart attack'...
 
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...1-2-5-289-no-pmps-4-222-6-127-11-5-42.258480/

Cooper was aggressively banging into my bedroom door and knocking things over to get my and my fiancé attention and now we know why. I can bring him to work with me today so I will probably do that, but what should I do insulin wise for his AM dose? I gave him 1/4 can HC to bring his numbers up as he is very awake and alert right now.
I use the Freestyle Libre 14 day sensor from time to time which really helps with testing. I apply them myself and have had success with them staying on the entire 14 days. Use a GoodRX coupon so the cost is about $38 for one sensor.
 
Yeah after this he will be watched and getting more tests from me. :D Excellent!

Just happy he knew too wake us up. Now that I'm coming up on his technical AMPS and shortly after I will have to leave for work(with him coming of course) can I feed him his normal LC food even with skipping his dose? And then at his PMPS give him a reduction?

Yes, I'm happy he was able this time to give you a heads up about his situation. What is his number now? Can you please update your SS?

The food is going to influence his number now, so it may look like a safe number to shoot, but he may drop again afterward. He was definitely sending you a message that he was in an active cycle last night and he's going to have a bounce now, however the important thing to take away from this episode is not shooting without getting a test first and more testing subsequent to giving insulin. We have no way of knowing how the insulin has been affecting him - since by the time there are tests it appears he's on the upswing - could be bouncing from low numbers that aren't being captured.

I also think the cutoff on SLGS is any number below 90 is an automatic increase, so I mis-spoke previously.

How many tests can you get in before the usual AMPS dose?
 
I see Cooper let you know he didn't need an increase. With the skip, he should be okay today, but you'll still want to monitor for a little while until his numbers start coming up. The depot could affect the first part of the cycle and keep his numbers lower. I'm glad he woke you up. You should be okay to feed LC at AMPS time, as long as you can continue to monitor if his numbers are not up yet. Yes take the reduction tonight.
 
I see Cooper let you know he didn't need an increase. With the skip, he should be okay today, but you'll still want to monitor for a little while until his numbers start coming up. The depot could affect the first part of the cycle and keep his numbers lower. I'm glad he woke you up. You should be okay to feed LC at AMPS time, as long as you can continue to monitor if his numbers are not up yet. Yes take the reduction tonight.

He was thrilled to eat his regular meal at AMPS. He is rising for now so I'm bringing him along with HC and plenty of testing supplies to work today.
 
Back
Top