1/28 Champ PMPS 234, +1 327, +2 222, +3 207

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Yesterday's numbers were higher than the day before, though still relatively flat, and the PM cycle did see blue, but today's cycle started out pink, went to a high yellow at +2, and now is at pink again. It seems, while still cycle is still considered basically flat, that the average is creeping up. Today is cycle 6 on this dose, but we are at the end of a pen. So....is it a petered out pen or do we need to increase the dose? I'm getting a new pen today so I'll start using it tonight and see if that makes a difference. If not, I'll raise the dose tomorrow morning.

I'd love to hear from my guidance counselors as to what they think is going on and if my plan to change pens/increase is the way to go.

Champ came galloping into my room this morning after I had gone back to bed after his +2. He came tearing into the room and jumped on my bed and then proceeded to frantically lick his right shoulder, then his right wrist, and then his left shoulder. While the Adequan seems to be starting to help, I guess he shouldn't try the high jump or hurdles yet....it obviously still hurts his joints. Poor little Champers :cry: I hate it when he hurts. But he then crawled under the covers and laid there for a few minutes. It's very rare for him to come into my room so I got my treat for the day!!!

Have a great day everyone!!
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

Patty:

I'd change the pen first if it's time. Then I'd see where he goes with his numbers. I made the mistake once of raising the dose and THEN changing the pen....and got a huge race down to the 30s. I know many say you can use the
pens until they are empty. I don't know if "at the end of a pen" means day wise or no more insulin in it and you have used it all the way down. But, I like you idea to change pens first, then decide on the dose.
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - ANOTHER QUESTION

Because I'm "thrifty" (aka cheap), my meaning is definitely that all the insulin is almost gone. But I remember reading about your episode and that's why I felt it was wise to ask which I should do first....so, I'll change the pen tonight. If I see better numbers tonight after changing the pen, I know to keep the dose the same, but if the numbers are still increased, do I give it one more cycle (tomorrow morning) to see if it kicks in or change the dose tomorrow morning? If insulin has lost it's effectiveness, does that affect the shed?
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

wow...how encouraging that he has the zoom zooms!
Wish they didn't hurt, tho :sad:

somehow this seems to fit Champ today :-D

images
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

I try the pen first too. If the insulin was going that means his shed needs to refill w/ the good stuff, so I would give it more than just one cycle to kick in. It may have an effect pretty quickly, but it can take some time.
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

good advice from the others. i'd switch out the pen first, too.

something to keep in mind...
when you're actively preventing lows before they happen you'll often see the mid-cycle numbers rise. expect it to happen. it's normal. you want it to happen so you can raise the dose safely. eventually, you'll see the entire range come down. it won't happen over night so hang in there. think of this as a process you have to go through to get where you want to be.
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

Gabby's SS is a case in point to support what Jill said. It took a couple of months for Gabby's cycles to flatten out. The same happened with Mannie.
 
Re: 1/28 Champ PMPS 234, +1 327

Sienne - Believe it or not, I've already studied Gabby's and Mannie's SS's!! Quite a few others, too. I learn a lot of what TO do and what NOT to do by studying other peoples SS's.

Jill - thanks for giving me that link. It's amazing that so many of us are dealing with the same issues. You've explained everything so well, it actually seems to be a logical process to me now whereas before I thought it seemed quite opposite.

Ok, now, let's see if I made the right decision.....I came home from the store today with Champ's new pen, all set to give him new insulin tonight, and then...

I made dinner last night, a pasta dish with cheese melted on top. When I got home from the store, i heated up the leftovers for me and Danielle for dinner. As Danielle was sitting down at the breakfast bar, she says, "I know you're the one who did this because I wasn't here last night to eat." She then proceeded to pick up a big piece of what had been melted cheese off the floor. Last night, I didn't eat all my food and instead of scraping it into the disposal, I left my plate on the counter next to the sink. Danielle finding that cheese on the floor means Champ got up on the counter and took food off my plate. He's NEVER done that before (that I know of!!). When I checked his PMPS tonight, it was 234. I made the decision not to start the new insulin tonight to see what his numbers do because his AMPS this morning might have been influenced by pasta and cheese he ate last night. Then I checked his +1 and it's 327! That would be one hell of a food spike for Champ, the cat who really doesn't get food spikes. So....now I'm wondering if I made the right decision. I don't think I did, but I can't change it now so I'll go ahead and start the new pen in the morning.

And the saga continues....
 
Re: 1/28 Champ AMPS 322, +2 274, +4 306 - INCREASE DOSE?

Hi Patty - sorry to be such a late poster... FWIW: I'd change the pen first, and see what happens. Mannie is a good case in point - he was running high for several cycles (alot of pinks, some yellows) a few days ago, and I really felt that he needed an increase.I also knew he was due for a new pen - 30 days had finally come. I was glad I changed the pen before the dose - he came right down through the blues over a couple of cycles to the greens, and had such a great green day that day. Of course he bounced some after that, but we have had a decent day today, finally posted another green tonight. My pen had apparently petered out before the 30 days...What Jill wrote about higher mid cycles is true - Mannie is another case in point. That did happen to him, and we did get much flatter cycles. it is also true that it did not happen overnight - it takes time. There has been alot that has gone on with Mannie over the past few months, but all that has been written here I can honestly say is right on target.

Good luck with all. and no worries on the pen start date. One more day won't hurt the overall picture, just frustrating I know to see the higher numbers today. I love that line: And the saga continues.... That sounds like me... :-D
 
I feel like you all are on this journey with me....makes me feel much less alone!!!

So the +1 was either a wonky strip or an uncommon food spike. I really don't think it was a wonky strip. I'm not one for testing +1's very often so maybe he's always spked big and it's only this past week where he hasn't. Who knows!! I fed the +2 some of his raw food with a teaspoon of 11% Wellness Chicken & Lobster. I think Champ thought he was getting a reward for something!! He hasn't had a seafood flavor in sooo long. He loved it!! And it did slow him down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top