1/28 Buddy AMPS 149 +3 115

lbeachstace

Member Since 2022
We reduced Buddy last night to 6 units. We were very nervous and hesitant because he's not done well in the past with reductions.

He did get a hi carb snack last night at +3 when he came in at 66, was hoping it would stabilize him and not have him drop.

Overall, we are thrilled with his numbers.

But he is sluggish, weak, seems to have labored walking and not purring :(

Should he be acting differently now that his numbers are coming in more regulated?

Any thoughts what it could be? Arthritis maybe?

Most recent thread
 
We reduced Buddy last night to 6 units. We were very nervous and hesitant because he's not done well in the past with reductions.

He did get a hi carb snack last night at +3 when he came in at 66, was hoping it would stabilize him and not have him drop.

Overall, we are thrilled with his numbers.

But he is sluggish, weak, seems to have labored walking and not purring :(

Should he be acting differently now that his numbers are coming in more regulated?

Any thoughts what it could be? Arthritis maybe?

Most recent thread
@tiffmaxee
 
Nice to see Buddy rocking the green tonight.:D The difference with this reduction is that it was earned.
But he is sluggish, weak, seems to have labored walking
Is that something that has come on suddenly or gradually? Do you notice him having a harder time going up or down? Neko had quite bad arthritis, and the vet could tell just by feel. Eventually so could I. :( There is a relatively new drug out now, called Solensia, that seems to do wonders for kitty's with arthritis. Might be worth a discussion with the vet. Unfortunately not something around in Neko's time. What she got was buprenorphine to help the pain (as well as fish oil and Duralactin for inflammation). Once she got on bupe, her personality and mobility really improved. She did eventually get acupuncture too for pain, and it also helped.
Should he be acting differently now that his numbers are coming in more regulated?
Are you seeing any differences in play? Also, his litter box activity should be reduced and drinking and hunger also.
 
We reduced Buddy last night to 6 units. We were very nervous and hesitant because he's not done well in the past with reductions.

boy do I know the feeling. And then when his AMPS this morning was a little higher I bet you were worried -- don't be. He needs to stay at 6 so you can evaluate how he does on 6U this time around, now that it seems like his pancreas might be chipping in a little insulin.


Remember that for a day or two after a reduction sometimes you see numbers jump around, just stay the course. Crossing my fingers so hard for Buddy to do well!!
 
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw - thank you for the words of encouragement and kindness. Buddy didn't have much of an appetite this morning but he was purring. Did you see a different of behavior and/or appetite during reductions?
 
Looking good on 6 units!!

85 at PMPS then a 99 at +2 instead of a near hypo like he had on 6.5 units

Buddy seems to be catching on!

Re-reading your question about behavior changing I think what you may be seeing is Buddy becoming classified as a well-regulated diabetic feline. Once you start seeing all those greens with a few blues sprinkled in, it is normal and common for a cat's behavior to change a bit; well regulated diabetic cats tend to be happier with more purring and cuddling. Their appetite may reduce some as well because their bodies can finally make use of all the food.
 
Back
Top