1/28/25 Mikey AMPS 148 +5 56 +7 45 +9 70 big Scare!

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey had a good reading this morning , but he went very low. I gave him a whole can of FF gravy beef and it went lower .
Then I applied 2 globs oh Karo 2 his gums and still low . I thought something was wrong with my glucose meter and went and purchased a new one but he was still low . I put more Karo on his gums and he is at 70. So I think he will be ok. He showed no hypo symptoms

In 3 hours it is time for his shot. Should I ship the dose, half it or proceed as normal?

He is a bouncer, always has been

Thanks, Tom
 
Mikey had a good reading this morning , but he went very low. I gave him a whole can of FF gravy beef and it went lower .
Then I applied 2 globs oh Karo 2 his gums and still low . I thought something was wrong with my glucose meter and went and purchased a new one but he was still low . I put more Karo on his gums and he is at 70. So I think he will be ok. He showed no hypo symptoms

In 3 hours it is time for his shot. Should I ship the dose, half it or proceed as normal?

He is a bouncer, always has been

Thanks, Tom
Hi Tom, I’m not qualified to give dosing instructions, however, any time they go below 90 since you are following SLGS, you give a .25 unit Reduction at the next dose time.

If at dose time he’s under 90 and hasn’t come up you, you may want to stall and possibly should skip the dose.
***But let’s get Some good guidance from some people who are qualified to give advice to you
@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Hi Tom, I’m not qualified to give dosing instructions, however, any time they go below 90 since you are following SLGS, you give a .25 unit Reduction at the next dose time.

If at dose time he’s under 90 and hasn’t come up you, you may want to stall and possibly should skip the dose.
***But let’s get Some good guidance from some people who are qualified to give advice to you
@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks for your quick response. Much help
Tom
 
I tested at his PMPS and he is back down to 87. This kind of worries me because this is not his pattern. I did not hear from anyone else so I made the decision to skip his PM shot.

Hopefully someone else will respond!
I’m sorry you haven’t heard back from anyone yet. Seems like a safe decision to skip for tonight.
I would definitely reduce his dose in the morning if he’s high enough to give his shot.

And I assume you know to give small amounts of food at a time when they are having a low cycle because you want to keep them hungry to keep eating if you need them to continue to eat either medium or higher carbs if they stay in a low range instead of feeding large amounts (like a whole can or something like that).


I hope Mikey comes up but doesn’t bounce too high. Good job, Tom :cat::cat:
 
Sorry no one got back to you sooner before your PMPS. I see you're doing custom dosing. What is your no shoot number? I would have skipped too considering he's not coming up that much.
Congrats on the reduction!
 
Thanks, I will reduce to 2.75. I am also going to check his numbers to see if he increases . He needed lots of globs of Karo. The wet gravy food did nothing:(
I don’t really have a no shoot number, but I would probably need to consider that. I guess because he rarely is low at dosing time . If he is below 100, I probably may not shoot. Is that reasonable? :):):)
Thanks , Tom
 
Tom here is what the SLGS dosing method says about shooting lower than normal numbers.

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
Since you didn't shoot any insulin and he's over 80 (per your signature for reductions), I would feed LC unless the BGs start dropping again below your comfort level. Even though you skipped, the depot may affect the first half of the PM cycle.

I scrolled through your SS and last year you've shot the full dose with a green ps#.
 
Since you didn't shoot any insulin and he's over 80 (per your signature for reductions), I would feed LC unless the BGs start dropping again below your comfort level. Even though you skipped, the depot may affect the first half of the PM cycle.

I scrolled through your SS and last year you've shot the full dose with a green ps#.
Yes, and felt odd that decision to dose in green ; now have the Guidelines sent by another forum member. I missed them in my readings

Thank you
 
56 is a normal BG number. Some non diabetic cats register in the 40's - one of mine did. We just don't want diabetics on insulin that low as it gives no room for error.

Experienced people following SLGS shoot as low as 90, Mikey was below that, so good call on the skip.

I see 80 is your reduction point as per the signature but I see he went below that several times on 2.75 units. Good luck with the 2.75 unit dose tomorrow.
 
56 is a normal BG number. Some non diabetic cats register in the 40's - one of mine did. We just don't want diabetics on insulin that low as it gives no room for error.

Experienced people following SLGS shoot as low as 90, Mikey was below that, so good call on the skip.

I see 80 is your reduction point as per the signature but I see he went below that several times on 2.75 units. Good luck with the 2.75 unit dose tomorrow.
I had no idea that non diabetic cats registered low. Thanks
 
Back
Top