1/27 Trixie PMPS 144 +2 106 +4.25 82 - 3 Years OnTJ

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Another nice, slow start today. Maybe - maybe - I'll nudge her dose up just a hair in a day or two. These cycles are nice, but she is a bit higher and a bit bouncier these past few days. When she's getting the right amount of juice, she's usually nice and flat low blues/high greens. We'll see...I'm off Wednesday, so I'll think about a dosecrease tomorrow night.

It's hard to believe it, but 3 years ago today, Trix got her first shot of juice. She was actually diagnosed several days prior, but like just about everyone else here, I was so overwhelmed at the thought of her being diabetic that I don't remember the actual date of her diagnosis. On top of that, my previous vet - sometimes a little too thorough, too clinical, and too test-happy - strongly suggested we do an ultrasound to make sure she didn't have anything else going on. Of course the U/S showed nothing, but that whole process - the waiting, the fasting, the whole nine yards - just scared the you-know-what out of me. Plus, my GA civvie Mario was diagnosed with HyperT and high BP the same day Trix was diagnosed with FD...lots to absorb.

Anyway, the beginning of our journey was naturally a bumpy one: we knew about testing, but like many others, our vet just told us to occasionally test. She also told us it was pretty much OK to shoot whenever was convenient for us. There were high numbers; low numbers; skipped shots. The information I was finding online was conflicted with her advice, and was daunting. But, fortunately, we were blessed enough to find FDMB within a few weeks of diagnosis and (of course!!!) that got us on on the right track with Trix's treatment. When the folks here initially told me that their kitties came running when they shook the test strip bottle, I thought, "No way!!!" But - you guessed it - everyone was right! Trix now comes to me when she hears me prep her testing stuff. She gets in just the right position at shot time so it's not an ouchie shot. She is so smart, so sweet, and so helpful.

As much as I would never ever wish an FD diagnosis on anyone, Trix's diagnosis has been a blessing in disguise. I have learned so much about love and compassion and dedication, from her, from my other kitties, and from my amazing LL family. Thank you, everyone, for helping me help Trixie - and for always being there for not just her, but my other kitties, too. We couldn't be luckier....

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 - 3 Years OnTJ

HAPPY 3 YEAR ANNIFURSARY!!

Hard to believe. Trixie is such a healthy happy girl now. You are a great bean and I am very honored to call you my friend, which I never would have been able to do without FDMB. Enjoy your day. It is a bittersweet anniversary, but a very important one. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 - 3 Years OnTJ

Hi guys and Happy Annifursary! I couldn't have said it better Melissa, a great bean and a great friend Amy .. and trixie, you always bring a smile to my face! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Flat cat!

Back to work.....but maybe I'll sneak in some condos during the day :smile: !
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 - 3 Years OnTJ

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

Looking good Miss Trixie! I like your numbers, but maybe add some green too? I hear there may be more juice for you... surf well little one!

I love this post today. Congrats on it being three years. This is so true!
As much as I would never ever wish an FD diagnosis on anyone, Trix's diagnosis has been a blessing in disguise. I have learned so much about love and compassion and dedication, from her, from my other kitties, and from my amazing LL family. Thank you, everyone, for helping me help Trixie - and for always being there for not just her, but my other kitties, too. We couldn't be luckier....
It is the way it was/is for me too. I so remember that day in that vets office when that Dx came down.... i was so clueless, so clueless in fact that it took me 1.5 years before I found FDMB. :roll: what I remember too was that my vet knew so little on lantus, it was a learning curve for her too. funny that you should mention how Trixie comes running when you shake the test strips bottle. Mannie was the same. he'd show, sit on my lap, and then the purrs would start. I truly believe that our sugar cats know we are truly trying to help them. Quite the bond we develop with them. :-D

I remember when we first started reading Trixie's condo. I was so taken back by how well you manged her. She was/is so even with her BG's. I'm still in awe of it. Well done - you guys make such a great team.

Have a great day Amy - I hope all hope well.

and Trixie? : CONGRATS ON 3 YEARS!!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Good Morning Amy! Congrats on the 3 year annifursary! You and Trixie make an awesome team :-D . Like you, I am so happy to have found FDMB, I'm sure I would have lost my girl many times over without them. It's nice that Trixie is giving you flat today...now down to the lagoon, little one. Have a great day, and give Trixie some scritches from me :razz:
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Hello Amy,we haven't met before,just read your condo/ss, what a remarkable achievement,Trixie is a lucky girl to have you as a mum,hoping all you wishes come true on your special day. Diane & Bailey
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Happy Annifursary!!! I seriously can't believe it's been that long since we "met." :-D Another couple months, it'll be our three years on the juice. I've always been in awe of your ability to keep Trixie nice and low, never fearing to adjust her dose upward when her numbers are where most of us would find adequate. I wish I had your balls to be quite honest!! :lol: :lol: Trixie, and all your other fur babies, are so very lucky to have you as their mama!! I've very glad we're friends!!

Now, Trixie.....head down just a tad. The green lagoon awaits!!
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Happy Three Year Annifursary, Trixie !!!
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

It's always strange to say Happy Anniversary, but I'm so glad you found FDMB and Trixie is doing so well. It's three years of getting her healthier and growing closer.

Good luck with the increase if you give it.
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Happy 3rd Annifursary Amy & Trixie!!

Yes, it's very nice to be able to celebrate OnTJ. So many things to keep sharing with your friends. Have a wonderful year ahead. Who knows, OTJ may even be on Trixie's agenda (but she'll never tell).

Hugs & scritches. Maybe some special treats for Trix.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Amy, you captured it so well... from the initial feelings upon diagnosis, to finding LL, to the appreciation and learning lessons of FD. I wish you, Trixie, and DH a Happy 3rd Annifursary.

drinking24
Here's to hopes of OTJ and continuing good health for Trixie (and all of your kitties). ♥
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 128 +2.25 117 +4 114 - 3 Years OnTJ

Congratulations and well done, Trixie and Amy! We couldn't agree with you more, this place is the greatest and we have learned so much, about all kinds of things. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie PMPS 144 +2 106 - 3 Years OnTJ

Thank you for all the visits and annifursary wishes today! It sounds crazy to "outsiders", but it really is a special day to us...and I know only you guys would understand that!

Hopefully Trix will find her surfboard so we beans can call it an early night (yep, we're quite the partiers when it comes to celebrations :roll: :lol: !!!)....that's a pretty decent +2 drop there...
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie PMPS 144 +2 106 - 3 Years OnTJ

Happy Annifursary to such a great team! :-D :-D I'm always in admiration of Trix's fantastic set of numbers. You do such a good job with her Amy. Party on tonight. :lol:
 
...and we made it to the lagoon :mrgreen: !

Thank you again, my LL family, for making this Mr Greenie possible :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: !!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top