1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary OnTJ

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Missy Flat Cat, reporting for duty! Actually, Trix did dip her furry little toes into the lagoon with an 86 at +5.25 last night...she just doesn't seem to want to hang out there for too long right now.

Today is her two month anniversary of being On The Juice. I don't remember her exact diagnosis date, because it was such a blurry whirlwind...Mario was diagnosed with HyperT the same week, and for Trix, since she did not present like a normal diabetic kitty, our semi-former vet (who is now our "back up") somewhat scared the you-know-what outta me by saying Trix "needed" an ultrasound to look for cancer and/or p-titis. (At that time, I didn't know there was a simple blood test for p-titis.) After the U/S came back clear, we started her up on Lantus the evening of Jan 27, 2011. Of course the early days were very rocky and scary, and while we were testing, initially we were "easing" her into it by not testing all the time. Then, she tossed us a mid-cycle 55 a few weeks in...that opened our eyes and we immediately began the TR testing protocol.

There really are no words to say how much this fabulous group of people have helped us along the way - not only with Trix, but with the rest of our furry little herd. Truly amazing...we owe everyone here so much.

So, today is our turn for the bittersweet celebration of Trix's diabetes. We love her to pieces, and with the support of FDMB, we have been able to keep her as healthy as possible. Treating her diabetes just part of our daily routine now, and we are all solidly adapted to it. Thank you, each and every one.

Brief Petey update: after taking him off the ABs, he started feeling much better last night. He did not eat all day, but finally started eating around 7:00 in the evening. He ate a fair amount, and start being "himself" as the night progressed. He ate a decent breakfast this morning, but I'd like to see him eat more. I'm think the vetty is going to want to use Convenia tomorrow, since just two doses of the Clavamox did such a number on him. I hope to talk to her first, but to be honest, while Convenia does make me nervous, I do fully trust her, and he'll need some sort of post-dental AB that won't whack him around like that. He won't touch a pill pocket...we're between a rock and a hard place. But, for today at least, things are as well as can be.

With that...off to work for this bean! Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 - 2 year anniversary OnTJ

I know it's bittersweet, but Happy Anniversary to Trixie! (And to you, Amy!) :YMHUG:

Still thinking about Petey and sending vines (esp. tomorrow!). Glad he's feeling a little better this morning and last night. Ripley is on Clavamox right now, and it doesn't make her feel good; but hopefully it's doing its job in her insides. Good luck on finding a post-dental ab that works for him!

Enjoy your day!
~Josie
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 - 2 year anniversary OnTJ

HAPPY TWO YEAR ANNIFURSARY TRIXIE!!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​


Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)
It is a bittersweet thing, these on-the-juice annifursaries. I so share you sentiments: without these great people I now Mannie would not be with me today. I so share your gratitude. celebrate well Trixie! :-D You are doing so well - congrats on a job well done Amy!

I am certain that between you and your vet you will come up with what will work for Petey. I wish yu guys the best. it is great to read that he is eating well today. Go Petey! Strong be well vines for you. So many good wishes for your dental too.

Have a great day Amy - I hope it is a good one. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 - 2 year anniversary OnTJ

Morning Amy ~O)

Happy Anniversary Miss Trixie :-D
Glad Petey is feeling better, have a great day!
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

Hmmmm....I know I didn't do a fur shot this morning. She must be starting a bit of a bounce from last night's little dip in the lagoon....
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

Morning guys happy Anniversary! So glad you found the board and have kept Trixie healthy. Glad Petey is feeling better! FWIW the last dental Scrabble had in Oct he got a shot of covenia and he was fine. Hope you have a great day @ work. Happy Sunday!
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

Morning Amy and Happy 2 year Annniversary. I know with the bittersweet. She has been flat, and it's almost like she's up to something.
Sending lots of vines for Petey and hope the Vet and you come up with a plan for him. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

No matter how long it's been, a happy and healthy kitty is what's important.

I frankly don't know if Convenia is a good AB for the purpose you're considering. It's for skin infections. Clindamycin can be given as an injection.
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

Sienne and Gabby said:
No matter how long it's been, a happy and healthy kitty is what's important.

I frankly don't know if Convenia is a good AB for the purpose you're considering. It's for skin infections. Clindamycin can be given as an injection.

Good to know...that may be what she is considering. Yesterday I spoke with an assistant rather than the vet herself. The assistant said the vet would give an injection, and I immediately jumped to the conclusion that it would be convenia. Naturally, I wasn't quick enough on my feet to ask which AB it would be. I do hope to be able to double-check with the vet before hand, but they do procedures super-early (starting at 6:30am), and I'm not sure if I'll be able to get her to return my call beforehand. But, like I said, I do have complete faith in her decisions with my furkids.
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

We know what you mean about bitter anniversaries, and we are so grateful to be here at the same time. :YMHUG:
 

Attachments

  • happy anniversary.jpeg
    happy anniversary.jpeg
    10.3 KB · Views: 209
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

Hi Amy......Happy Anniversary for Trixie being in the best place you never wanted her to be. But then, how would you have met such wonderful people as us? :lol:

I'm so glad Petey's feeling better enough to eat :smile:
 
Re: 1/27 Trixie AMPS 123 +3 138 +5 157 - 2 year anniversary

HAPPY 2 YEARS TRIXIE & AMY!!

The FD routine is just another routine for Trixie, and we all know how much the kitties like their routines. Have a lovely Annifursary day. We are glad you're here, too.

Sending Petey good dental vines for tomorrow.

Hugs to you all,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top