1/27 Tiger AMPS Hi, +5 202, PMPS 325 dose increase

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-26-tiger-amps-hi-7-25-157-pmps-249.286024/

Good morning

A little better numbers overnight, got close to getting in blue, but still not great. And the usual HI number this morning. I know the auto feed during the night is a big part of that and need to find an alternative that will keep the tummy happy overnight.
May have to switch to LC wet and get a different feeder…..

Have a good day everyone!
 
Hello Deb, good morning! You might be right, it could be the dry food that bumps Tiger up! I hope he slides down safely today and you have a good day :bighug:
 
Hello Deb, good morning! You might be right, it could be the dry food that bumps Tiger up! I hope he slides down safely today and you have a good day :bighug:

Good Morning Cecile. I think it is. I’ve started mixing the MD kibble and the Young Again LC to switch him over to just the YA to see if it makes a difference. Otherwise, I will have to switch him to wet.
Hope you and Bella have a good and safe day!
 
@Angela & Cleo
@Wendy&Neko

we are on day 7 at 2u and wondering about an increase? If you ignore the numbers on the day of the Libre fiasco (1/25)it looks like he could stay at 2u a bit longer to see where it goes. We were getting lots of good numbers before that and looks to be settling back down again. But I need advice, increase or not? Looking for others input too..all guidance welcome.

Thanks
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-26-tiger-amps-hi-7-25-157-pmps-249.286024/

Good morning

A little better numbers overnight, got close to getting in blue, but still not great. And the usual HI number this morning. I know the auto feed during the night is a big part of that and need to find an alternative that will keep the tummy happy overnight.
May have to switch to LC wet and get a different feeder…..

Have a good day everyone!
Good morning, Deb and Tiger,
Glad he went down to better bgs last night. I will be curious to the advice of dosing.
Hope you’re all getting more sleep when he is high overnight and with the Libre to make you feel more confident.
Have a peaceful Saturday! :bighug::bighug:
 
I have the same one than Jason, the Catmate 500, I just bought it to replace the Pet Safe we had, which worked very well but I wanted metal food bowls. She eats from it during the night and if I'm out for longer periods during the day as well.
 
Hi Deb, Tiger looks good for an increase to me. What type of food (wet vs dry) and % carb food are you feeding and when? I remember you mentioning that he has tummy issues. Can you elaborate a bit as to what happens to his tummy?
 
I think he’s good for an increase. You will not be the first here that found eliminating dry food (even YA) makes a huge difference.
 
Last edited:
I think I'm reading correctly you're looking for a new auto-feeder that can do wet?

I love the Catmate C500... I have TWO of them and a total of 8 ice packs. I can't remember where I bought them, but they were on-sale and it was also some sort of bundle that gave him free extra two ice packs that are normally sold separately.

https://www.chewy.com/cat-mate-c500-digital-5-meal/dp/154556?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_content=Cat Mate&utm_campaign=20211552226&utm_term=&gad_source=1
Thanks Jason, I will check that out when/if we change to wet food overnight.
Have a great day!
 
Hi Deb, Tiger looks good for an increase to me. What type of food (wet vs dry) and % carb food are you feeding and when? I remember you mentioning that he has tummy issues. Can you elaborate a bit as to what happens to his tummy?
Hi Angela. I am still changing around his foods a bit, to find what he likes and what works best. Right now he is eating his main meals as a mix of wet 3%+14%. I started at 50-50 and gradually decreasing the 14% and he is eating it pretty well.

The dry is mostly in the auto feeder during the night, with a few for reward treats. It’s a mix of MD and Young Again. I wanted to get it down to just the Young Again but I noticed the more he ate the YA the less he ate overall of all his food and was losing a bit of weight weekly, which he doesn’t need to do. Thus, I’m thinking wet in auto feeder.

He gets sick if he goes more than about 6 hrs without any food. Throws up yellow vial and takes days to get over it. Several vets and specialists visits and their verdict was to not let tummy get empty basically. So…

Thanks for the input on the increase and have a great day!
 
I think he’s good for an increase. You will nit be the first here that found eliminating dry food (even YA) makes a huge difference.

I agree on both counts! But old cat, new tricks and adding a sensitive tummy in, is easier said than done! Lol.
I think we will get there but it’s a process, a slow one.

Thanks for the input on increase.
Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
What proteins can he eat? Will he eat it if you cook some plain?
He eats chicken, fish and beef varieties. As far as cooked food he never has liked much human food. Occasionally a tiny bite of my chicken or ground beef but never any fish. Only thing he absolutely loves is bacon!
Why do you ask since he likes his canned food?

Thanks again!
 
Well, you said it’s hard to find food with his sensitive stomach so I am confused. If he likes canned why can’t you eliminate dry? If he loved cooked ground meat you could try combining it with EZ Complete and make your own. Could it be he doesn’t like pieces but if ground he would eat it? Texture made a difference with Max. Before fd he only wanted to eat wet that was in pieces and hc I learned. When young he much preferred dry but for years ate a mix. With fd I was surprised he was willing to eat lc fancy feast pates.
 
Well, you said it’s hard to find food with his sensitive stomach so I am confused. If he likes canned why can’t you eliminate dry? If he loved cooked ground meat you could try combining it with EZ Complete and make your own. Could it be he doesn’t like pieces but if ground he would eat it? Texture made a difference with Max. Before fd he only wanted to eat wet that was in pieces and hc I learned. When young he much preferred dry but for years ate a mix. With fd I was surprised he was willing to eat lc fancy feast pates.
Oh ok….Tiger always liked the filet style foods and would never eat the Patés. Since the filets are so high in carbs, I’ve started mixing in the pate with it and he is eating it. I’m gradually using less filet and more pate and have got him where he will sometimes eat the pate alone. I have noticed a bit better numbers since starting this.
As for dry, he absolutely loves the crunch and cries for it. At bedtime he pesters us to go to bed because he always gets a few kibble on his bed as a treat/reward. So that’s why I was hopeful for the young again…
Another plus with kibble is we can load it in the auto feeder for up to 5 nights….selfishly easy.
 
Last edited:
Make sure you go slow with the food change. A quote from the description of SLGS in the Dosing Methods Sticky Note.
If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).
 
Back
Top