1/27 Scooter AMPS 417,+5- 503,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

So it would seem Scooter has become a 9 lives kitty and refusing to eat FF right now. I swear my "little old man" has become a Diva! :lol: I think the other kitties have had enough of it to! :-D
He decides what they get for food. Other than that we are all staying home today since the state is closed between blizzard yesterday and -50 wind chill today. Just have to go out and take car of my feral kids outside.

I was really surprised last night at pmps he was in the yellow and this morning his amps was red. I was hoping we were sliding out of red.

So for us warm is the word of the day. He is going next Monday for his dental.

Linda
 
Re: 1/27 Scooter AMPS 417,

Hi guys .. show me a kitty on here that isn't a diva :lol: Burr, I hope you are taking extra precautions when heading out today, just a few minutes and frostbite can take place! Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/27 Scooter AMPS 417,

Good morning, Linda. BG numbers seem to be the surprise of the day sometimes :roll: :lol: . I hope Scooter slides down out of the icky red for you soon. I wonder what the proper word is for men being a diva...if there is one, maybe it's universal ;-) Anyhow, I hope you stay warm and have a good Monday, cozy and inside! :-D
 
BRRRRRR! that's cold!

glad you were able to get the dental scheduled. hopefully there's going to be a bad tooth or two and when they're removed, BOOM we're going to see improvement in scooter's BGs! It does happen.

you'll want to read some of the Dental Procedures information. This link is at the bottom of the New to the Group sticky. Most people get chicken and broth only baby food (i want to say Gerber's stage 2 - look carefully for no onion) for starting out feeding after the dental. Because anesthesia can slow down stomach motility, sometimes cats will do the "scarf and barf" thing. When punkin had anesthesia, i waited to feed him until he could walk almost not-like-a-drunken-sailor, then just gave a teaspoon of baby food. it insulted him, but he survived. wait another 20-30 minutes and give another teaspoon or so.

repeat that for a while to make sure they're not going to vomit up what they've eaten.

most people also ask for no Metacam, which is approved as a one-time injection post-surgery on a cat, but has black box warnings by the FDA for causing liver damage in cats. we've had members who've had cats die or become seriously ill from metacam, although my understanding is that the issue is primarily dose-related. still, most people ask for Bupe for post-op pain if there are extractions.

most people also ask for no Convenia. Convenia is an antibiotic that was developed to treat skin infections. It works best on those rather than other infections. It was named Convenia because it is convenient. One shot given by the vet provides 2 weeks of antibiotics in the body. The down side of Convenia is that it lasts 2 weeks and if your cat is allergic or has a reaction to it, you've got a 2 week issue. It's not the best antibiotic for mouth issues, either. Those are typically clavamox or clindamycin.

If you don't have scooter trained to pill pockets, you might want to start now. the Dog Duck and Pea ones are safe for diabetic cats - no sugar. it's like meat-flavored playdough. you just pull off some to wrap the pill in. when i first gave them to punkin he didn't like it, but i wrapped the pill in it and shoved it down his throat. after day 19 of doing that, he woke up and decided he wanted to taste it. so i started throwing the pills on the floor. he LOVED them. that was the last time i had to poke a pill down his throat. s

i've trained my other cats for future pills by throwing little balls of pill-pocket only on the floor. they gobble them up. i figure that at some point i'll have to pill them - so they are primed and ready. you might start now with Scooter and get him eating them like they are treats. you can buy them at most every pet store.

you want specific instructions from your vet on when to feed scooter his last meal and exactly how much insulin to give. it's common to not feed after midnight and to halve or skip the dose, depending on what the vet wants and what time he's going to be doing the dental. vets differ on this, but if they have a plan they use, you want to follow it. mine let me give punkin just a bit of food in the morning so i could get the shot done while he was eating.
 
Re: 1/27 Scooter AMPS 417,+5- 503,+7-367

WOW Julie you have so many great idea's and experiences! Thank you!

I called my Vet and left her a message to ask the things you mentioned.

Thank you for caring about my Scooter as much as I do. :-D

Linda

*Update talked to my Vet and she is going to use bupe. She doesn't use metacam on cats at all. :-D Also I can bring him in after his morning insulin and meds instead of dropping him off and leaving him all day. She will do his teeth when we arrive. Have I told you all I LOVE MY VET! :-D She also recommended baby food but chicken only nothing else in it. She said it is hard to find without all the other ingredients in it but I will search. So I am feeling really good about next Monday now. :-D

Scooter has pretty much slept the day away.
 
Punkin had 2 dentals a year apart. both were needed and he had teeth removed at each. the people here taught me how to help him through it - i'm just passing along what i learned.

It's not like there's anywhere else you can get info on dentals on diabetic cats! :lol:

oh - and anesthesia can often lower blood sugar - that's why they decrease or skip the morning shot. you might ask the vet how they monitor his blood sugar while he's there. the first thing you'll want to do when you get him home is check his BG.

and yes, i care boatloads about Scooter! :-D
 
Good luck on the dental. I just watered down some Wellness for Neko after her last dental but she didn't have extractions, just a tooth filing. I've since bought some Beechnut stage 1 turkey and chicken and broth for when the civie gets a dental as I suspect he might lose a tooth. The list of ingredients for Beechnut stage 2 was the same as for stage 1 but with the addition of corn starch. Go figure!

Make sure your vet will test Scooter before the surgery. Neko was supposed to be second in line last time but got bumped. I had only given her 1/4 dose as per vet, but she still dropped below 80 on the vet's Alphatrak since she didn't have a full breakfast. And make sure to ask what meter your vet uses. I thought the numbers were OK until I found out they were using a pet meter! :o

Hey Scooter, time to onset and come on down now.
 
Hi Linda & Scooter,
Your weather is worse than ours!!
We use Beechnut Stage 1 Turkey & turkey broth and Beechnut Stage 1 Chicken & chicken broth when preparing Rusty's "lung treats". Stage 1 is very palitable and contains no additives or other ingredients.

I hope Scooter decides to slide down a bit tonight.

Keep warm!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top