1/27 Sarge AMPS 316 +1.75 284 +5.75 269 +10 388 PMPS 422!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Morning all and to those in the path of winter storm Juno stay safe! Sarge hit blue at +8 in cycle two of his dose increase to 1.25U and this morning begins cycle three. His hips seem happier now that he is not leaving his Cosequin for the other cats and I changed up their food mix a little. Everyone seems to like it better and they all ate a good breakfast this morning. I think they were getting a little bored with the FF Turkey & Giblets. Lobster gets his teeth cleaned tomorrow and I have to pull his food tonight. So, I was happy to see him eat well this morning. Happy Tuesday!

1/25 condo
 
Amazing, isn't it. Those supplements only work if the darn cat eats them!!! Glad Sarge is getting the Cosequin.

Hope all goes well with Lobster's dental. (I love that name, by the way.)

OK, Sarge. Back to bidness!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hehe, thanks! We found Lobster nearly starved at a Red Lobster in town. Everyone at the neighboring restaurant said he had been wandering around since the colleges let out months prior. He didn't have a tail to speak of so we figured he had an accident. Turns out he is most likely a red Manx. What did we know? His nickname became "Nubber" for his nub of tail, which he wiggles on command. After living out of a Red Lobster dumpster in the heat of the summer he would not touch anything seafood flavored for years. He has been a super cat from day one. How he ended up abandoned is beyond me.

I am curious, has anyone seen insulin resistance or higher BG's with Cosequin? Looking over Sarge's spreadsheet I notice that the times he has given me the biggest fight about taking the Cosequin he also had his best numbers. The most striking example would be around this past Christmas. When he started to limp in early Jan. I redoubled my efforts to get him to eat the full dose (not leave the Cosequin food for Lobster & Diesel) and his numbers went up. Fast. At first I thought it was the brewer's yeast I went back to hiding it in but I am still seeing the pattern after stopping that. I am also suspicious because after his visit to the vet in Oct. '13 I started giving him Cosequin for his hips. May '14 he turned up diabetic. Coincidence, maybe since Cosequin is approved for diabetic cats but every cat is different. He needs something or his hips get sore but I am thinking of trying something new just to see what happens. Maybe Welactin or Dasaquin?
 
Last edited:
I gave punkin cosequin and i did notice that there was no change in his BGs from it. I had wondered, but definitely didn't see any change. Do you have the actual name brand "Cosequin for Cats" by nutramax? If you have a different brand, there may be some filler in it that's causing increased BGs.

Some people have joint success with fish oil.

i'm glad you increased his dose - let's hope this one will put him in greens soon.
 
Yes, I do have the name brand Cosequin for Cats and I haven't used anything else. I'm glad to know it didn't change BGs for Punkin. I am at a loss. How do you go from blue's and green's all day long and slide down the dosage scale to half of what you previously required only to spike and not really come down? His PMPS was 422 tonight. Granted, I have had to start making a food mix to get him to eat the 3% carb food. He was getting bored enough I was afraid with dosage increases he would go low from not eating. The last couple of days I have mixed half a can of 4% into a can of 3% but 4% is as crazy as it gets and he was already high when I made the change. I hate to see him high round the clock again. I kind of wonder if his pen pooped out. It is the one I took to CO and back. Maybe that took a toll and it is only showing up now?
 
i think it's just a matter of a failed reduction, Alison. And now you're having to go back up to get on top of his BGs again.

Look at his dose changes from around 1/17 til now. He was at 1.25u on 1/14 and got into the 20's. In the few days after that, you dropped from 1.25u to fat0.75u. my guess would be that those dose decreases were a little too fast together and he didn't hold the reduction. In other words, the 1/17 green streak may have still been influenced by the 1.25u dose 6 cycles before, and the 1.0u dose the day before that.

After that, his BGs trended up. i think the 0.75u was a little too small of a dose, and now a little bit of Glucose Toxicity has set in and you're having to go back up to overcome it. That's what it looks like to me, anyway. Maybe someone else has 2 cents worth to add to it. I'd just go ahead and increase his dose per the protocol until you see better BGs again.

I don't think it's the food, cosequin or insulin - it's just how it is with this Sugar Dance - you gotta go up and down.
 
Failed reduction with a touch of glucose toxicity, I can work with that. I'll keep it simple and see where the protocol takes us.
 
those terms sound worse than it is! ;) just think of it as the 2 step dance - a couple of steps this direction and a couple of steps that direction. :smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top