1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381 +4 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112631

I am so sick this morning. I was sick all weekend. I have been throwing up. I can't keep any food down. I don't really know what is going on. I think I'm feeling better, I have a bowl of only rice cereal and milk, and two minutes later I cannot keep it down. No, I am not pregnant.

But back to Rocky.. I have kept his insulin dose at 1.5u.. he's 292 this morning. That's nice to see, and, when I went to go double-check the meter reading he was peeing so I was able to do a ketone test. He was negative for ketones. Also very good news. :smile:
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 [NEG KET]

:-D :-D :-D :-D on the BG and the no ketones! So sorry you are sick, I know just how you feel after food poisoning last week! It doesn't sound like that if you have been sick all weekend though. Sending feel better vines , you have to take care of yourself or you can't take care of the kittehs!
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 [NEG KET]

Hi guys .. so sorry to hear you are sick! There are some nasty bugs going around, sounds like you've definitely caught one of them .. if you can, try to drink Gatorade so you don't become dehydrated .. Rocky, you take care of your bean today!!
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 [NEG KET]

Yay on the negative ketones, and that Rocky is feeling good! It's a nice yellow start to a Monday :-D I hope you feel better soon, it sucks to be sick :sad:
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298

Thanks guys.. yes, and now there are two readings in the yellow, but looks like on the way up. :roll:
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298

Tina:
I'll second the gatorade suggestion. You need to try to keep yourself hydrated. Chicken bouillon is good, too. You can't take care of Rocky if you are too sick, yourself.

Happy to see the yellow start to the day. Maybe all your hard work with him is paying off. :-D

Sending healing vines to you! Feel better!
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298 +5 259

I got to see an even lower sunny yellow just moments ago, but then realized that I had FORGOT to feed him his 2nd 1/2 can of NVIV at +2 or +3. :shock: ohmygod_smile He really needs it, so I had to feed that 1/2 can at +5. I wonder how this is going to affect his curve throughout the rest of this day.

I think it's a good idea that I get some Gatorade today. In fact, the dehydration may have been making me even more sick to my stomach and increasing my migraine headache. Yes, I am one of those unfortunate people who has true migraine headaches and take a major prescription drug for it. The fact that I have been dealing with letting go of some of my favorite babies, crying, crying, and sleeping in hardly even two hour cycles since January 17 has not helped me any.

Going to the store now to get the Gatorade and will drink the entire bottle. drinking24 Drinking plain water has just made me more nauseous. I still can't figure out what to eat that won't make my stomach sick again. :roll:
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298 +5 259

On the migraine front, do you take magnesium supplements? There's a doctor here in Georgia (he's a reproductive endocrinologist my sister saw) who has linked migraines to magnesium deficiency in the body. (He also linked some infertility to a magnesium deficiency as well, but that's not the point, lol). I had horrible migraines until I started taking 500mg of Magnesium every day. A coworker heard the same advice from her doctor. Neither of us have had a migraine since we started the supplements. Something I learned that I like to pass along since it has helped me so much.

Feel better soon!
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298 +5 259

Hi Suzanne,

I currently don't take any vitamins or supplements but the magnesium sounds like it would be worth a try. Thanks for sharing this knowledge. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky AMPS 292 +2 298 +5 259

Can you think of anything that changed around Jan 17th that could be affecting his BGs?
The only thing that jumps out at me is that we lowered his dose to .75u based on his nadirs, I think, and THEN I was 1/2 hour late giving the shot that night. I then did not move the shot 1/2 hr forward on the next morning. I gave it at the usual time.

Doses changing or being late can affect things for another day or maybe a couple of days, but not for 10 days. i'm suspicious of the fungal infection possibly being the cause of his higher bgs. the other fairly likely possibility when you describe him as meatloafing, is pancreatitis. it would be helpful to have a diagnosis of that before assuming that's it, however.

is he still meatloafing? is he acting sick? how long did the vet suggest it would be before the antifungal would be effective in his body, ie, before the fungus might be dying?
I didn't think to ask the vet how long it might be before I notice a change for the better in Rocky's skin condition. However, she wants him on it for 4 weeks, so, that sort of tells me that maybe it takes awhile for the medicine to kill the fungus? I know when they give that stuff to people with bad toe nails that they are on it for about 4 months, not 4 weeks. So who knows, he may need to be on it for even longer. I am suppose to bring him in though after 4 weeks to have his liver checked.

After eating he does still sit in that meatloaf position, his body raised a little bit up off of the ground, for a little while. He eventually settles in and is sleeping curled like a normal cat. I suspect the food is somehow immediately irritating his stomach. He didn't burp tonight after eating, so I think that is a good sign but it could also just be a fluke.


If it's all right, I will want to hold his dose at 1.5u instead of increasing to 2.0u tomorrow
because I must go to the pet store in Folsom again and I won't be home to monitor him. I would consider raising it tomorrow night, if I think I can stay awake long enough to see how his body will respond to it. I could then raise it to 2.0u on Tuesday morning.[/quote]

yes, it's always ok to delay a dose increase if you feel like it wouldn't be safe because you aren't home to monitor. the typical time to hold a dose would be 6=10 days. i suggested 4 cycles and increase because of his DKA past and your concerns about his condition, combined with the high flat nadirs over 300. glad to see he got into at least mid-yellows today.

hope you're feeling better as the day goes on.
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

Drats.. we're back to stinky pinkies.. I wonder if feeding him his 2nd 1/2 can of NVIV at +5 instead of +2 or +3 had anything to do with that? :roll: Well, I guess we will see in the morning.

Did not make it to Folsom to bring my next adoption kitty to the pet store because I was so sick today. The adoption coordinator was also in terrible back pain and had to go to see the doctor today, so it worked out OK. Not sure if we are going to be able to meet tomorrow either because of her back. I'm talking about this because all of my back and forth would make it impossible to monitor Rocky.

I don't know how much longer to hold Rocky's dose of 1.5u.. 6 to 10 days? What if it stays up in the pink again and doesn't come down into at least the yellows? That was so nice to see those yellows this morning. party_cat
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

he needs more insulin, ie, a dose increase, but he has to be monitored with it, too.

the trouble with staying at a dose that's not getting him into better numbers is that it can cause Glucose Toxicity which results in needing higher doses to move the blood sugar back into lower ranges.
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

Hi Julie,

Do you think I should bump him up to 2.0u ASAP, as long as I can monitor him? Or, is everyone wanting me to maintain this dose of 1.5u for some period of time? I'm confused as to what you want me to do now, what is the best course of action to take, and when...
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

Hi Tina and extra sweet Rocky!!

Ewwww on the stinky pinkies! But yes, it's possible the food change times might have thrown him off a little. We try to get most of their food into them before +6 so as the insulin is normally waning, the insluin left is not also having to fight a late meal. But it happens, and this too shall pass!!

From the protocol again:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit. This is what we're recommending, but we also understand that you have to be able to test tomorrow and we can't know how you're going to be feeling.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Sure hope everyone is feeling better tomorrow and if you increase to 1.75u, you might see some even better numbers!

You're doing really well, as well as feeling really bad, so just do the best you can for now. We'll always be watching for your posts if you need some dose advice, someone is almost always around to hold your hand and give you the best advice we have to offer.
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

HI Chris..

Oh no now I'm really confused.. He is on 1.5u right now, and has been only since 1/25.

Ok, so at the next possible opportunity sometime this week, I need to increase his dose, is that right?

I am suppose to increase it to 2.25u?

Thanks!
 
Re: 1/27 Rocky PMPS 366+2 381

No, that was my error and I went back and changed it. We'd want you to increase to 1.75 u tomorrow if you're going to be home to test. Since he's starting to move, we need to give just a little more and HOPEFULLY, a little increase will get his nadirs down into those 50-120 "Healing numbers".

Once we can get them to have nadir's in "normal, healing numbers", if they can continue to get those "healing numbers" through 10-12 cycles, it might be time to REDUCE and see if his pancreas is going to be "healed enough" to kick in at least a little....so you go down to a lower dose, continue to test, and if they're staying in good numbers again for about a week, we'd decrease their dose again.

Not all cats go straight up in dose and stay there...the object is to find that "high" dose that "gets their attention" (for lack of a better term)....then once the numbers come down, we reduce them further to see if their pancreas can work even a little more.....the end game is that eventually, you've been in those "Healing numbers" long enough for Rocky's pancreas to be able to go back to performing his duties as he would if he wasn't diabetic.
 
Thank you for clarifying that, Chris. :smile:

On his way back down again.. whew.. 310 at PMPS +4.. Hope he makes it to 200s by morning. I'll try my best to not screw up on his meal time again.

I won't know my plans for tomorrow until mid-morning as I'm waiting on the adoption coordinator with the bad back. Don't know if she is going to be able to meet in Folsom tomorrow. Looks like Rocky is stuck receiving 1.5u until I can for sure be home to monitor him. I feel bad about that.. It's either going to be tomorrow or Wednesday that I need to deliver two more cats to Folsom.

I'm heading to bed now because I'm still not feeling well. I won't be able to get any more blood tests in for the rest of the night. Goodnight. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top