1/27 Neko AMPS 272 PMPS 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday, more yellow and pink. :sad:

I got tired of seeing Neko's numbers go higher as her dose got higher, so this morning we are trying a reboot. As the saying goes "don't try this at home kids". There's a reason I have the phrase Neko is an acrocat, do not copy dosing in my signature. The mechanics of her diabetes are different than the majority. She has a pituitary tumor sending out excess growth hormones which lead to a competition with her regular insulin. The radiation therapy (SRT) neutered the tumor cells and the tumor itself can wax and wane. Unfortunately, Neko isn't very good at telling me what's happening internally right now. I generally follow the TR protocol, but Neko's numbers did not seem right for her. All I could see was her dose rising and her numbers getting steadily worse. I could very well be wrong, but I had to try this. It could be she needs even more insulin, we won't linger overly long at the lower dose.

Neko seems fine, no change in behaviour. She got her 5 P's done early including a visit to Nannerville and CPC as usual. Neko let me know that the hummingbird was back at it's feeder right after her breakfast. The feeder is at the window above her feeding dish. She was hanging around the kitchen as I was making muffins, so I slipped her a tiny piece of unsalted butter as a hairball remover. She does love butter!
 
Re: 1/27 Neko AMPS 272

Wow. I certainly don't envy you trying to figure all that out. I hope the change puts Neko back in pretty numbers. I love hummingbirds - especially their teeny tiny feets!
 
Re: 1/27 Neko AMPS 272

I hope the experiment works! If nothing else, it will give you peace of mind that you tried it :-D

Lucky Neko, to get some butter today cat_pet_icon . That's a good idea, I keep using canola oil or Vaseline. Neko, can you show us some pretty blues, or greens tonight?

Well, I hope you have a nice evening Wendy! :-D (PS, Any more luck with the Cartrophen?)
 
Re: 1/27 Neko AMPS 272

Hi Wendy & Neko,
Good luck with the reboot. I hope it will help Neko get back on track.

Do you have hummingbirds all winter? Wow! We look forward every spring to their return.
They are amazing creatures!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/27 Neko AMPS 272

Good luck with the reboot!!! Acro has to be extremely challenging to work around, but you guys are champs. Have a great night, Wendy!
 
+6.5 376 +10 285 PMPS 337
Still pink and yellow, but wasn't expecting a lot of changes yet. Neko had several good workouts with her nanners today. I'm having a tough time sitting on my hands and waiting. :roll:

@Carla - Still not sure it's the right thing to do, but it will help me decide.

@Tara - I've been looking at a number of other acrocat SS's so there is something to go on. The hummers are so cute, and so demanding. :lol:

@Rachel - I so agree on the peace of mind. This may be the wrong thing to do, but if I have to go up, I can do it with confidence. I've been using coconut oil or butter for hairballs. I used to use Vaseline, but I don't like the idea of it as much, even though it's what most commercial products use. The next cartrophen shot is tomorrow. Still waiting to hear from the vet on whether I paid too much or not. :roll:

@Ella - Me too on getting Neko back on track. If it doesn't work, I'm back to increasing as per protocol. A few years ago the Anna's hummingbirds started staying over winter. My parents have had them for years, but a few years ago I heard them here in the winter so started putting the feeder out for them.

@Amy - Thanks on the reboot. I do hate that acro tumor. :twisted: But I'll do what's needed for my sweet little girl. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top