1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59 +3.5~63 +4.5~70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4129

Hooray! Last night went really well! :mrgreen: I slept and Moses got a good safe number at his +8. I wasn't too much of a zombie, although I did find myself trying to shove the glucose strip in the opposite direction into the meter. Kept inserting it and inserting it and was finally like "hey!", laughed, and turned it around. Yes, this was at 2:30am, Texas time.

Moses is great! I'm so pleased to see him have an AMPS number I've seen before, the familiarity is nice. I plan to test every 3 hours today and again at bedtime.

WCR: All the testing has gotten Moses excited! If he's feeling low and has a snack/dinner within the next 30 min he's bouncing off the walls! This morning after breakfast (at 6:30am, with mom and dad trying to sleep) he was blasting around upstairs. And when he could smell my pancakes and sausage cooking, he was wailing for some! Like an opera boy at the top of the stairs.

Plus, I've caught him watching this Chocokitty and I think it's taking an influence, now that Moses has his energy back:
http://icanhascheezburger.com/2010/01/25/funny-pictures-video-kitteh-prowl/
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175

That video is awesome. Almost like my Webber too. He darts back and forth all over the house. Yay for the kitties!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175

(Moses is great, my question is about budgeting for supplies)

*Question - How long does a Lantus cartridge last? I've heard some controversy. The manufacturer says 28 days from opening. Does anybody else use it for longer or is that a faux paw?

:?:
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 Question

HOW DO YOU KNOW WHEN YOUR INSULIN IS NO LONGER GOOD?

* When you lose regulation for no reason.

* If you see any hint of "floaties"/"tiny particles"... discard the insulin.

* If insulin is cloudy or discolored, or if rubber stopper is cracked... replace insulin immediately.

* The manufacturer of Lantus recommends discarding the insulin after 28 days of use.
However, many Lantus users have been able to use a vial/cartridge/pen for as long as six months.

* The manufacturer of Levemir recommends discarding the insulin after 42 days of use.
Many Levemir users have been able to use a vial/pen for six months. However, most Levemir FlexPen users do toss the pen when the insulin gets down to about the "12" mark on the FlexPen.

I used Levemir and used my first pen for 5 months, the second one, for about 2 months then we were OTJ!
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 Question

So glad you were able to get that +8 last night...and Moses had a very very nice night for sure! :mrgreen:

Good for you!

I had to laugh at the meter problem...mine only accepts the test strip in one end too....
wish it wasn't SO particular. :roll:
My walls don't move too much either when I bounce off them in the middle of the night...ouch...
those alarms are SO loud when you are in a deep sleep. It's great data though...and worth the pain.

Good job...and I hope you feel ok today after your broken sleep.
(I use Lev myself and not sure how long anyone has really gotten out of the lantus...they will be here to testify for sure!)
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 Question

Moses were you being Moonie last nite?? You are doing great, nice blue numbers..
Wish Moonie was as energetic as that adorable video!! Keep doing great there Moses, and Erica you are a great momma bean! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :thumbup
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 Question

Wow, Monique and Spooky! 5 months for pen #1! wow! I still have 4 extra pens stored in the fridge at 40* until my first pens run out. I wonder if the pens stored in the fridge can last for 1-2 years?

I might not have to purchase more insulin until 2012! :shock: If! Of course, they're still good.

I'm still curious about what others do. If you've lasted longer then 28 days on 1 pen, please feel free to comment! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 Question

Hi from another bleary-eyed 2:30 am'er. I don't sleep between tests, though. I think that makes it worse for me. I DO fall into bed like a log when I am allowed though.

About your Lantus question: We bought our first vial (regular vial, not pen cartridges) on October 19 and we are still using it. It looks fine and we haven't noticed an effectiveness problems. We store it on the fridge door in a spot that a portable thermometer indicated was pretty consistent temperature-wise and we wrapped the bottle 90% of the way around with sheet poly-foam. The 10% is for viewing. We never warm the bottle and handle it very gently. There's a data point of one for you!
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 +6~164

Thanks for the info, Lydia and Basil :-D

I just posted Moses' +6. I'm kinda surprised by the flatness of today. This is his peak? What?

I'm certain he didn't receive a fur shot this morning. Strange. He's been pretty quiet and sleepy today. He was bounding about this morning, from his AMPS to his +3. But now he's really just laying around. Strange.

There's another cat who lives in the house (my parent's cat, Ellie). She is very moody and mean, they don't get along together so they are separated. But her energy levels are like this, where she's sleepy a lot, and then randomly she'll get blasts of energy. Moses was a bundle this morning, but now he mellow. Still strange. Hmmm...
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 +6~164

Erica - I have found that my kitties love to just lay around all day (even when I am there) and are active in the mornings and night. Typical cats :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 +6~164

Ya, he's kinda frolicking around right now, which is nice to see. Such strange flat numbers. Huh? @-)
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 +6~164 +9~191

I had a day where Webber surfed 275,271,272....really flat. I was confused that day too. @-)
 
Re: 1/27 Moses AMPS 163 +3~175 +6~164 +9~191

This flatness that you are seeing is his 'bounce' from last night's green. His liver is learning. :-D Flat cycles often lead to the next cycle being action packed. ;-)
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132

Thanks for the input, Cassandra and Sasha, I was wondering what that flatness was about.

Yet now, with his PMPS being the lowest number of the day (lowest PMPS ever!), I'm a little concerned. Last night was full of activity and his PMPS was only 160. Tonight it's 132. If he drops 100 points like he did last night that could be dangerous...

I'll test again at +2. Based on that maybe a +4 or +5 if I have to... :?
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132

Erica - I am right there with you. Webber has his lowest PMPS ever too of 130. We may be up tonight for sure. Good luck :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132

Ha! Two newbies and two chocokitties:

:? dancing_cat dancing_cat nailbite_smile

I can picture it now! No no, I hope it doesn't look like that.
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132

Erica & Moses said:
I'll test again at +2. Based on that maybe a +4 or +5 if I have to... :?

I would get a +1 from this. The lower the preshot, the earlier you want to test. This is your lowest to date - always get a +1 if the preshot is lower than you have previously shot before. Please post it when you have it and we can see what other tests you will need.

Often with Lantus and Lev, the lower the preshot the flatter the curve will be. A preshot of 150 will often have more drop than a preshot of 100.
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102

I just got your message, Cassandra and Sasha. I had to eat some dinner.

But I'm back and tested right away at a +1.5 of 102. Not bad, but here comes the descent...
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102

Cassandra - is it better to have the kitties try to surf at the same level or drop?
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102

Paige, I answered in your condo too, but I'll repost here and also elaborate.

Here is what I posted in your condo:

When there is a drop earlier in the cycle, we always try and feed some LC to get them surfing. Some drop during a cycle is usually to be expected, and it depends on the kitty as to when/if it happens (things like food intake over the previous 24 hours, possible rebound from kitties that haven't completely LTS, typical nadir, and other factors all come into play). The overall goal with Lantus and Lev is a flat curve, though. This is one of the many reason we always recommend/suggest a before bed test, in order to get a kitty surfing (if in green or even blue) prior to heading to bed.

Also adding - We try and hang onto doses for as long as a kitty will allow us to in order to maximize pancreatic healing time. A good way or doing this is trying to create a surf with LC when you see a drop. Sometimes the kitty will still drop below 40/50 and earn a decrease, and sometimes they will stay nice and flat. Often cats will get up and feed themselves if food is available and surf on their own, but if you see an early drop it doesn't hurt to give a LC snack and try to help out a little as long as you are not constantly overfeeding the cat and inflating the numbers with unnecessary food.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102

YES YES thank you. :YMHUG: I am sorry to hijack Erica's condo. I am done
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68

I'm so glad Moses just had a snacky of his LC dinner about 30 minutes ago. He's at 68 and he'll probably keep dipping until +4.5.

I've got to take a shower, maybe when I get out he'll be ready for a +3.5 (or a +3?) hmmm

I'll probably be up till 10:30 tonight, anything so he'll feel better! cat_pet_icon

And no, Paige, you didn't hijack my condo. It has plenty of room for your questions and others advice. :smile:
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68

To add to what Cassandra said about feeding the curve, you don't want to give a ton of food. I give Gabby about 1/8 of a can of FF or less.

Re. cartridges: My first vial (not cartridge) pooped out after 6 - 8 weeks. I've never had a cartridge that maintained it's potency for more than a month and I had one that I tossed after 2 weeks. (I mail ordered over the summer and the ice pack was melted when it was delivered and the Lantus wasn't cold.)

BTW, I think several of us will be up late tonight! Nice surf for Moses.
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59

Okay, 3 hours later :razz: Seems like the snacks are catching up, only coming down 9 points.

His little Hulk ears! His right ear will no longer bleed. The river vein now looks like a dry bed :sad:
The righty is still good, still pumping. I'm going to go ahead and say that safety says I'll test again at 3.5?

Thank you for your help Cassandra & Sasha and Sienne & Gabby. This is night #2 of the Moses dance of the Sugars and I'm still getting the swing of it! dancing_cat
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59

Yes, keep testing. Keep surfing there Moses! Be ready to give some more snackies to keep him on that surfboard.
You are doing fine here!
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59

another little snack would be ok here. getting a +3.5 sounds good.
moses is really doing well!
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59 +3.5~63

He is doing great! Thank you Jill & Alex.

He seems to be riding a little wave now, whew :-D

I'm not sure how much more he'll dip... I'm ready for my shower :lol: I might try back for a +4.5. That's when he lifted up last night.
 
Re: 1/27 Moses PMPS 132 +1.5~102 +2.5~68 +3~59 +3.5~63

this is a nice place to surf!
you could let him have another little snack. checking him in an hour is a good idea... just to make sure he stays on the surf board. :-D
 
Amazing surf Moses! I'm glad he's cruising in the 70s now :mrgreen:

Okay, off to bed. Hitting the sheet waves next. Ya dig?

Goodnight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top