1/27 MooCAT Still Clearing a Bounce? AM BG 283

If I'm understanding your SS, it looks like you've skipped a number of shots. If you've skipped. that's the reason for higher numbers. It's not an issue of a bounce clearing. How many shots have your skipped? If it's more than 1 or 2, you've been emptying out the depot and will need some time to get it refilled.
 
If I'm understanding your SS, it looks like you've skipped a number of shots. If you've skipped. that's the reason for higher numbers. It's not an issue of a bounce clearing. How many shots have your skipped? If it's more than 1 or 2, you've been emptying out the depot and will need some time to get it refilled.

On his previous thread, we were discussing going without insulin until his typical bounce clearing time due to the dramatic responses to only 1 drop.
 
Could I ask a favour on the spreadsheet. Some entries for the last couple of nights show as yellow, but the text shows numbers above 300. Sorry, kind of used to reading the colour coding.

I'd be curious to see what a mid cycle test is today.
 
Could I ask a favour on the spreadsheet. Some entries for the last couple of nights show as yellow, but the text shows numbers above 300. Sorry, kind of used to reading the colour coding.

I'd be curious to see what a mid cycle test is today.
Hi , I'm not sure what you are seeing- my spreadsheet shows 300 and above in pink and under 200-299 yellow. I got a test at 4 hr 40 min 228.
 
Last night's +2.5 looks yellow, but says 340.

What are your food options for medium carb? If Moo has to resume insulin, and he doesn't seem to be drifting down at all, I'd want to give him higher low carb or low medium carb food to offset the steep drops. Reading back a couple posts, I was surprised your vet was suggesting poultry for IBD. My IBD kitty couldn't handle chicken, which is a common allergen, though ECID I guess.
 
For cells that have more than one number, you may have to highlight the cell and manually put it to proper colour.
Strange, I did manually fill with the proper color and when I look at my spreadsheet it shows yellow and pink with the additional text.
 
Last night's +2.5 looks yellow, but says 340.

What are your food options for medium carb? If Moo has to resume insulin, and he doesn't seem to be drifting down at all, I'd want to give him higher low carb or low medium carb food to offset the steep drops. Reading back a couple posts, I was surprised your vet was suggesting poultry for IBD. My IBD kitty couldn't handle chicken, which is a common allergen, though ECID I guess.
When he was diagnosed with IBD he had been eating dry kidney disease food, I was advised poorly by another vet. When Moo was put back on all wet food at that time, he would not eat anything else. The vet said it was better that he eat rather than not eat and to give him the chicken. When he was diagnosed with diabetes, he had no appetite. The vet said if I was going to try other foods to stick with poultry. Way back when he was about 11 yrs old he had rodent ulcers and was put on several different foods for allergy and it could not be pinpointed what allergy he had. He has eaten every type of meat. I had cupboards full of all types single ingredient foods . I am very distressed over all of this because he is picky and if I find medium or high low carb- he only eats pate and also may not eat it.
His numbers without insulin look similar to the numbers that he has while on insulin and bouncing. Does that have any significance?
 
Is it +7 or later for you yet? If so, it would be interesting to see what he tests at.
When you ask about the significance of the bounce numbers and the no insulin numbers ... is there any chance at all that when you are giving a drop, that the drop is actually administered? You can know this by pressing the plunger gently after you give injection- if any insulin balls at the end, he didn't get the shot.
 
That’s a good point that Majandra makes. I might have all ready mentioned to you that when I did the drop , I would hold the plunger in as I removed the needle so not to have it sucked back into the syringe. Forgive me if I’m repeating myself. L
 
Is it +7 or later for you yet? If so, it would be interesting to see what he tests at.
When you ask about the significance of the bounce numbers and the no insulin numbers ... is there any chance at all that when you are giving a drop, that the drop is actually administered? You can know this by pressing the plunger gently after you give injection- if any insulin balls at the end, he didn't get the
Just tested +6 and 45 minutes- 190 ETA I'm glad you asked me to test because I was about to leave.
 
Last edited:
s there any chance at all that when you are giving a drop, that the drop is actually administered?
That's an interesting theory and a good question, but Moo was definitely getting insulin on his "drop" dose and went under 70 the AlphaTrak twice and under 70 on .1u as well.
 
Will Moo tolerate adding any kind of syrup or honey to his food if you need to increase the carbs as Wendy was suggesting? You may only need a small drop or two to bump up the numbers. I
 
It's been six cycles since Moo hit 41 on the AlphaTrak. I'm curious to see if he will start coming down tonight on his own. The +7 190 was nice to see, but with meter variance (I hate that btw) it could be roughly the same as his +5. Definitely a drift downward from his AM skip and +2 though!!!

BTW
-my post isn't in response to Sienne's question, we just happened to post at the exact same time ;)
 
Will Moo tolerate adding any kind of syrup or honey to his food if you need to increase the carbs as Wendy was suggesting? You may only need a small drop or two to bump up the numbers. I
Unfortunately he will not, I had a horrendous time a few days ago trying to get him to eat food with honey mixed in. I had to give it to him directly from my fingers and fed him 17% carb gravy. He still didn't rise significantly he was in very low numbers for about 4hours with me doing the honey and trying to feed him gravy.
 
Unfortunately, that isn't the case the test was 280 although lower than last night by a touch. I'm at a loss on what to do next. I'm thinking about how with the insulin he has the same bg results for most of the week with the hypo numbers as an added bonus NOT! How am I going to do this?. Wendy suggested medium carb or high low carb. But it has been mentioned that Moo doesn't seem to be carb sensitive. I have so many questions on my mind. Moo on top of all this is now constipated and not too happy right now.
Thanks so much for sending your well wishes! It lifted my spirits.
 
Avoderm chicken chunks in gravy. He won't eat the chicken chunks just the gravy at first but after about 1-2 tablespoons he won't eat anymore.
ETA he only will eat pate if it's too juicy he won't eat it, too dry won't eat it. It's got to be just right, picky
 
Ergg. Sorry to hear Moo is constipated, poor guy.
I think it's time to craft a plan to start a tiny bit of insulin again that takes every thing into consideration.
I not experienced with this tiny dose stuff but maybe we could outline all of things that need to be considered so someone else can figure this out.
 
I think that's a great idea. Right now he eats 3-4% carb and 7% carb. Pates. Also, I'm going to start insulin in the morning. Do you think it will be safe to give him his first dose with his regular food since there isn't any insulin left in him and probably no danger of hypo?
 
Avoderm chicken chunks in gravy. He won't eat the chicken chunks just the gravy at first but after about 1-2 tablespoons he won't eat anymore.
ETA he only will eat pate if it's too juicy he won't eat it, too dry won't eat it. It's got to be just right, picky

The avoderm chicken chunks and gravy is actually only 13% according to the spreadsheet. That could account for the lack of reaction possibly.
 
I didn't realize that. Okay, I feel stupid. I took that off of the list. I must have been looking at the wrong line on the list.
 
It would be great if we could find something in the 20% and up range that Moo would eat.
It's been a long time since I did any food/carb searches. I think you said Moo will only eat pates?
 
I'm going to go check out Petco for science diet. I meant to do that this weekend but I had school responsibilities and I was hoping so badly I wasn't going to need it. The science diet is high carb, they have some that is 30 and up. Need to find a pate if they have one.
 
[="Barbara & Uncle (GA), post: 2326741, member: 16498"]It would be great if we could find something in the 20% and up range that Moo would eat.
It's been a long time since I did any food/carb searches.QUOTE I think you said Moo will only eat pates?[/QUOTE]
Yes, that's it. Sorry don't know how to highlight and quote
 
I'm going to go check out Petco for science diet. I meant to do that this weekend but I had school responsibilities and I was hoping so badly I wasn't going to need it. The science diet is high carb, they have some that is 30 and up. Need to find a pate if they have one.
That would be great! One other thing I've thinking about is that I'm not totally sure it's true that Moo is "not carb sensative". It may have been that he needed HC up around the mid 20% range.
I often used 21% to get Uncle up when he went to low

Sorry don't know how to highlight and quote
That's okay so much to learn o_O Usually if I select some text and then let go of my tracking pad, a little word called "reply" comes up and I click on it and it will pop the selected text in a new box
 
Back
Top