1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
It's been over a week since I last put up a condo.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34608

My work schedule has been temporarily hectic for the past couple of weeks, so it's been hard getting spot checks. At 3.5u we haven't seen any red in almost a week, which is a big improvement, but we can't seem to get below 300. I just read Sienne's post on another condo mentioning not to hold a dose too long if it doesn't lower the numbers because the cat gets acclimated. So unless things change radically tomorrow, we're gunning for a dose increase up to 4.0u Saturday AM when I'll be home all day to do a curve. I'll also be home during the day next week so I'll be able to hold the dose for three days instead of seven before increasing if the 4.0u doesn't get us some better numbers.

I switched his canned food over to Wellness 4% carb from Friskies 8% carb on 1/22 and have noticed a flattening of the PS numbers instead of all that nasty red. I really do believe that it made a difference, and Leo is feeling a lot better too--less peeing, more purring and gentle twitching of the tail because he's happier. But I was seeing more yellow when we first started at 1u than I'm seeing now at 3.5.

Off to get a PM +4 test before bed, will report back.
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345

I hope Leo comes down for you soon. We feed the WN, too....some of the 4% and some of the 6%. Good luck and I hope it continues to work for him!
 
you might want to put dose question in your subject line to get some input on the increase...sorry, i've been a little absent so not up on leo's history but i wonder if you might just want to increase by increments of .25 units..
 
Crap, still mid 300s.

I guess I need to get a better curve before our next dose increase. I'm lacking data since the jump from 3.0u to 3.5u last weekend. I'll take a curve Saturday and decide whether to increase to 4.0u on Sunday.

It's frustrating. I'm looking at all these condos for kitties in the blues and greens and I confess I'm feeling a mite jealous. :-|

Edit for Binks' mom: Sienne's been working with me on Leo for the past couple of weeks and has come out in favor of pursuing some aggressive increases (.5u at a time) IF I can get more data. It's unusual for me to be out of the house all day and not be able to get curves during the week, but this week the timing has just been bad. Running out of strips over the holiday last weekend didn't help. One more day of working at the office and after that I'll be able to test at home all day.

He seems to linger high at +4 and then nadir at about +6, but I need a new curve to be sure.
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 question

i think you might ask for some input from some of the more experienced folks...sometimes, to my understanding...you can miss the breakthrough dose by going up too quickly... I may be out of line here...but i think unless you're on a special dosing protocol, they suggest increases of .25

binks has been on lantus since august...and it's taken until the last month or so to see the beautiful numbers he has, and i honestly think he's done it fairly quickly compared to some others...

not that it SEEMED quick... :lol:
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

there you go...we'll bump you up for some wiser eyes than mine...
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

Thanks for the bump, and you're right--Binks is rockin' now, but those earlier months were all over the place!
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

yeah...he's been up & down the scale a little...

it's a busy forum...but they'll give you some good input!
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

Hi All!

No dose advice here, but I think you can trust what Sienne tells you. Most of us go up in .25 increases, but sometimes you need to be more aggressive - as long as you can monitor. I hope that works for you, and that Leo sees improvement. I understand all too well the frustration. Mannie and I have been at this 3 years come May, alot of which was spent in high numbers. We too spent, and sometimes still do, a lot of time watching other kitties have awesome runs when we were not. Patience as they say - took me forever to accept that, believe it too. Heck - i still get jealous! :-D

I hope Leo likes the Wellness line. Mannie does too, though I also feed Merrick. It does make such a difference when you feed a good quality food.

Good luck with the curve over the weekend. The data gained will be invaluable.
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

oh, see...now i'm totally embarrassed at my missing the edit about sienne...if she's got you...you're in GREAT hands!!

sorry lacie...i didnt see that.

Sienne is definitely an excellent coach!!
so now, i'd say...um probably dont need dose question in your subject line! :lol: :lol:

now you see why i generally just pop in with jokes...
celi
 
Re: 1/27 Leo AMPS 368, +7 329, PMPS 345, +4 358 dose questio

No biggie - as I understand the protocol, if the nadir is consistently over 300 for 6 cycles (3 days), you can go up by .5; if it's 200-300, you go up by .25. But I don't have enough data to make a decision yet. I THINK I've nailed his nadir, but he could be dipping into the yellows overnight or when I'm at work.

I'm just disappointed that I've stopped seeing yellow as the dosage goes higher. I don't want to hold the dose for too long if it's not working, but I have to wait one more day before I can get a curve.

I'll probably freak out when we get our first green--pink's easy; green is where the rubber meets the road. Be careful what you wish for...

celi...yeah, but they're GOOD jokes. :mrgreen:
 
it gets a little hairy...the first time binks went low, all i can say is thank goodness it was on line typing...cuz we dont sound so panicked!
 
Lacie:

I think you misinterpreted. The protocol does stipulate that you can increase a dose as soon as after 4 cycles. However, I would never advocate that if you are not around to monitor. You aren't doing much testing at night. Many cat's have lower numbers in the PM cycle. If you are going to be aggressive with dose, you also need to be aggressive about monitoring, otherwise there are safety issues and you may miss a good dose. I agree that getting a curve over the weekend will be useful. Given that you're seeing some yellow nadirs, I would only increase the dose by 0.25u.

It's possible that the higher numbers you're seeing are due to lower numbers at night or mid-cycle when you're not able to test and then Leo is bouncing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top