1/27 Garland AMPS 253 +6 268 PMPS 259 Ketones 3.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
1/25

In my last condo we were talking about raising Garlands dose, whether it should be by .25 or .5. Jill said we would wait until this morning to make the decision. Which do yall think?

Her ketones rose a little. from 2.3 to 3.5. Its still in the "trace" range, but I dont like how they are going up instead of down. Her behavior is completely normal, eating fine too.
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

If you are able to monitor, I'd go for the 0.5u. It looks like the bulk of the numbers are pink vs. yellow.
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Hugs to you Violet! Hope the dosecrease helps. It is great to hear that Garland is feeling good.
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you are able to monitor, I'd go for the 0.5u. It looks like the bulk of the numbers are pink vs. yellow.

Yep, I can monitor. Would I do this increase tonight or in the morning?
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Hi guys .. Good luck with the extra juice! Hope it brings garland down .. and I hope her ketone ranges also come down .. Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Hi Violet,

FWIW - I think you should increase tonight. Remember the recipe for ketones is:


  • not enough calories+not enough insulin+infection.

Please add as much water as she will tolerate to her food as well.

appetite good? How are her teeth and gums? When was her last dental?
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Good luck with the dosecrease and with negating those ketones.
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 Ketones 3.5 - Dose increase questi

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi Violet,

FWIW - I think you should increase tonight. Remember the recipe for ketones is:


  • not enough calories+not enough insulin+infection.

Please add as much water as she will tolerate to her food as well.

appetite good? How are her teeth and gums? When was her last dental?

Her appetite is great! Eating as usual. Her last dental was a couple years ago, but her teeth and gums look healthy.
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 +6 268 Ketones 3.5

I agree, Violet. I'd head those ketones off at the pass and get her up tonight as it will take a bit to fill her shed with the new dose.

Good luck on the dosecrease and hopefully some extra food/water will bring those ketones down.

You are doing fabulous staying on top of this!!!
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 +6 268 Ketones 3.5

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I agree, Violet. I'd head those ketones off at the pass and get her up tonight as it will take a bit to fill her shed with the new dose.

Good luck on the dosecrease and hopefully some extra food/water will bring those ketones down.

You are doing fabulous staying on top of this!!!

Thanks Marjorie. Its sooooo exhausting though. It seems like Garland has a near crisis every 6 weeks. I was hoping after the neck infection episode, we would be in the clear a little longer than this. There is always so much going on here at the house with my two toddlers and the two cats. :YMSIGH: Its very stressful for me when I do a ketone check and they are not in the negative range. Usually what happens next is within a few days, she starts to eat less and less.. Then, I start thinking of everything that could happen and then never knowing why it does. :sad: I worry about her a lot
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 +6 268 Ketones 3.5

Violet and Garland said:
1/25

In my last condo we were talking about raising Garlands dose, whether it should be by .25 or .5. Jill said we would wait until this morning to make the decision. Which do yall think?

Her ketones rose a little. from 2.3 to 3.5. Its still in the "trace" range, but I dont like how they are going up instead of down. Her behavior is completely normal, eating fine too.
so happy to hear she's acting normally and eating well!
as i mentioned in my last post, one reading under 3.0 isn't anything to panic about. it's simply a red flag screaming stay on top of this! it's an upwards trend that is concerning. when you see an upwards trend, protocol goes out the window. getting more insulin into the cat is a must.

good luck with the increase. hopefully it'll not only pull her BG numbers down, but the ketone level will go down also.
i know you'll continue to check for ketones...

(((hugs)))
 
Re: 1/27 Garland AMPS 253 +6 268 Ketones 3.5

Hi Violet, You are doing a great job with Garland. It really wasn't so long ago that she had her crises and it is natural that you would worry. I so admire you for taking such good care of Garland while also being a mother of toddlers. I feel confident that you have the present situation with the trace ketones under good control and that the dosecrease will help Garland stay healthy. Keep your spirits up and don't be afraid. You are a super mamabean!

Lots of hugs to you and your family,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top