1/27-Cini Mini-PMPS 125, +2/115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62107

Yesterday's BG #s -

AMPS - 109, gave 1 drop Lantus
+4 - 107
+6 - 93
+8 - 93
PMPS - 117, gave 1 drop Lantus
+2 - 102


This morning's AMPS was 162 :o

I'm sensing a theme here. I fed Cini some Sophistacat Turkey and Giblets last night and overnight. Then he wakes up with high BGs? I don't think this Sophistacat is as low in Carbs as J&Bs list said it was. Good thing PetSmart is discontinuing it. Unfortunately, this was a big, soup sized can of cat food and I hate to waste it so I am going to feed him the rest of the can today.

When I went to the Vet the other day to weigh Cini I saw they had a donation box for homeless pets. I think I'll put the last two cans of Sophistacat in there this weekend.

Hope everyone else's day is going well. Happy Friday! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini - AMPS 162 - My Spidey Senses are Tinglin

Hi guys .. sorry to see the higher BG's today .. I think someone else also noticed a higher BG with turkey and giblets .. perhaps ann and maggie? We feed mocha turkey and giblets, special kitty from wal mart .. Hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-AMPS 162,+2.5/112 - Food Spike

Yeah, I've seen a couple of references to some kitties being seeming to be sensitive to turkey. Maybe you are one of the lucky ones.
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-AMPS 162,+2.5/112 - Food Spike

Cathy,

I've been studying your spreadsheet and I know you have been asking about an OTJ trial. Normally we see a higher rate of success with cats that are spending the majority of their time in green, with an occasional foray into blue being ok but not higher than about 120. To get to that range, I would like to suggest that you *raise* Cini's insulin dose a bit. You've heard us say that sometimes you have to go up to go down. If you go back up in dose a little bit (say to 0.1u), then that should help Cini pull his range down a little. He's sooooooo close and I really think that will help. I used to do it with Jazzy whenever her numbers started to creep up, and Jill does it with Alex often. Sometimes it just takes a few cycles at the higher dose before they move the numbers down where you want them.

I just thought I would put this out there and see what you think. I know Cini used to drop and bounce a lot on 0.1, but his whole spreadsheet looks different now than it did then, so I don't expect him to start doing that again. Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-AMPS 162,+2.5/112 - Food Spike

Hey Libby,

You know what, I was thinking the same thing too.

But I was going to wait till I got the food situation straightened out first. I am going this weekend to buy some more EVO 95% Chicken and Turkey and I was going to pick up a few cans of Wysong Au Jus Diet All Meat Beef, Chicken, and Turkey (J&Bs old list says they are 0% carbs, hopefully).

I was thinking it was the food that was making Cini float up a bit. Or do you think I should just go ahead and go back to .10 units anyway?
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-AMPS 162,+2.5/112,+6/82 - Food Spike

Cini is in perfectly fine numbers, so there's no rush if you want to try a food change first. The numbers have been the same for several weeks, though, so I don't think it is all about food.
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-PMPS 125

Thanks Libby. I finished off that last can of Sophistacat so tomorrow I'll start feeding Cini the EVO 95% Chicken and Turkey.

I'll bump him up to .10 units Sunday. I would do it tomorrow but I won't be here for most of the day.
 
Re: 1/27-Cini Mini-AMPS 162,+2.5/112 - Food Spike

Linda for Weezer said:
Yeah, I've seen a couple of references to some kitties being seeming to be sensitive to turkey. Maybe you are one of the lucky ones.

Maybe you should try something without turkey in it?

Hi Cini Mini, we're rooting for you and the you know what!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top