1/27 Cargo AMPS 116, 90@AM+2.5, 93@AM+6, PMPS 121

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Morning all!

YESTERDAY'S CONDO, and prior, was using the AlphaTrak meter, however I have FINALLY obtained a ReliOn Prime meter so have officially made the switch for Cargo! Fortunately he gave me a nice juicy drop this morning so it was no trouble getting the extra blood. Will be interesting to see the difference between meters and I will post some AlphaTrak readings in my SS remarks occasionally to compare.

Can someone please remind me who it is that can change my SS over to the human meter?

Also, quick random question - when someone gets super close to remission I notice they go from a more precise insulin measurement to a "drop". How much is a drop? Is this if you're using a pen or something?

Thanks!
Melinda
 
Good morning! Nice start for Cargo this morning:cool:.

Usually people seem to be able to get one drop of insulin by pressing down hard on the syringe plunger and then releasing the plunger when the needle is in the insulin vial. That usually sucks about a drop into the needle (aka "needle juice") but people often practice first with water and count the drop(s) they get by measuring this way. It is a little different for everyone but (for when you get there) as long as your drop dose is consistent for your kitty, that would be what matters.

Yay for the switch to a human meter!! :cool: @Bandit's Mom can help you with the spreadsheet changeover, if you want help.

I don't know if you've compared meter readings before or not, but the differences can be quite, uhm, surprising.

Your spreadsheet says you're doing SLGS. When you have a moment, would you mind please adding that to your signature (think of it as today's housekeeping item:bighug:)? We all have our dosing method in our signatures so that the people offering their opinions and thoughts can quickly see what method we are following without having to open the spreadsheet every time. Thank you so much:bighug:.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Woot, another human meter convert (I'm a former pet meter user too as was Lyla)

I don't know if you've compared meter readings before or not, but the differences can be quite, uhm, surprising.
lol, Lyla :joyful:

Take it from me (and Lyla and the mods) there is no comparison (or conversion) from pet meter to human meter. I nearly drove myself insane when I switched and now my pet meter is hiding in a drawer...and we better not talk about it or I'll give in and take it out :p I recommend the clean switch and don't look back. Save your AT2 if your vet ever wants a curve but just skip the comparison and stick with a single meter.
 
LOL. I've offered to take everyone's old pet meter away from them and lock them up once they've switched. If you can take Susanne's advice, great:bighug:! I believe that was my advice to her:p. But it seems everyone needs to see the differences for themselves and drive themselves crazy in order to learn. We will be here for you for support when you start comparing the numbers:).
 
Cargo seems to be agreeing with you because both tests this morning yielded a fat juicy drop of blood that he patiently let me grab with the ReliOn, but shook off by the time I picked up the AlphaTrak so my chance was gone :p! LOL!

Thank you @Butters & Lyla for the housekeeping advice! Is there anything else I should add to be more helpful? He doesn't have any other health issues, but should I note that there?

And thank you again to @Bandit's Mom for switching Cargo's SS!
 
LOL Cargo! Good boy!:cat:
You don't have to note that he doesn't have any other health issues. Some people note supplements if you're giving any of those. That's all I can think of!
 
Back
Top