1/27 Berlioz AMPS 319, +2 126, +4 60, +6 44, +7 58, +8 83, +10 120

Shelle Acello

Member Since 2020
I decided to do a glucose curve on Berlioz today since he has been on 1.25 units of Lantus for a little over a week. I will say, the numbers on his spreadsheet just aren't making sense to me. He's all over the place with his numbers. I'm hoping someone can help me understand this. His +6 is now 44, but he is not showing any signs of distress.

I did look at the document that showed how to pull the units and what it should look like. I'm wondering if I'm pulling the wrong amount maybe? For 1.25, I pull until the insulin is touching the bottom of the 1 unit line. (If that makes sense)

Appreciate any insight...thank you!
 
Hi Shelle, first thing.... did you feed Berlioz a little MC food when you got that 44? Sorry I'm just seeing this now. We don't want him hanging out in numbers below 50. And get another test please.
 
Okay, ,so about what might be going on with berlioz:

You're doing SLGS, and with SLGS Berlioz earned a reduction on both January 20th and January 22nd. A number below 90 earns a reduction on SLGS. Also, numbers below 90 on SLGS aren't supposed to be shot. Next time you get a pre-shot under 90, do not shoot or feed and post here for help.

Today looks like it could be a bounce breaking cycle. Numbers can drop quite quickly on these types of cycles.
Is there any way you can get some random BG spot checks on Berlioz during the cycles? Even one or two per cycle could really help give you an idea of what's going on with him. It's impossible for me to tell anything else from just the preshot numbers.

Please take the reduction for Berlioz today. He is telling you he needs one. New dose is 1u.
Try to get more tests in whenever you can.
Please add "SLGS" to your signature.
Please remove the dose from your signature. We are supposed to have the dosing method and insulin type but not the dose in the signatures.
 
Last edited:
Okay, ,so about what might be going on with berlioz:

You're doing SLGS, and with SLGS Berlioz earned a reduction on both January 20th and January 22nd. A number below 90 earns a reduction on SLGS. Also, numbers below 90 on SLGS aren't supposed to be shot. Next time you get a pre-shot under 90, do not shoot or feed and post here for help!

Today looks like it could be a bounce breaking cycle. Numbers can drop quite quickly on these types of cycles.
Is there any way you can get some random BG spot checks on Berlioz during the cycles? Even one or two per cycle could really help give you an idea of what's going on with him. It's impossible for me to tell anything else from just the preshot numbers.

Please take the reduction for Berlioz today. He is telling you he needs one. New dose is 1u.
Try to get more tests in whenever you can.
Please add "SLGS" to your signature.
Please remove the dose from your signature. We are supposed to have the dosing method and insulin type but not the dose in the signatures.
Got it! This poor cat is so patient with me. I think I'm just trying to remember so much that I am forgetting to pause and think. I will lower dose to 1 unit, which now makes sense, and I'll test a little more often. I'll make the changes to my signature.
 
Hi Shelle,
I totally agree with Lyla: Reduce to 1 Unit. And keep on monitoring. And please try to get in more tests in each cycle. Keep in mind that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number of the cycle--the nadir. Usually this is somewhere in the middle of the cycle. The more you can test, the better picture you will have of how Berlioz is doing and what his patterns are. All of this will help you greatly as you go forward on this "adventure". The more data you have, the better advice you will get from the people advising you.
Hang in there. It all seems complicated and confusing at first. We have all been where you are! :)
:bighug::bighug:
 
It is a lot to remember and you're still very new. I remember the feeling of drinking from a fire hose.:bighug:
You don't have to do as much testing with SLGS as those of us on TR do, but every test you get will help to paint the picture of what is going on with Berlioz. It's a bit like piecing together a jigsaw puzzle. It will be worth it!
 
Again, thank you so much! Not sure what I would have done if I didn't find this site. Question...how do I update the title of this thread?
 
Before I start screenshotting for you, look at your title and then just slightly below but to the far right of the screen is a small down arrow that says "thread tools" . click that and "edit title". then edit, and click "save".
 
Okay good. We still need Berlioz to get to the magical 90 by PMPS. What is his normal feeding schedule? Will you be feeding him anhyting between now and PMPS?
 
I expect him to stay up to PMPS as the insulin is wearing off, but I'd check again at +10 and if not above 90 (say in the 80s), feed some LC and then get the PMPS and post here for help if it is under 90.

Remember to shoot the new dose of 1u
 
I expect him to stay up to PMPS as the insulin is wearing off, but I'd check again at +10 and if not above 90 (say in the 80s), feed some LC and then get the PMPS and post here for help if it is under 90.

Remember to shoot the new dose of 1u
Will do. It's hard because he is a nibbler. I've tried feeding him 3 times a day to get on a better schedule, but he only eats a little at a time. I will get him to eat more by +10 for sure.
 
Back
Top