1/27 Alska AMPS=202 PMPS=337

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
He was bad this morning. He would not sit still and took off before I could give the shot. When I got him back up on the table he squirmed so much I am not at all sure where or if the needle went in. So I won't be bringing his food upstairs during test and shoot because that is clearly the only thing he wanted. My knees are hurting so badly today so I was trying to save a trip up and down the stairs. What was I thinking ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/27 Alska AMPS=202

Is there any way you can test & shoot while he's eating? What I do with Autumn since she sleeps on my chest is: Wake up, grab test kit, test, get up, call Casey to the bathroom (usually involves opening the door and patting the sink counter), prepare their shots and breakfast, then shoot both while they're whiskers deep in their bowls.

Autumn I could shoot or test whenever or anywhere I wanted to but Casey there better be food in front of his face if I want any chance of hitting the mark.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/27 Alska AMPS=202

No - when they first brought him to me, they told me to do it that way but then he got scared to go near the food bowl. I didn't want to scare him away from eating. He still cringes if I go near him while he is eating. He's good with testing but not with the shoot. He gets anxious to get the food and doesn't want to put up with the Lantus sting when he can smell food so that was definitely my mistake this morning. I am still going to consider switching to Levemir when I run out of Lantus because of the sting issue. Also, he loves the new Orijen treats (he has not liked any other dehydrated treat up until now). My civvies got a hold of the bag and depleted my stock so I don't have any right now. I should try going back to the treat-on-the-windowsill like I was doing early in his testing and shooting experience to see if he behaves better.
 
Re: 1/27 Alska AMPS=202

Max is a squirmy ball of fur if he's hungry and I'm trying to test. Otherwise, testing has gotten a lot better. I do the shot while he's eating. Last couple weeks it had gotten harder and harder, and the food wasn't enough to keep him around when I started pinch for the injection. He now gets his very favorite treat, shrimp, on top of his food and that seems to be managing it. I'm lucky Max likes his treats so much. Good luck with Alska. Hopefully, he's just letting you know he wants more of the Orijen treats. ;-)
 
Re: 1/27 Alska AMPS=202

Robin, check with me before you go to the vet. If Lucian is hanging in there and I don't think he'll need it, I have an unopened Lev Pen that you can have. That will give you a chance to check it out and see how he responds before going for a script. That was done for Lucian and I want to pay it forward to someone else.

Lucian had a yellow preshot today, been a while. :o Hopefully he'll extend his cycle time, back to 12 hr cycles. But if not, if he stays in good numbers, whatever it takes. Give us a week to see how it goes, so far it looks good.


Much Love! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/27 Alska AMPS=202

Oh thanks Debbie. Would love to try Lev. I would gladly buy it from you. Tonight's pmps confirms this morning's fur shot. He was much calmer for shot tonight probably because I didn't bring his food up so he couldn't smell it.

I have been keeping an eye on Lucians PZI condo. Love that yellow. Hopefully PZI will meet all expectations.

Holly - I wasn't able to get his treats today. Hopefully tomorrow. He is not used to getting treats during test/shoot but I did give him longer brushing time between test and shot. It really calmed him down. He loves his little lavender brush.
 
It was so much easier to tent Alska's skin when he was emaciated. Trying to find a different loose area each shot time is challenging. Does anybody else have this problem?
 
Bit of a secret for you - I don't tent. Never could get it right. I pull up skin with 1 hand, with a ridge of flesh between my thumb and index finger, holding down the fur in each direction so I can see a line of SKIN. Then lay the needle almost flat on the skin, tip down just enough to insert the point in, slide slightly and shoot. The needle is pretty much parallel under the skin.

The only time this has been an issue is the 3 or so times I have tried to do it with him in the floor and got a fur shot every time. This last one finally dawned on me. As long as he is on the foot stool, table, bed or in my lap where I can get a good visual, I have no problems. I can't get down close enough to him if he's on the floor due to my own mobility issues. You'd think I would have figured it out before now, but it hit me yesterday after a fur shot.
 
That's interesting although I am not sure I am picturing it. It sounds like you are pinching the skin up and sliding the needle through the ridge on top. I pull the skin up and then use my thumbs to part the fur. It is when I reach for the syringe that he tries to move and I have to use my forearm to hold him down and get the needle in the skin before he moves again. Does Lucian need to be strongarmed during his shot? I might try to pull up a ridge instead of trying to part. It might be much faster. Thsnks Debbie.
 
Lucian no longer even bats an eye, not for test or shot. When my nephew was here, he was watching as I tested Lucian, who was looking straight at him. When I got done, he said "Lucian didn't even blink when you did that". It's the same with the shot, except when on Lantus, because of the sting, he wasn't too happy about it.

I keep the syringe in my mouth, left to right in my lips, where the insulin is, I think it warms it a tad. Might be my imagination. :lol:

The whole V shaped tent thing, just didn't work for me. I shot thru it a couple times, stabbed myself more than once. After about a week, I found my own way to do it, knowing you have to run parallel and NOT shoot straight into the flesh. Sometimes, it takes both hands to split the fur and then hold it with 1 hand. Then I take the syringe out of my lips, taking off the cap with my teeth and it's a done deal. It's seems simpler and works for me, even if it seems weird to others. :lol:
 
Guess what I don't tent either just grab a handful of scruff like picking up a kitten momma cat style. And shoot. I don't even look for skin since I'm using short needles. I'll see if I can get Jon to run the camera and I'll video my technique and post it for you all. I never have a fur shot with mine but tenting I would get about 1 in every 6 were through and through fur shots and about half of those my finger got stuck.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I was reading through the chain thinking uh oh that's not how I do it. Then Mel posted. That's how I shoot Max, not tent really. He's too wiggly. I just grab a chunk o scruff and make sure I shoot into the skin not down. I try to move around the area of scruff, so it's a different spot. Guess we all figure out what works for our cats, but it's interesting to hear everyone's technique.
 
And Robin, you've got to tell me your secret for brushing. Max hates it and is a crazy terror about brushing. The treats don't even work. So funny... treats work for ear pokes and insulin shots, but bring out a brush and there's nothing. Max is a big fluffy Maine Coon mix and I have to either take him to a professional groomer or the vet for a comb out or lion shave. I hate shaving his beautiful fur off. Anyone have a secret? I try to be so careful so it doesn't pull, but Max will have none of it. I've probably got 5 or 6 or 8 different types of brushes to see if he would like one or the other. A cat that thinks brushing is their special treat is a mystery to me. ;-)
 
Try a comb instead of a brush. Some cats like combing better..Cut the mats out first so they don't pull. Also have you tried your own hair brush? I had to go buy a new brush because Maxwell took my old one over lol. My rule of thumb is if it hurts my scalp I won't use it on a cat.

I do shoot down...You want sub-q not sub-cup..Sub-q you are aiming for the fat between the skin and muscle..sub-cup is just under the skin. With a short needle if you lift and shoot down your not going to hit muscle and your going into the fatty layer you want. Watch a human diabetic shoot they go straight in at the top of the ridge if they are shooting into the stomach or they just shoot straight into the thigh.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I'll have to give a comb a try for sure. Thanks for the clarification on the angle. You're right I do shoot at a somewhat downward angle, just not straight down, although it sounds like with shorter syringes I could try that if I've got a good pinch of scruff. Mainly, I don't shoot straight across cause that's when I would poke through the other side. I'm not good at explaining things.
 
See? now in everything I read, it said do not shoot straight in, to use a 45 or less degree angle. I have always been so careful to run as parallel as I could. Well dang. ohmygod_smile Now I wonder if that could be the cause or contribute to Lucian's not responding well. :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top