1-27-11 Update below

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle

Member Since 2009
So...have not updated SS in a hundred years b/c EVERY DAY was same old, same old...numbers moved by the tens and all BG test became the same within 10 points of the last at that time...basically, PK had worked himself into staying between 100 and 300 on about .4u.

Because PK has been an active diabetic, OTJ and an active diabetic again, and the fact that I have been doing this for 3 years now and because Paul wears his BG levels on his outside -he is pretty predictable by behavior where his BG level is and this has been confirmed with testing time and again over 3 years, and because I have witnessed 3 hypo numbers with PK and the only symptom being his paranoia, like an OTJ cat, I actually took to doing "quality control" tests, rather than daily PS's and spot checks. (I think some of you knew that)

So a few times a week I would pick a random time to test, sometimes PS's sometimes middle of the day...always, the results were predictable between that 100ish at PS and 300ish in the middle...

...until yesterday...

Yesterday's random AMPS was 216...hmmmm? not the usual 100 ish?
then the +6 that is generally around 300+ was 250.

SO I tested this AM and picked up a 48.

I held the dose at .4u so I could get a real time idea of what was going on without throwing a dose change in the mix.

Here is today's BEAUTIFUL mini curve: (Until after PMPS!)

AMPS 48
+4 131
+6 100
+10 78
PMPS 71 (ETA)
+2 288 ( well, guess he needs a DEcrease to get back to his 100-300 track instead of 50 to 300, huh?)

(Glad I left the .4u dose so I could see what's what.)

(ETA- I shot the same .4 that I have been shooting, will test again in 2 hours to make sure we are okay for the night.)

OMG!!! THAT is just picture perfect for my little sugarsnap!!! ( KNOCKWOOD, ANTIJINX to the 3rd power!)

I am betting on a close to 50 PMPS and will know that in about an hour. (ETA- well, I was close!)

Just wanted to share... :smile:
 
Re: My Pauly's not so boring these days! (PMPS 71)

Wow, they sure know how to surprise us, don't they? At least he is still on a +12 nadir.....

So, will you decrease tomorrow?
 
Re: My Pauly's not so boring these days! (PMPS 71)

Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
So...have not updated SS in a hundred years b/c EVERY DAY was same old, same old...numbers moved by the tens and all BG test became the same within 10 points of the last at that time...basically, PK had worked himself into staying between 100 and 300 on about .4u.

Because PK has been an active diabetic, OTJ and an active diabetic again, and the fact that I have been doing this for 3 years now and because Paul wears his BG levels on his outside -he is pretty predictable by behavior where his BG level is and this has been confirmed with testing time and again over 3 years, and because I have witnessed 3 hypo numbers with PK and the only symptom being his paranoia, like an OTJ cat, I actually took to doing "quality control" tests, rather than daily PS's and spot checks. (I think some of you knew that)

So a few times a week I would pick a random time to test, sometimes PS's sometimes middle of the day...always, the results were predictable between that 100ish at PS and 300ish in the middle...

...until yesterday...

Yesterday's random AMPS was 216...hmmmm? not the usual 100 ish?
then the +6 that is generally around 300+ was 250.

SO I tested this AM and picked up a 48.

I held the dose at .4u so I could get a real time idea of what was going on without throwing a dose change in the mix.

Here is today's BEAUTIFUL mini curve: (Until after PMPS!)

AMPS 48
+4 131
+6 100
+10 78
PMPS 71 (ETA)
+2 288 ( well, guess he needs a DEcrease to get back to his 100-300 track instead of 50 to 300, huh?)

(Glad I left the .4u dose so I could see what's what.)

(ETA- I shot the same .4 that I have been shooting, will test again in 2 hours to make sure we are okay for the night.)

OMG!!! THAT is just picture perfect for my little sugarsnap!!! ( KNOCKWOOD, ANTIJINX to the 3rd power!)

I am betting on a close to 50 PMPS and will know that in about an hour. (ETA- well, I was close!)

Just wanted to share... :smile:

You are going to give me a heart attack girl, shooting on that number! But I know you know your PK. :) Thanks for sharing! Always nice to hear how PK is doing. And speaking of updating spreadsheets, I will get mine done, I will get my done, I will, I will...!

(BTW can you put a little disclaimer in there somewhere for anyone lurking?)
 
Re: My Pauly... UPDATE

So here is the last 2 days:

1-23-11AMPS 48 shot .4 as ususal (to do mini curve without messing results w/lower dose...I was home to watch, test and feed if needed)
+4 131
+6 100
+10 78
PMPS 71 shot .4u as normal
+2 288 (food spike!)

1-24-11
AMPS 191 thinking rebound from yesterday's lows...shot .3u to shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
PMPS 46 shot .2u trying to avoid more rebound and shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
+2 194 (food spike! -he'll be okay for the night I think, but I'll set alarm for +6ish)

There is nothing to be nervous about Pamela... PK has oodles of data to back up that he is a reliable food spiker- for three years- over three insulins and numerous food changes!

He has an entire year of data on Lev alone that shows he will spike after food no matter if it is 1 tsp or 6 cups, no matter what time of day or in what section of the cycle I feed him- he WILL spike. period. ;-)

Besides, I was home yesterday to test, watch and feed if needed...but it wasn't- THAT was a killer minicurve he had! If I could bottle that curve, I'd make a BUNCH of money selling it! :-D

Anyway- what do you mean, "a disclaimer"?
 
Re: My Pauly UPDATE

1-23-11
AMPS 48 shot .4 as ususal (to do mini curve without messing results w/lower dose...I was home to watch, test and feed if needed)
+4 131
+6 100
+10 78
PMPS 71 shot .4u as normal
+2 288 (food spike!)

1-24-11
AMPS 191 thinking rebound from yesterday's lows...shot .3u to shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
PMPS 46 shot .2u trying to avoid more rebound and shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
+2 194 (food spike! -he'll be okay for the night I think, but I'll set alarm for +6ish)
+4 258 (going to bed)

1-25-11
AMPS 196 shot .2u
+6 284 (more shallow, but we'll see over the next few days)
 
Re: My Pauly UPDATE

Thank you for asking...

1-23-11
AMPS 48 shot .4 as ususal (to do mini curve without messing results w/lower dose...I was home to watch, test and feed if needed)
+4 131
+6 100
+10 78
PMPS 71 shot .4u as normal
+2 288 (food spike!)


1-24-11
AMPS 191 thinking rebound from yesterday's lows...shot .3u to shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
PMPS 46 shot .2u trying to avoid more rebound and shallow out difference between nadir and food spike
+2 194 (food spike! -he'll be okay for the night I think, but I'll set alarm for +6ish)
+4 258 (going to bed)


1-25-11
AMPS 196 shot .2u
+6 284 (more shallow, but we'll see over the next few days)
+9 272
PMPS 151 shot .2u


1-26-11
AMPS 87 shot .2u
PMPS 113 shot .2u


1-27-11
AMPS 100 shot .2u
 
He sure is a +12 nadirer (is that a word?). Looks good and a little more "even".

Are you going to get a few spot checks in a few days to see how high he is going mid-cycle? I would be interesting to see if his "tops" come down with the "bottoms" or if this cause bigger swings like he is prone to. I know it takes him a while to settle though.
 
Yeah, convenient, that...PK being a +12 nadir...saves me a nadir test every day since I can get both PS and nadir at once!

I was just writing in Ann's post about Pauly's propensity to skyrocket and plummet or stay shallow in the higher numbers...he doesn't like to play by "the rules"! I am trying to get back the shallow curve by lowering the dose and so far it *seems* to be working (knockwood,antijinx) but it is too soon to tell.

yes, I will be running a curve again in a few days once the dose has settled to see how things are working out on the new dose. I did get a +5 of 212 today, though...otherwise am saving strips for when it really matter so we can stretch them to last...I wasn't "expecting" for PK to need a dose change this winter and had kind of hoped he'd stay boring as he has been for so many months so I wouldn't have to spend money I don't have...but, the animals always have different ideas than I do, so par for the course!

Thanks for asking about the curve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top