1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305 +5.5 255 +6 283 pmps 312 +3 290

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

some of you may notice the early hour of this post for me...but your such a big party maybe not.
i could NOT STAND that i fur shot my boy last night and did not want to test during the night to watch the rising numbers.
so i forced myself out of bed at 6:42 AM and tested. 430 (not too bad) and shot an hour early. I know I know...no lectures please, I will shoot at this ungodly hour from now on...the evening will be tough sometimes but i'll manage it.

Question: since tom has a dinner time at about 4:30 usually, can i shoot him at 7 and no feed for an hour or 2? This will give him his bedtime meal at the usual 8 or 9.

Oh, and I left the lev out of the frig. all night.

all in all a very successful evening. but today is new day in Lantus Land...and in Lori Land too I hope :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430

Good morning guys ... sorry about the furshot last night .. I hope tom comes down for you today ... no advice on the feeding schedule but I'm sure you'll get help with that before the day is over .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430

about the fud. no expert here and I do my own thing but I THINK it is
do not feed at least a few hours before the amps or pmps test. now,I do not where this falls when a curve is done and people feed frequent small meals. if wheezer is higher than I like, I will shoot and wait an hour or 2 or even 3 (if no work that day) and then feed. this gets the insulin in and working and handles his FOOD SPIKE. wheezer is very sensitive to insulin and to carbs. takes very little to bring him up. hell, if I ever gave him high car, we would be off the chart.
so in essence, you can test,shoot and wait a few hours to feed to get the insulin in and working.
did this answer your question?
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430

Lori, I know you won't want to hear this, but I'm going to say it anyway....you have NO pm data for the last 4 days, and therefore no data other than yesterday on this dose. It's important to get those PM spot checks, you are missing half of your data.

If you gave a fur shot, that's life, we all give them and you should just stick to your schedule as usual. Why? Because you have no idea how that fur shot affected, or didn't affect, Tom. You got no tests last night, so you don't know if he dropped or not. I've given fur shots, I was POSITIVE that Tinkles didn't get all of the insulin, but he reacted like he got the full dose. You need to test anyway.

An early shot is like a dose increase, and you just increased his dose a few cycles ago. If the fur shot doesn't act like a fur shot, and the increase kicks in this cycle, on top of shooting early, his numbers could drop out on you. Are you a little nervous yet? You should be.

This is not a smart way to work this insulin.
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430

nope Laurie I am not nervous...and I do know what your saying about the pm testing and perhaps if i was having any movement worth observing during the day I would do pm testing. I told you all I was not a pm tester when I got here so....
it's hard to imagine tom does all his movement at night ONLY.
i mean his days are fairly uneventful
and changing his hour..well, it's done sometimes. life happens and that's the way it goes. i can't be perfect and i announced that when i got here.
and please don't suggest i 'should' be nervous...i should not be. i hypo ready, i have you guys, and i've been here a while.
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305

so far so good...if i can keep up this 7/7 schedule it should be fairly easy to get a +4 pm.
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305 +5.5 255

5.5 is a 180 point drop from amps...definete movement..too much?
i have to go out for about 2 hours...i think it's safe?
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305 +5.5 255

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat I am not one who can give advice.. but if it were my kitty.. I would feel MORE than OK to go out for a few hours ;-)
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305 +5.5 255

well nicole, careful mommie that i am i waited 1/2 hour to test again and he gave me 283 (just a nice way to say, go ahead mommie, i be ok) and i see he has a nice way of double dipping so he may have gone down again but i want to hold off testing till his pmps.
he only has one bleeding ear (other ear torn in cat fight years ago and does not bleed) so i really hate to wear out his one good ear!
 
Re: 1/26 TOM amps 430 +4 305 +5.5 255 +6 283 pmps 312

today was so nice it's almost as if he never got a fur shot..but i saw it! so now i wonder how nice it would have been with no fur shot????
will be checking +3 maybe +4 tonight...and up agian at 7 tomorow. i could grow to like this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top