1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128, +9 58, PMPS 72, +5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62007

Good Morning, Everyone,

Rusty was low already last night at onset (bg 54 at +4--[onset with Lev. is later than with Lantus]), so I set an alarm for +7 to test him. Result: bg 53. I debated whether or not to give him some food and decided on a small amount of FF T&G. But Rusty, who I had to wake up for his test, wasn't in the mood for food then, so I left it set out for him. He woke me with a kiss of turkey breath at +10.5. So I guess I can attribute this morning's AMPS to a combination of bounce and FF T&G 1.5 hours before AMPS.
Question:
I'm not sure if I should stay with this "slightly skinny" 1.50 dose. He's been on it for 6 cycles (this morning began cycle #7). We've had some rather low nadirs, but also some bounces. I would appreciate experienced eyes on Rusty's SS to help determine: 1) should I stay with this slightly skinny (ss)1.5 dose a little longer?; 2) should I go back up to a "regular" 1.5 or to the "lightly fat" (lf) 1.5 to try to even out the curve?; 3) should I go down a notch to a fat 1.25 to try to even out the curve?
I don't know how to factor the switch from the FreeStyleLite to the Relion Micro on Jan. 17th into a decision. The curve seemed less volatile on the FSL, but Rusty's dose was slightly higher then.

Opinion and advice are much appreciated!!

I think we did see the Northern Lights behind the cloud cover last night. The sky to the north was indeed pink. Tonight we are supposed to have snow, sleet and freezing rain. We might not see the Lights. We will be at a "pizza and games" party with our group of friends and we all will be looking for the Lights (Linda: this will be party #3).

Off now to see if Rusty wants a game.

Healing vines to all of our kitties who need some,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143 Eyes please.

Hi guys .. hmm .. no dosing advice from me .. this 143 isn't a bad start, but I think rusty is going to bring in some more greens today .. right rusty? Enjoy your pizza and game night tonight .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143 Eyes please.

Lowering the dose doesn't "even out" a bounce. Because the Lantus dose is worked up to a level systematically, reducing the dose will only serve to bring all of the numbers up higher. IMHO, you would be better off monitoring and feeding to prevent the low than lowering the dose.
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143

Nothing like kitty turkey breath in the face first thing in the morning!!!! I love how a lot of our kitties know when they need to eat. I can tell by the way Champ is sleeping, what position he's in, as to whether I need to test him or not.

Sounds like you have a great time planned for tonight. I wish I lived in your neck of the woods....I'd be right over!!!
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143

Yeah, I liked that turkey breath too! Could have been worse. At least you didn't leave tuna for him. Or am I unique in hating tuna breath? Good luck with the dosing issue. Got keep the great blue greens coming.
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

I think stick w/ the dose too. After all you had low 50s last night, but he hasn't earned the reduction yet. The longer he stays at a dose the more chance of healing for the beta cells. We just have to wait out the bouncing. Have you tried just LC when Rusty is in that range . close to the nadir? Just a little food will help to bring him up. Rusty do love hin some T&G, though! :lol: :lol:

Bummer on the clod cover, I've only gotten to see the Northern lights a couple of times. I hope you hace better luck tonight.
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

Hi again, Thanks everyone for stopping by and thanks Sienne and Ann for your thoughts on Rusty's dose. I am definitely going to stick with this dose. Today seems to be a "rest" day. Ann, I usually give him normal LC. T&G is a little bit higher, but not so much higher (I calculate it at about 7%, vs. Wellness 4%). When I give him T&G he only gets a teaspoonful, rarely 2. But in general he doesn't get anything to eat after the bedtime food is set out at PMPS +4.5. He usually eats it all at once! He usually sleeps through the night.
Got to take Edward to the chiropractor now. bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

Turkey breathe wake - up call! love that. Good job Rusty. :lol: :lol: FWIW: I think holding the dose is a good decision. It is what I'd do, maybe feed the lows to bring him up. It sounds like you are already doing that. Ok Rusty - no more bouncing - make it easier on your bean.

Pizza night! Sounds great - have a good time!
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
I think we did see the Northern Lights behind the cloud cover last night. The sky to the north was indeed pink. Tonight we are supposed to have snow, sleet and freezing rain. We might not see the Lights. We will be at a "pizza and games" party with our group of friends and we all will be looking for the Lights (Linda: this will be party #3).

Hi Ella,
You are making excellent progress with the parties (and with Rusty, too, of course). I think I would have more luck keeping up with you on snowshoes than I would on keeping up with your social whirl.

I have never seen the Northern Lights. I would love to see them. I was sorry to read in your condo that they are having trouble getting the ice palace finished. It has been a very odd weather year. My lawn has never looked better. I can't remember having so many days above freezing in January. I think it's my fault, as this is the first year I have hired someone to shovel my driveway (and paid in advance). Naturally, it won't snow here now.

Not much news here: a winter virus, a bruised and stitched face from a face plant, and one exam down/one to go. Pizza and games sound good about now.

Have a great time tonight!
Linda
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

Hi Ella:

I agree that you could leave him here a few more cycles and see what he does. If he's trending higher on his numbers or the bounces aren't flattening out, then you could take him up a hair and, as Sienne said, use food to control the lows.

I love Northern Lights...used to see them all the time when we lived in AK. I hope your pizza and games party is really, really fun!!!
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128

Mr Russman...pay attention!
you avoided a dosecrease here...
NOW WORK THAT INSULIN!

Ella- I LOVE your social whirl!

And Linda! read about your accident on FB... OUCH!
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128, +9 58

Hey Linda, As you know, I don't do FaceBook, so I didn't hear about your "face plant" until now. Sending healing vines for your face and for the winter flu bug, good-luck vines for the next exam (the last one?), and wishes that you get some snow so as not to have wasted all that money on the shoveler!! Wish you were here. We'll remember you to the gang tonight.

Rusty sends greetings to Pinky,

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty (and Edward, who is about to enjoy the violinist video)
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128, +9 58

Hi Ella, that's not a bad bounce for the FF T & G breath! :-D I have to laugh at the thought of turkey breath in your face wake up call! Good luck with whatever you decide. Thanks for that info on the Heimlich Maneuver in Maggie's yesterday condo. Enjoy the pizza party.
 
Re: 1/26 Rusty AMPS 143, +5 128, +9 58

I always think of what great numbers Rusty has, and I know you like him nice & low blue & green, so I would agree with Sienne & Think you should stay at this dose a bit longer--You know Rusty often hears what you say here so maybe he will read this post & comply :cool: Or maybe they sense what we are feeling about their numbers??
After that 47 he got, you need to wait a few more cycles..Such a very green SS!! Very nice :mrgreen:

I never have seen the Northern lights but would love to!!! Send some pix if you can! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Hi again, everyone,
Thanks so much for visiting. Sorry I couldn't get to any condos tonight. The pizza/game party began at 5 P.M. Edward got a ride with friends to the party (about 1/2 hour drive), and I stayed home to give Rusty his PMPS, dinner, and shot before leaving for the party. Shot 1/2 hour early and will gradually move up his dose over the next few days so that it is 1 1/2 hours earlier on Tuesday, the night we go to the opera (Wagner's Götterdämmerung, which is over 5 hours long and begins at 6 P.M.) Originally I was going to give a "fur" shot on Tuesday evening, but then decided that it would be better for Rusty not to miss a shot, especially since the trip to NYC always messes with his bgs.

Our party tonight was so much fun. I played a Canadian game called Crokinole--sort of like curling or bocce on a game table. Fun for all! The pizza (homemade) was delicious. Our host, who is a dedicated amateur chef, made 8 or 9 pizzas, taking requests for what we wanted on them. Our group numbered 16 or 17. The party was in a modern log house in the woods.
No Northern Lights to be seen. We are having a snowstorm/sleet storm. Winter weather advisory for the next 24 hours.

Ni ni everyone. Catch you tomorrow. Hope all is well in LL.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top