? 1/26 RICO AMPS 81, +3 73, +6 71, +9 79, PMPS 97 - question about depot building & fPLi Test

The initial Lantus depot takes a week to build after starting a cat on Lantus.

His numbers are looking great and his nadirs are in the range you want them to be (50-80), so you would continue to hold the dose.

He would earn a reduction by other dropping below 40 (I remember your saying that you want to do 50 rather than 40) or by spending a week in normal numbers. He's almost there but for a few pesky blues (which are mostly within meter variance of green!).

When does he get fed? I wonder whether a snack at +8/+9 in both cycles will help bring down the preshots to green. Is that something you can do? Do you have a timed autofeeder that he will eat from?
 
The initial Lantus depot takes a week to build after starting a cat on Lantus.

His numbers are looking great and his nadirs are in the range you want them to be (50-80), so you would continue to hold the dose.

He would earn a reduction by other dropping below 40 (I remember your saying that you want to do 50 rather than 40) or by spending a week in normal numbers. He's almost there but for a few pesky blues (which are mostly within meter variance of green!).

When does he get fed? I wonder whether a snack at +8/+9 in both cycles will help bring down the preshots to green. Is that something you can do? Do you have a timed autofeeder that he will eat from?

I feed him every 3 or 4 hours (Animonda Protect Diabetes). The last feed is at +9 before PMPS but at +5 before the AMPS. I have an autofeeder but also 4 more cats in the house! :D
 
@tiffmaxee

I spoke with Yanna earlier today and arranged to take Rico to the vet she goes to so that he has a full pancreatic test (including fPLi & EPI). The sample will be sent to Germany so, there will be over a month until I get the results. How do I treat Rico in the meantime? Any changes in his diet?
 
There are no diet changes for pancreatitis, mostly supportive meds as listed in this post: A Primer On Pancreatitis. As long as he is eating well, you may not need to do anything for pancreatitis. EPI is treated with pancreas enzymes, like the ones the other vet wanted you to give. Is Rico losing weight? Do his stools look normal?
 
There are no diet changes for pancreatitis, mostly supportive meds as listed in this post: A Primer On Pancreatitis. As long as he is eating well, you may not need to do anything for pancreatitis. EPI is treated with pancreas enzymes, like the ones the other vet wanted you to give. Is Rico losing weight? Do his stools look normal?

Yeap! Eating, weight increased by 100gr and stools are fine. Dehydration is still an issue - he never was into drinking a lot of water (except of when his BG was too high!). I keep on adding water in his food.
 
All the EPI symptom's I've seen include things like diarrhea and very common to have odd coloured stools, lots of them, which can mean weight loss. I'm glad you found another vet willing to test for it.
 
Please remind me what the symptoms were that made us think EPI and pancreatitis? The tests won’t show if pancreatitis is not active. If acting normal I would not test further.
 
Please remind me what the symptoms were that made us think EPI and pancreatitis? The tests won’t show if pancreatitis is not active. If acting normal I would not test further.

There were no symptoms. The first vet gave me some meds that I posted about and Wendy said that they were good only in case of EPI otherwise they might harm the pancreas. That's how the whole discussion about whether it is or isn't EPI started.
 
Please remind me what the symptoms were that made us think EPI and pancreatitis? The tests won’t show if pancreatitis is not active. If acting normal I would not test further.

So, you suggest I shouldn't have the fPL test? How about his high ALT? Could it be because of the cortizone? It has risen every time after such shots.
 
So, you suggest I shouldn't have the fPL test? How about his high ALT? Could it be because of the cortizone? It has risen every time after such shots.

If pancreatitis symptoms are not present you run the risk of a false negative.
Why is he getting cortisone injections and how often? It’s not in your signature.
 
There were no symptoms. The first vet gave me some meds that I posted about and Wendy said that they were good only in case of EPI otherwise they might harm the pancreas. That's how the whole discussion about whether it is or isn't EPI started.
So he’s treating based upon labs that are not really warranting treatment. I do think it’s a good idea to see a new vet especially if he’s getting unneeded shots of cortisone. It just might b3 best to hold off on tests for pancreatitis and without signs if EPI that too. Cortisone could be masking symptoms and many cats eat and drink more when on it.
 
If pancreatitis symptoms are not present you run the risk of a false negative.
Why is he getting cortisone injections and how often? It’s not in your signature.

Rico's vet considers antibiotics + cortisone to be a "set". Every time he's had a problem with his teeth, he also gave him cortisone. Last time was 1/7 this year.
I have planned the fPL test for 2/8. Do you think the cortisone effect will be totally off his system by then so that I could have vadid results?
 
I don’t know how long but I think you need to wait longer than that for it to leave his system. If he were my cat I would look for alternatives to steroids. What is the issue with his teeth? TVs steroid use likely what has likely caused him to come out of remission. Does he need a dental? Has he had X-rays?
 
I don’t know how long but I think you need to wait longer than that for it to leave his system. If he were my cat I would look for alternatives to steroids. What is the issue with his teeth? TVs steroid use likely what has likely caused him to come out of remission. Does he need a dental? Has he had X-rays?

He had 4 teeth extracted and full dental cleaning April 2024. Right after that he got into remission. This time the vet found his teeth OK but his gums were sore, hence the coctail of antibiotics & cortisone. You're right - this brought him out of remission. We have an appointment with a specialised dentist on Wednesday morning to get Xrays and more detailed information. I will upoload all the details. Thank you for all the help!! <3
 
He had 4 teeth extracted and full dental cleaning April 2024. Right after that he got into remission. This time the vet found his teeth OK but his gums were sore, hence the coctail of antibiotics & cortisone. You're right - this brought him out of remission. We have an appointment with a specialised dentist on Wednesday morning to get Xrays and more detailed information. I will upoload all the details. Thank you for all the help!! <3
My cat went into remission quickly (the first time) once he was off of steroids.
 
Back
Top