1/26 - Gen, AMPS >400, +3 318, +5 276, PMPS >400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Good morning, friends. I hope you're all doing well, and that nobody has lost power or suffered other mishaps from the snowstorm that hit quite a few of us in the US and Canada. Safe surfs to the kitties today!

I slept very badly, probably because my apartment is so hot (the irony), and Gen was pestering me every time I woke up a little all night. (I'm starting to wonder if I should ease back on the mirataz a little.) He's very very demanding about food, and eats hungrily at first, but doesn't tend to eat much in the first "sitting" - less than feels quite normal. I'm giving him the ondansetron (which he gets 2x daily) at food time, so it probably kicks in a couple of hours later, and he's ultimately eating virtually all his food. I hope the underlying need for these meds eases up soon, though. Another thing to discuss with my vet on Wednesday.

I also was too groggy to think, and forgot that I wanted to increase his dose this morning, but I will tonight.

Pilling is getting a little easier, though he reacts most negatively to having water squirted into his mouth (even correctly angled to the side). I've been making sure to give him a treat right after to hopefully guarantee that the pill goes all the way down and make the experience less upsetting.

Okay, it's a snow day, so I am going back to bed for a bit! (With the window cracked open even though it's 15 degrees out and "feels like 2," because it's still 80 in here and I can't. So grumpy. 😣)
 
Gen finished off all his AM food very early and was yelling for more, so I just gave him a snack ... has anyone reduced or skipped Mirataz doses when it seems like their cats may be a bit too hungry? 😅
I know others have said they reduce the dose if it seems he's doing maybe "too well" or is too hungry.
Some just use a tiny dose, if needed. It's really trial and error to see what he needs.

But very glad he's eating!!

Enjoy the snow day, stay cozy with your handsome boy! :kiss: 🥰
 
Gen finished off all his AM food very early and was yelling for more, so I just gave him a snack ... has anyone reduced or skipped Mirataz doses when it seems like their cats may be a bit too hungry? 😅
I think its a good idea to play around with the dose and frequency. Even when he wasn't doing great with pancreatitis, the full dose given at the vet made his appetite insatiable. I reduced the dose to half of what was on the box and he still couldn't get enough to eat.

I've been giving Xander the tiniest dose on and off every few days to help him eat more regularly (and for my own sanity). A dose even as small as a grain of rice seems to help out a lot without making him starving. Every cat is different, but the effects seem to last over 24 hours for him.
 
I only gave Jude 1/2 dose of the Mirataz. I was too worried that he might experience some of the negative side-effects I'd heard about. The 1/2 dose worked fine for Jude. Oddly, and completely unrelated, but I'll mention it for informational purposes, another thing that boosted Jude's appetite was 1/2 tab Zyrtec. Elise had mentioned it to me. Tim and Pookey use it daily but said it doesn't function as an appetite stimulant for him.
 
I too regretted giving the full Mirataz dose suggested by the vet, but just once. After that I backed down to effective but not yowling. Current kitty is a kidney kitty, and the recommendation there is every other day, though I've stretched it longer when it's even needed.
 
Well, I tried halving the mirataz dose tonight, so we'll see how that does. I have to go to the office tomorrow, and I do need him to eat, as it would be hard to rush home on transit in all this snow. (I can't seem to find a total for my area yet, but we absolutely got at least a foot, and probably more like 18".)

Then Wednesday morning we see the vet, so we can check in with her about everything.

Thanks for all your thoughts, friends. Goodnight!

PXL_20260126_234812643.jpg
 
Last edited:
Back
Top