1/26 Fiefel +12 55 +12.75 79

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55

No I'm not, my boyfriend is but he's not quite as attentive.. I'm leaving for work in 40 minutes, and come home on the lunch hour
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55

Good to know. Does your husband have your login just in case? Do you have the low numbers thread printed out in case you have a hypo? (and a hypo kit with high carb and karo)?
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55

I'm re-reading the Dealing with Low Numbers posting, I fed Fiefel half of his normal breakfast after testing... should I have withheld it? He wouldn't have been very happy with me, but would it have been better to see where his numbers are going?
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55

Hi Jackie, I haven't posted in your condo yet...welcome to LL!

You mentioned using an Alpha Trak meter, if so this is a very low number. Have you shot yet? If not, I would not shoot yet. Please retest and post the number. I'm actually glad that you fed, but depending on the retest number, you might want to give high carb food.

Alpha Trak meters read higher, 80=50 on the human meters that most of us use, so as you can see, that is a very low number. A number below 80 earns Fiefel a dose decrease to 0.75u, so that would be your new dose when you do shoot.
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

Tested again, approximately 50 minutes later, and he's at 79 - but as I just mentioned he did get half his normal breakfast (1/4 of 5.5oz can)

No insulin given yet, I can wait another 15min or so and test again..
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

Like Laurie said, this is still too low to shoot, especially since there's food behind the number.

Is your boyfriend able/willing to log in here if we need to stall further and you need to leave for work? And when you mention that he's not as attentive, does that mean he may forget to test?
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

I strongly suggest that you put the fact that you are using an Alpha Trak meter in your signature...it's VERY important for people to know this when they are helping you!
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

Hi Jackie!
So glad you mentioned the Alpha Trak~~it makes a big difference...
Good job this morning! That is a very low AMPS....and as Laurie said, that earned a dose reduction for Fiefel...
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

Actually, that 55 won't be your "AMPS" now since you didn't shoot. It will be called a +12 or AMBG .
Tonight's shot will be your +24 since you haven't given insulin for 24 hours, right?
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel AMPS 55 +.75 79

I wouldn't shoot a 79 either. I'd skip the shot today.

You actually did good feeding the 55 but I would have fed higher carb food if you are using the alphatrak. That is a hypo. Most of us use human meters which read 30-40 points higher than an alphatrak and the instructions are for human meters. So you have to be aware of this. When we say 50 - thats human meter and if you have a 50 its much lower than ours.
 
Re: 1/26 Fiefel +12 55 +12.75 79 +13 79

Okay high carb (food with gravy) on hand - glad to have a grocery store 2 minutes away - did one more test before running out the door to work, and he was still at 79. Morning shot was skipped... My boyfriend will test when need be, do as directed, etc, but its just quite laid back and assumes when Fiefel is happy and playing, he must be ok!


So tonight, at +24, I will give Fiefel .75u
 
I think it was wise to skip this morning. Thanks for updating your signature to show the AT meter, and updating the header. I assume that you gave Fiefel the rest of his breakfast, I would have your BF test him again now and see if he is higher. The 79 is equivalent to a 49 on a human meter, and it would be better for him to surf a little higher. It would be good to make sure he gets above 80 and doesn't drop back down after the food spike wears off. If he does drop back down or isn't rising, I would have your BF give him a tsp of the HC gravy and then retest after 20-30 minutes.

I know that the post on dealing with low PS numbers says not to feed if you are stalling, and that's correct. However, the PS # you saw this morning was equivalent to a 25 on a human meter, and you absolutely want to feed a 25. If you had not already fed, I would have suggested HC instead of his regular food. If he continues to stay below 80, you will want to give him a little HC food to bring him up a little. It's ok to surf above 80, but not below, ok?

Since you are using an AT, you will need to keep in mind that any of the numbers that are referred to here that are not specifically identified as being AT numbers will be numbers that relate to human meters....your meter reads 30 points higher, so you will need to remember to subtract 30 pts from your tests to relate to the guidelines, ok? It's important to remember that, and for others to know that you use the AT because they would think that a 55 is not a big deal...when it is a very low number for an AT meter!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top