? 1/26 Edward 119@+12, 132@+12.25, 153@+1, 149@+2

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
Happy Sunday, everyone!

I figured I’d just check in early today, as Edward seems to be on his way to greens again at his nadir. It’s beautiful to see him responding so well, but it makes me a bit anxious about the evening dose (diabetic kitty + general anxiety is a rough combination, I’ve learned). I’ve read the dosing stickies several times, but I’m still unclear as to guidelines on when to reduce dose. I’d appreciate any clarification anyone would be kind enough to offer. Thank you. EDITED TO ADD: could his recent greens just be due to the slightly higher dose he was on for a few days? Ugh, so confusing.
 
You reduce when Edward goes under 50 or if he spends a week in good numbers (under 100). I know that's vague but I'd think if he's giving lower PS numbers and his nadirs are under 90, you could attempt a reduction.

could his recent greens just be due to the slightly higher dose he was on for a few days? Ugh, so confusing.
I'm assuming the experts told you to hold the 1 unit for a week since Edward just started Lantus and that's why you reduced back to 1 unit?

I can't answer that question with confidence but I think the 1 unit depot is still rebuilding. Keep holding the dose! Edward is doing spectacularly! You should see some kitties (aka mine) who bounced all the way to reds/blacks when they sniffed a bit of green in the beginning.
 
Here's your link to yesterday's thread. (Please remember to link the previous day to today's thread.)

The general rule for those following TR is that a drop to below 50 warrants a dose reduction in a cat that is newly diagnosed. There are variations, though. For example, if your cat is in normal numbers for a week, you can reduce the dose.

One thing to keep in mind is that you skipped Edward's dose last night. Ordinarily, you hold a given dose for 3 days if nadirs are largely above 300 or for 5 days if nadirs are mostly below 300. With any change in dose or with a skipped shot, fur shot, etc., the cycle count starts over.
 
@Crista & Ming - that is correct about the 1u... I made a misstep, but we are back on track with e advice of the amazing people here. Oh my... reds/black would be quite alarming to see! I hope your Ming stays safe in the dark greens/blues today <3

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) - Thank you for that clarification! I'm still just trying to wrap my frazzled mind around everything. I'm even dreaming about shots and tests and mistakes now, no joke.

Steady as she goes!
 
He hasn’t had any food for at least 2 hours, and his PMPS is 119. Should I shoot at usual dose of 1u? Stall, withhold food, and retest in 15 minutes? It is so hard to know what to do.
 
To clarify - yes to stall/withhold food? What number would we want to see in order to shoot full 1u?
 
Yes, don't feed and test in 15 minutes.

With TR, you can shoot any number above 50. It's really about how comfortable you are and ready you are. Do you have lots of HC, MC, honey, and strips? If he's staying the same or rising, I would shoot the full dose. If you're comfortable, a reduced dose would help since you are quite new to the sugar dance.
 
He is at 132 BG, 15 minutes after. Looks like he’s climbing and I should feed and shoot full dose? Or maybe .75 just to be safe? And then monitor?
 
OK. So he has to eat in order for the dose, right? He’s being a bit stubborn about eating... but once he eats, I will shoot 1u (maybe a lil on the skinny side, for my own peace of mind). I will get +1 and +2 and take it from there...
 
Yes, it would help if he ate, but if he decides to eat it slowly and takes him an hour to eat it, that's fine too.

Lantus is a little different. Traditionally, vets used insulins like Vetsulin which required a large meal since it would work quite quickly after injecting. However, since onset is about +2 for Lantus (in most cats), eating an entire meal all at once isn't as important. But it's still encouraged. Many of us inject insulin while kitty's head is in the food bowl.

Because I know Ming, I sometimes shoot him before I give him his food because he's one of those grazers. He'll eat a bit, then go potty, then come eat some more. I don't have time to watch him eat for an hour lol!!!! But I feel confident doing that because I know him and his onset and his patterns. (Of course, sometimes he throws curve balls at me... like today.)

Do you think he'll want to eat later? Does he like HC?
 
My Edward is the same - graze, potty, graze, groom, graze, nap... LOL. I sprinkled some dried chicken on his food and his appetite sparked right up! So I gave him a fat .75u (kind of between .75 and 1) while he was eating, just because I’m a chicken and still so new to this. Will test again in and hour and two hours. Hopeful that all will go smoothly. (I do have supplies on hand just in case)
 
Awesome!! With time and more data, you'll eventually become more confident with shooting lower numbers :)

Good job tonight! Looking forward to Edward's numbers tonight. I hope he surfs nicely but also lets you sleep ;)
 
If I understand your notes in the SS, you stalled 15min, number came up to 132 and you shot? If yes, can you please stack the numbers in the PMPS box like: 119 @ +12, 132 @ +12.25. And another favour, many of us scan the titles first, so if you can keep your title updated with the latest tests, that will help us keep an eye out for you.

Please test again at +2, your +1 of 153 is still very much within meter variance to your +12.25, not much of a food bump.
 
Flat is good! Edward will likely come down mid cycle, but it shouldn't be a very active cycle. Depending on your normal feeding schedule, you might want to also get one more test, maybe say around +4 just to be sure he doesn't have anything crazy in mind. Those are just my suggestions, we have an unwritten rule here that the person who encourages you to shoot a lower than usual preshot will stay with you, but I'm happy to offer my thoughts in the meantime. I do have an early start for work tomorrow, however, so I won't see your next test. Edward is looking good today :cool:
 
@Christie & Maverick thanks for chiming in at such a late hour! I have my fingers crossed that he stays smooth and doesn’t take a steep dive. Do you think a +4 and maybe a +6 would suffice? Can I skip the +3 to give his ears a break? I can set alarms for myself. I am already up way pst my bedtime, LOL - and Edward’s too.
 
I'd do a +4, and you could feed a little low carb snack now if you haven't already. Again, not sure of your usual feeding schedule, but I'm a big fan of minimeals earlier in the cycle.
 
OK, we will try for a snack and test at +4! I appreciate the guidance.

I put down a full meal twice a day at dose times, which the cats graze on for hours (sometimes with added protein treats or forti-flora toppers), plus two smaller meals, late-night and mid-afternoon. I pick up all food 1.5-2 hours before doses.
 
Back
Top