1/26 Chispa, 202 AMPS, 145 +4

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Happy Friday from cold, gray, slushy Maine!

Chispa had a successful vet visit/recheck on Wednesday to monitor her progress since switching to a chicken-free diet a little over a month ago. The internist had hoped her Spec FPL (pancreatitis indicator) would come down to a normal level, but the high end of normal is 4 and hers was 50, same as a month ago, so obviously she has a long way to go. But the fact that we've been able to cut her insulin dose from 2.25 to 0.75 is apparently a good sign, even in the context of tolerating higher numbers after switching to SLGS. He wants me to try cutting her prednisolone dose in half, which would be a step toward getting her off of insulin if it can be done successfully.

The vet said her ideal nadirs should be 100-150, similar to SLGS. Looking at her SS, the numbers are trending upwards this week, so I increased from 0.75 to 1 unit this morning. Hopefully she'll come down a bit.

Wishing everyone a happy start to the weekend!
 
Happy Friday from cold, gray, slushy Maine!

Chispa had a successful vet visit/recheck on Wednesday to monitor her progress since switching to a chicken-free diet a little over a month ago. The internist had hoped her Spec FPL (pancreatitis indicator) would come down to a normal level, but the high end of normal is 4 and hers was 50, same as a month ago, so obviously she has a long way to go. But the fact that we've been able to cut her insulin dose from 2.25 to 0.75 is apparently a good sign, even in the context of tolerating higher numbers after switching to SLGS. He wants me to try cutting her prednisolone dose in half, which would be a step toward getting her off of insulin if it can be done successfully.

The vet said her ideal nadirs should be 100-150, similar to SLGS. Looking at her SS, the numbers are trending upwards this week, so I increased from 0.75 to 1 unit this morning. Hopefully she'll come down a bit.

Wishing everyone a happy start to the weekend!
Hi Karen, glad things are going well for Chispa. Less insulin is great. Even if a slight increase. She’s doing really nicely. Good luck with cutting that pred dose. Hope that helps.
Have a nice weekend and good luck with the bump up in her dose.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Karen :)
Great news about the vet visit. progress is good even if it's not as fast as we want it :bighug:
Congrats with the increase. Paws crossed Chispa will get to better numbers with a lightly increased dose :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Karen, glad things are going well for Chispa. Less insulin is great. Even if a slight increase. She’s doing really nicely. Good luck with cutting that pred dose. Hope that helps.
Have a nice weekend and good luck with the bump up in her dose.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci -- Chispa and I both appreciate the encouragement. Hope your weekend's off to a great start!:bighug::cat::coffee::bighug:
 
I see a partial fur shot recently. That also would mean temporary higher numbers. Good luck with the new insulin dose. And better luck with the reduced pred dose. I've found that one to be much harder with my IBD girl.
Hi Wendy -- Thanks for this. Last night's 103, only three cycles into the new dose, makes me think I might have to reduce again ... we'll see.

I am skeptical about reducing the pred, since last time I tried, she almost immediately started vomiting and licking her fur off. The vet said we could try Budesonide, but I don't think it would address the itching. But if his theory is correct and it was a chicken allergy, it shouldn't be an issue, right?

Happy weekend to you! :bighug::coffee::cat:
 
Hi Karen, Happy to hear Chispa had a successful recheck at the vets.
Good luck with the increase , I hope you'll see some lower Pre shots and some dark greens .:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Good morning, Diane! Thanks for your good wishes. I know we are not supposed to give too much weight to preshots, but I didn't love that string of yellows, either.

Hope you and Tyler are staying cozy this weekend! There's nothing but gray in our forecast up here. Chispa thinks it's a great opportunity for a nap, but she thinks that about everything.:bighug::cat:;):bighug:
 
Hi Karen :)
Great news about the vet visit. progress is good even if it's not as fast as we want it :bighug:
Congrats with the increase. Paws crossed Chispa will get to better numbers with a lightly increased dose :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly -- thanks for your good wishes! I'm going to show Fistuk's spreadsheet to Chispa for inspiration.:cool::D Glad to see that the Solensia is helping -- that is great news. Happy weekend to you! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
How's life in Maine? Any sign of spring yet?
Hope this finds you well and happy! :bighug:
Hahaha -- oh, Kit ... there is definitely no sign of spring up here, and I am telling myself not to even look for it until, I don't know, end of April? Early May??? :arghh:

I drove to the DMV yesterday morning through rain that turned to sleet that turned to the dreaded "wintery mix," to transfer my out-of-state license -- they technically give you 30 days, and it's been 6 months already. The whole way there, I was thinking, "This is stupid. I should turn around." But the thought of getting there when it would be empty because no one else would be dumb enough to be on the road proved too tempting, and I was in and out in less than twenty minutes. I am trying to look on the bright side.

Hope you and sweet Mikan are staying cozy! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hahaha -- oh, Kit ... there is definitely no sign of spring up here, and I am telling myself not to even look for it until, I don't know, end of April? Early May??? :arghh:

I drove to the DMV yesterday morning through rain that turned to sleet that turned to the dreaded "wintery mix," to transfer my out-of-state license -- they technically give you 30 days, and it's been 6 months already. The whole way there, I was thinking, "This is stupid. I should turn around." But the thought of getting there when it would be empty because no one else would be dumb enough to be on the road proved too tempting, and I was in and out in less than twenty minutes. I am trying to look on the bright side.

Hope you and sweet Mikan are staying cozy! :bighug::cat::bighug:
That’s hilarious, Karen!! I’m just so glad you were safe in those awful driving conditions!! ;)
 
Back
Top