1/26 Checkers pmps 399 +1/306 +2/226 +3/124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62030
Good Morning LL
All is fine in Checkers' world. Started a new pen today. I found out last night, I had been using last month's, after I had already started a new one last week. Don't know how it happened, but it's in the trash now, and new one is marked with date.
Even so, it was only in use for less than a month, but I didn't trust it, and we're getting better numbers today, with the new one.

Did I mention, I gave up trying to do a Google SS? Every time I go to Google anything, I end up having to reboot.
Facebook does the same thing.
Pity party....pity party. :lol:
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers amps 346..+2/105..+3/61

Whoa, nelly!!!! Look at Chex go!!! That's one of those heart stopping descents!! Here's hoping for a nice safe green surf!!

I had the same problem with my computer until it finally gave up the ghost and I was forced to get a "new" one. Actually, it was my daughter's computer (way better than mine), but she never used it anymore because she got a laptap a couple years ago so I took it over. It had a bigger processor and more memory and it has made a world of difference. Getting on the internet is no longer a pain in my rear!!

Have a great day, Barb!!!
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers amps 346..+2/105..+3/61

Hi guys .. well look at checkers go! Slow down little man .. take time to enjoy the greenery! Sorry barb, I know dial up is a pain .. I couldn't imagine dealing with that slowness .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers amps 346..+2/105..+3/61 +3.75/46

Hmmm, guess the new pen did the trick. I didn't expect the 46, 'cause at +3, I had to grab the dish of kibble from him. I thought he got a few....guess not.
So at almost +4, he had a teaspoon of gravy food. I suppose I can expect a red pmps. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers amps 346..+2/105..+3/61 +3.75/46

Stop the diving Checkers! No boucing either! Drift up into the blue and hang there, please.

Yep, bad pen.
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers amps 346..+2/105..+3/61 +3.75/46

WHOA!!!!!!!!

whoa.png


WONDERFUL on the pen mix-up...now we know why the wonky numbers!
I did that twice with Binks...somehow my upbringing encouraged me to keep ALL his medical stuff around :roll:

I think this is great, Barb!
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need dose advice for PM

What's that expression? Know thy cat? This is not unexpected.....So now what do I do to prevent this tonight/tomorrow??Feed higher carb breakfast?
Reduce again ? He has been on 1 unit, for 9 cycles....increased from .75
This is new pen this morning

346....amps 1u. (one) LC breffis
105...+2
61.....+3...LC
46...+3.75....1teas gravy +food
50....+4.....no food, napping
98....+5
141....+6
430....+11

I have half hour to shot......reduce??? Give carb for meal?
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

oops, I'll repost the link
I knew he dropped too fast this morning. Darn.

Obviously I'm trying to avoid a huge drop and bounce, tonight and tomorroe
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

Ok...back.

So he hasn't earned a reduction yet...he needs three times under 50 or once under 40. So I think what you are asking is should you reduce the dose because of the dive/bounce? My answer would be "no". We had a really great discussion on Champ's condo yesterday about the same thing.

Great that you got a +2 and at that point in time, I would have started giving him a higher carb food. How high? That depends on Checkers....ECID :-D
Because Gabby is sensitive to gluten, Sienne gives her honey early in the cycle when she starts to dive...take a look at her SS. Sienne has done wonders with her.

What you want to try and do is flatten the curve with food and then figure out whether they need more insulin at that point. I always love the illustration Jill gave me a long time ago on our condo for Gracie:

manage the curve with food ---> flatten the curve -------> adjust the dose, if necessary

So if you feed a little higher carb (note...higher not HIGH) food and try to do it early in the cycle to flatten the curve, then you can judge the dose and whether it should go up or down.

As a newbie, I fed Gracie 0-2% food. Between increasing the carbs to 4% and feeding to frontload at PS, +2, +2, +3, it did help those dives. THey didn't go entirely away, but it helped. And of course, the thing that helped to flatten her out more was switching to lev but that is not always the best option for the bean...and maybe not the kitty either.

Does any of that help?

ETA: here's the link to Champ's great condo from yesterday: Champ's 1/25 condo
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

That sounds right on...
when binks was still bouncing, feeding some MC when he started down at +1 or +2 seemed to flatten out the cycles,
and the mini-meals at shot time, +1, +2, and +3 seemed to really do the trick.

Chex, you handsome devil...you are driving Barbie-Doll NUTS, buddy!
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

Actually Yes, Marje. I was discussing Sienne's answer to Patty, with Susan tonight. I asked the same question last week, but didn't get my point across well.

I was leaning towards giving a higher carb breffis. I think I will have to wake him to make him snack. He always sleeps through +1 test.
I can't have him diving again. I never know what is considered a 'gradual ' drop'

Trying to keep this short, because I tend to over explain, and my point gets lost.
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm sorry for laughing...but I was trying to picture ANY of my 3 having to be awakened for food :shock:
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

I would feed what you ordinarily feed and then adjust the carbs as the numbers guide you to. Just my 2 cents.
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

Thank you Marje and Sienne. And Celi, for the giggle. :-D
I gave normal supper, and will make sure to get + 1, and probably have to give a slightly carbier snack at that time.
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers +11/430....need advice for PM shot

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would feed what you ordinarily feed and then adjust the carbs as the numbers guide you to. Just my 2 cents.

:lol: :lol: In my book, Sienne's 2 cents is worth millions!
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers pmps 399

Well...I'll agree even if it does embarass her.

And what she is saying is also what we told Patty and what I do now. Gracie's basic food is 4% and then I use 6-10% to manage her lower numbers. I suggested Patty continue to feed Champ his raw food since he's done
so well on it but use a little bit more carb food to control his lower numbers.
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers pmps 399

Actually Marje, I usually glean some good info, from your answers to others. I thank you for that :-D

I have to get back into the habit of testing at +1. I haven't been. I should have known today, after opening a new pen, that he would dive. It's his MO
He won't catch me unawares tomorrow.
He doesn't normally dive at night, but I'm waitin' for ya Checkers :twisted:
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers pmps 399

and sometimes, the PERFECT pic just magically shows up when i google.
Wouldn't be so fitting a "dive fail" pic if it weren't for the shorts :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

1236766678_pool_diving_fail.gif
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers pmps 399 +1/306

I think Checks was reading his condo. He was lounging on the kitchen table, at +1. He was more than happy to have a bit of carby food :smile:
 
Re: 1/26 Checkers pmps 399 +1/306

Thanks, Celi. Now if I could actually get someone to pay me millions for it :lol: :lol: :lol:

Nice catch Barb.....Checkers you little rascal you!!!
 
Hi Barb!! Take a look at Champ's SS from this morning and make sure to read the remarks section because that indicates when I carbed him, with what, and how much. Checkers, of course, won't be the same as Champ, but it will show you HOW GREAT CHAMP DID TODAY!!! Pretty exciting! I had to use honey today because I wasn't able to get to the store to get in any food. All I have here is his raw food which is almost 0 carbs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top