1/26 Champ PMPS 204, +1 199, +2 222, +4 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ has already done all five P's today!!! Maybe he always does his LB action first thing in the morning, but I just never caught him in the act before. I forgot to put out the trash last night and so had to do it this morning....there was Champ coming out of the laundry room looking a little bit lighter!!!

I've decided to take all the great advice given to me yesterday and increase Champ's dose steadily until we see him in normal numbers on a consistent basis. I, of course, will do what I do best....test test test. I'm also going to take Marje's advice and see about introducing some higher carb food to Champ's diet, keeping his raw homemade food as his preshot meals (which are his largest meals) and giving him something in the 4% carb range for the rest of his meals. There's going to be a lot of experimenting going on until I find what's going to work for him. Also, though I've never been a proponent of giving a diabetic sugar, I may have to use karo or honey (probably honey because I can control the amount coming out of the bottle easier) to control his curve if it looks like carbing him with food is making him gain weight (or not letting him lose any). I need to get about three pounds off him. For all I know, that alone may get his diabetes under control. Again, lots of experimentation is going to be going on. I'm going to try to keep an accurate food log so I can see what's working and what isn't. I'm also going to try to get him in for a dental within the next month or so (finances are always an issue!!) to take that out of the equation. Hopefully, I'll be able to post every day so anyone interested can follow our journey!! I'd love to get Champ where Jill's Alex is...that's my goal!!!

I want to thank everyone for there well wishes with my DD and her car "incident." I'm going to try like hell to not think about it unless I have to!!

Everyone have a terrific day. Remember....it could always be worse!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365

Hi guys .. yes indeed, you will have a lot of experimenting going on .. but I think you can handle it! Champs knows you are doing everything that is the best for him so no worries on that end .. Hopefully you get the answers you are looking for .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365

It sounds like you've got a great plan in place! No doubt, with you on his side, Champ will get back to those greens.

I don't know if you remember that last November, Trix fell out of regulation for no reason. We had to take her up to 2.75U before she finally had her break through. That was soooo much higher than her dose had ever been before, and admittedly it made me both nervous and frustrated that we kept increasing and got nowhere. Until one day we did get somewhere, and I woke up to an AMPS of 121. Out of nowhere, she hit her break through. Everyone told me it would happen, but I didn't think it would. They were right! They really, really know this stuff. I'm sure Champ will see his breakthrough soon, too!

Have a great one!!
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365

Good Morning Patty. I love your positive attitude :smile:
Keeping jounals helps, not just for now, but in the future, you can look back and study what worked, and exactly how you did it. Funny thing is, I have never gotten into the habit of writing down food given, just numbers
I'd be interested in following along with you and Champ in your journey to solid, consistently low blues and greens. :-D
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365

Morning Patty! I too love your attitude! It will work for Champ. I used to feed Mannie 0-2% carb food too - it just wasn't really working for him either. His main food now is 4% one, this works much better for him. And I know on the Karo - not my thing either. I have been able to control Mannie's drops, or low numbers with just food - I hope you can too with Champ. Mannie's is about 2 pounds heavier than I would like him to be - just can't seem to get it off of him. Maybe if he was a younger cat, a more active cat, it would be easier - I dunno. At least he hasn't gained any. I too think keeping a food journal is very helpful. I finally went with adding a line in Mannie's SS - one just below his BG data, so that I can see how the % fed affected the curve/numbers.It works well for me, with minimal effort. I wish you luck!

There must be a party going on on the pink floor - Mannie is there too. Maybe they all can get together and find that stairway down together.

have a great day!
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365

I have to echo Amy. After Tarragon was in the hospital in Sept and again in Nov, his numbers got way out of whack. (Not that they were ever really in whack but he was usually blue and green.) He was at 1.25 U in Sept. He was at 2.5U in Nov. I thought maybe it was too much juice because he was bouncing so high so we cut him back to 2U. That only made it worse. Since he has had DKA, I didn't want to do that again so we started working our way up. We got all the way to 3.75U before we really saw any greens at all. He had never been that high and I was freaking out about it. He is still bouncing into the reds/pinks every time he gets into the greens, but he is clearing the bounces quicker and I will reduce his dose to 3U tonight. Hang in there! My patience pants have never been stressed as much as they have the last two months.

Thinking of you, Danielle & Champ!
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365, +2 220, +3 142

Since I don't have any cat food in the house other than raw homemade and 18% FF, I'm using honey today to manage Champ's numbers. I added a drop of honey to his +2 meal and to his +3 meal to slow him down. Now I just need to see what the +4 looks like and then see if honey causes him to bounce and, if so, what kind of a bounce (mild versus hard).
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365, +2 220, +3 142, +4 158

Great condo yesterday and today and looks like the honey worked!!! Now if he'll just surf here and not get a bounce. Come on Champ...you can do it.

I think you're doing great, Patty. It's constantly a learning process and just when you think you got it figured out, they change. I hope you can get Champ back to his great numbers and with that, he'll quit bouncing.

Hope all goes ok with the incident stuff...grrrr! Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365, +2 220, +3 142, +4 158

:roll: Definitely a party on the pink floor today.

I know on the bouncing and the low carb food. I've been thinking Tess's raw might be too low too, although I do just give it to her at preshot, the mini meals are Wellness or Merrick BG. I might start mixing it together.

We all have our ways to keep records. I tried keeping a separate sheet and never got it filled in. :roll: Since I recap every morning, I put a link to the day's condo on Tess's SS. That way i can go back and see exactly what she ate when and not add all the extra lines. That's what works for us.
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365, +2 220, +3 142, +4 158

FWIW...I think the aggressive dosing (with the invaluable guidance we received here) and the food experimentation
is what got Binks where he is...
Didn't hurt that we're all testaholics, either ;-)

GO, CHAMP....GO!!!!!!!
 
Re: 1/26 Champ AMPS 365, +2 220, +3 142, +4 158

Patty, good luck to you and Champ with your new plan and experimenting with the food. It was so interesting yesterday and informative reading your condo. I know Champ will do well with your care. You do have great and positive attitude. Fingers and paws crossed for Danielle that this will go away! Thanks for visiting us this morning and your support.
 
Re: 1/26 Champ +6 206, PMPS 204, +1 199

Patty, I'm gonna be right behind you with the aggressive dosing and feeding to control the numbers.
It's working well for us, so far tonight. Check's on his own in another 15 minutes. The old bean's gotta go to bed.
Tons of luck to you. I'm with ya.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top