1/26 Bailey AMPS 375, +2 366, +8 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62040

And now, the bounce.

For those of you who missed it (which would be most of you :lol: ) Bailey and I had some excitement during our PM cycle last night.

PMPS 128
+2 40 :shock: :shock: :shock:
retest 41

So I reached for the HC and discovered I didn't have any :shock: :o ohmygod_smile

I ended up mixing Karo with LC and sprinkling it with chicken dust and giving her that. I don't have Anne/Liz's mad scientist skills - maybe I wasn't adding enough Karo? and it took a while to bring her back up. It was not a fun night, especially since I have a nasty cold and needed to be in bed, not having a PJ party with Bailey. :roll:

So, we are dropping to a skinny 0.5 unit. I know this is not normally done by newbies, but the last time I dropped her from 0.5 to 0.25 someone, I think it might have been Sienne, suggested decreasing by a drop when the dose gets this small. I am open to thoughts about this, if you guys think I should reduce more? She is bouncing like crazy right now so I think today's shot will be fine.

Between the cold and the PJ party, I am not at 100% today (more like 50%) so I called into work. :sad: I feel so guilty, but it is best that I not be there today. Last night I was getting foggy-headed and starting to make mistakes - a big no-no for a pharmacist!! I sent myself home early, and am staying home today. ~O) ~O) ~O) (hot tea for me today!)
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375

WOW on a +2 40!! :o Whatever reducie is decided on, she earned it!

I'm sorry you've got THE cold. Try some mullein tea. Sending feel better vines for you and ditch the bounce ones for Bailey.
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375

Of course you need to stay home in bed, and without any guilt whatsoever. I hope your cold doesn't linger, and I hope Bailey's bounce doesn't linger, either.
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375

tumblr_lbwid2IoBA1qas4xe.gif


Holy Cow, Bailey!!!

i went to the shaved dose practice early on with Binksy...
he just couldn't cling to those larger reducies well enough-
so much so that eventually i was advised to adopt the "3 below 50" rule as well.

be interesting to see what the wise ones think!

Hope you kick that cold quickly, girl.
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375

Hi guys .. an exciting night for sure! We also did shaved reductions with mocha .. and we also did 3 times under 50 before an earned reduction as well .. I hope your cold starts getting better quickly, it is no fun being sick!
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375, +2 366 new dose OK?

Bailey is getting irritated with me and all the poking :roll: She was sleeping and I petted her to wake her up for our +2 and I got a 'Mrow!!' for my trouble. She is probably not feeling that great - she was zooming up 100 point/hr last night and that can't feel good.

I added a question mark to our condo just to see what 'the wise ones' (like that phrase Celi!) think of the dose shave. I am going to send DH out tonight for some more HC just to be prepared!!
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375, +2 366 new dose OK?

It could have been me that suggested a dose shave, as I have a kitty who doesnt hold a dose reduction very well, so the best results I have had with Moonie are with dose shaves.. She had 2 40's numbers in a few days recently, so I also skinnied the dose to sk 0.5.. I am Ok with the result as long as she is in normal numbers ranges.
Look, you can try it and see, it cant hurt, and I remember when those drops used to scare me.
I still believe in keeping a kitty in safe numbers.
But now we can control better with foods, and with the different carb values and new foods that have come out.
You are doing a great job with Bailey--Hope it works for you!
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/26 Bailey AMPS 375, +2 366 new dose OK?

Melissa:

Congrats on the reduction and sending you lots of healing vines. I'm sorry you aren't well. I know how it feels to feel bad and have to be up having a PJ party..not good. So I hope Bailey's numbers today have let you take a break and get some rest.

The protocol are guidelines and once we know our kitties, then we tailor them to the kitty. If Bailey doesn't hold reductions, there is no harm in you just shaving because you monitor her closely. If she doesn't hold this shave, you can also try letting her go under 50 three times before you reduce. Yes, the protocol gives that guideline for kitties that have been diabetic more than one year. But once caregivers have lots of data, are willing to test frequently, and know their cat and the cat fails reductions, then it's an option.

Feel better soon!!!!
 
Thanks guys, I will stick with the skinny 0.5 for now and see how it goes... she is coming down nicely from her ugly bounce. I am heading back to the couch, I hope everyone is having a nice evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top