1/26 Atlas +11 119, PMPS 109, +3 59, +4 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morining Lantus Land< ~O) ~O)

We're starting off today in a bit of a sunny color. I don't think this is a bounce, but is due to taking several reductions too close together and the shed is drained. May take a day or two to adjust and get back on track. Paws-crossed.

Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35224


Recap:
:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:

Attie was running up and down between the kitchen and dining room this morning! Just back and forth burning off energy. His fluffy tail waving in the air the like he just don't care! :lol: MudCat standing in the middle of the running track watching him go back and forth. She figured out he wasn't chasing her, but just being a bit crazy. :razz:

It is still a balmy 27F. Our projected houseguests had things work out for them in their own home and I will be visiting them twice a day. So I'll be out to go get them their breakfasts in a little while. I have them to sit for 5 days and have been asked to work on some of the 'catitude' going on between the 3 of them. ;-) So these first two days will be observational.
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206

To that end, Absorption curves with Lantus in humans may be helpful to calculating carryover and overlap in cats. Absorption studies in humans[15]indicate that 24 hours after being injected, approximately 50% of the Lantus dose remained at the injection site; after 48 hours, the amount was about 20%. Cats seem to absorb and use Lantus about twice as fast as humans. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Lantus

I just posted this over in Lori and TomTom's condo from last night in regards to her fur shot, but I have a more interesting question for our expert advisers!

In this case I am thinking about Michele and Mannie. I have not had a dental done on Attie, but at some time in the future I might need to. So if I don't have a full understanding of the current regime...sometime asking a dumb question can unlock something that needs to be further considered.

Insulin injections are not given the morning of the dental. Are insulin injections given the night before? Should the injections be stopped up to 24 hours before the dental or any surgery due to the extra insulin in the shed? Again I am thinking about Mannie and his really difficult recovery the other week.
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206

Good morning guys ... this is a low yellow, I would imagine blues are right around the corner .. glad to hear atlas is running like a crazy kitty .. they are the best .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206

Beth --

Math is not my strong suit. I don't know how directly a human insulin utilization curve would be extrapolated to cats. I don't think you can just divide by 2 to adjust for a cat's metabolism since this is a curve rather than a straight line. The other factor that differs with respect to a fur shot vs. a cat undergoing a procedure is anesthesia. The reason that insulin is held in the AM, is that anesthesia can cause BG numbers to drop. You don't want to risk a day when your cat's numbers might drop due to insulin to be enhanced by the effect of anesthesia. Rather than stop the night before, we've learned to encourage getting an "in the door" test when you bring your cat home from a dental or other procedure and then comparing with the pre-shot test. Numbers can still be dropping at pre-shot in which case, a reduced dose is given or that shot is skipped, as well.
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206

Sienne and Gabby said:
Beth --

Math is not my strong suit. I don't know how directly a human insulin utilization curve would be extrapolated to cats. I don't think you can just divide by 2 to adjust for a cat's metabolism since this is a curve rather than a straight line. The other factor that differs with respect to a fur shot vs. a cat undergoing a procedure is anesthesia. The reason that insulin is held in the AM, is that anesthesia can cause BG numbers to drop. You don't want to risk a day when your cat's numbers might drop due to insulin to be enhanced by the effect of anesthesia. Rather than stop the night before, we've learned to encourage getting an "in the door" test when you bring your cat home from a dental or other procedure and then comparing with the pre-shot test. Numbers can still be dropping at pre-shot in which case, a reduced dose is given or that shot is skipped, as well.

Actually Sienne I was looking more at the time rather than the dose. Lantus in humans is 24 hours and 50% remains at the injection site.

So we acknowledge in the quote that cats metabolize the insulin faster. Therefore in a cat 50% of the insulin would be left at the injection site after 12 hours vs. 24 hours. Of course there are no studies to support such a statement other than know cats are faster than humans...hence BID on Lantus.

Considering the effect of the anesthesia (Mannie's effect appeared quite strong) would it be reasonable to not shoot even as early as the night before? Decreasing the risk?

Like I said...just some dumb questions as I've never been through the situation.
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206, +2 161, +4 168

I hate to admit that i've been delaying Binks' dental due to the utter fiasco last time we tried.

but his vet is a little gunshy, also. she'd like to wait until he's better regulated, as his pearly off-whites were in fairly good shape.
we both felt it would help, but wasn't truly necessary at this time.
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206, +2 161, +4 168

WOW - love this discussion, hope it develops more, and thanks for posing the question.... I do wonder what I could have done differently for Mannie. My vet wanted the half dose injection before the procedure, stating she runs a glucose line for diabetics when they are in for dentals. She felt that if we had kept his BG numbers down, he would have fared better after the procedure... I dunno - I didn't shoot that morning because I had dropping numbers from +11 onwards, didn't feel that it was safe - looking at the time frame. anyways - interesting discussion.

and Attie? looking good this morning. not as pretty as they day before, but still nice! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas 206, +2 161, +4 168, +6 157

It's a blue day, but that's ok with me..

I think it is OK with Attie too. He has been playing with his squeeky mouse since I got home. Came to hunt me up for a meal, which was right there in his feeder. Didn't think about it at the time so the +6 is about a half hour after eating. Most likely we can take 10-20 or so points off that ...

He is bird watching right now. We have a pair of Carolina Wrens flitting about the suet and suet nuggets. Chirping and tails straight up in the air...Silly male was singing this morning like it was springtime...

Hey...wasn't Attie's tail straight up in the air like he just don't care? :lol:

Did my pet sit visit this morning. As soon as I get the owners permission I am going to blog this week on my company FB page. We have an introduction gone bad and we'll see if we can fix it. I already sent the owner an action plan. It will take about 4 weeks to hopefully undo this. (Unique skills some pet sitters have!)
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas +11 119, PMPS 109

Looking good tonight, Attie! How's about a nice green surf to go with your blue one from earlier?

Interesting questions you pose! I've got nothing to contribute, but will be taking notes on the answers!! :)

Have a good night!
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas +11 119, PMPS 109

WOW! Looking at the ss the past 10 days or so...Attie is REALLY workin' it.
You two make quite a team! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/26 Atlas +11 119, PMPS 109, +3 59

Attie is eating his plus 3 meal now. 16.6 pts. per hr. Hmmm...I'll be up for a little while yet to test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top