1/26/11, Sophie 104 AMPS (no shot), 169 at +7

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Wow - Sophie hasn't had any Lantus since midnight last night, and it's now 7 p.m. and she's only at 169. I wonder if she's built up a big shed, or something else? Has anyone else experienced this with a sugar cat capable of going over 400?
 
When you shot late yesterday morning, was your PM shot 12 hours later? If not, what you were seeing this morning was the effect of the overlap between a late shot and an early shot. When you shoot late, your next shot should be 12 hours from your last shot time.

The other possibility is that Sophie is dropping into lower numbers over night and some mornings, is bouncing up into higher numbers. You're not testing during the PM cycle most nights, so you don't know what's going on. You may want to consider getting PM tests more often.

If you are routinely having to skip shots or miss shots, it may be helpful to reduce Sophie's dose so you can shoot the same dose twice a day. Splitting doses (i.e, giving part of a dose at pre-shot and then giving more insulin a little later in the cycle really is not a recommended strategy. It causes any number of problems with the nadir and overlap and can contribute to having difficulty with managing low numbers.
 
Thank you Sienne. Yes, her PM shot was early, given that I delayed the a.m. shot by two hours. I just didn't feel comfortable injecting when she was at 125. The last week has been screwy because I've been sick, and missed a few shots oversleeping. At anything less than one unit per day, her numbers get too high, and the excessive thirst and urination come back, so I'm not sure what to do about decreasing the dose.

This weekend I can stay up late and get a more complete picture of what she's doing overnight - that's a good idea.

Cheers,
 
This post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers may help if you can't post.

One "rule" that may help in your thinking is to remember that Lantus likes consistency. You'll see better numbers and have cleaner data if you shoot the same dose every 12 hours. We've all overslept, been late, etc. You need to try to figure in that you will need to shoot 12 hours after your last shot. You can move a shot 30 min. per day.
 
JoshS said:
At anything less than one unit per day, her numbers get too high, and the excessive thirst and urination come back, so I'm not sure what to do about decreasing the dose.

Josh- I see you've tried 0.5U and 0.75U... did you know that there are a few doses between 0.75U and 1.0U?

I know, right? crazy, we are!! What you can try is pulling up 1.0U and twisting the plunger slowly and squeezing out one drop. You can practice with an old syringe (or a new one) and some cola or water with food coloring.

Some would call it a skinny 1.0U or a super fat 0.75U, depending on how big the drop you squeezed out is...

You might try that dose and see if Sophie does better there. Or, like Cheryl suggested, get more tests/data so you can get the data to start shooting a bit lower.

good luck
 
As always, you guys are a font of wisdom. That primer on dealing with low pre-shot numbers is great!

As for giving a shot between .75 and 100 - these syringes are so calibrated so thatit's really hard to get that fine. They're 3/10cc (if I got that right).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top