? 1/25 Zappa +11/177 AMPS 106 +30/95

Zappa’s mom

Member Since 2022
Concerned about Zappa’s BGs dropping so quickly. Tested him at 8am and got 177. Fed him and retested before AMPS at 9am and got 106. NS. Tested again +30 and got 95. I don’t understand why his numbers are dropping after food and 12 hours after last shot.

I would appreciate any insight. I just gave him a higher carb cat food and will retest again +30.

Thank you

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
He is clearing a bounce. In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be later that usual - even as late as the end of the cycle. He seems to do that a lot. If you look at all the cycles in which he has a green or blue preshot, it is an end-of-cycle nadir. With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90.

You are being very erratic in dosing. Lantus dosing is not based on preshots but on nadirs. How low a dose takes the cat. Lantus all works best when dosed consistently. The same dose AM and PM. I think you want to stick to a dose say 2.25U for a few cycles. If he drops below 90, he earns a reduction. You can shoot if he is over 90.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-21-zappa-amps-87-3-128-pmps-435.273278/
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Bandit's Mom

Thank you. I am following the guidelines below. This is why I’m confused- these guidelines say don’t shoot below 150. This is from the information posted here.

Regarding his nadirs, I’m reading the +6 and getting between 200-300, but I should be looking at his +11 numbers? I can reduce to 2.25 if that’s the case but I’m not comfortable shooting now with what his numbers look like. I can shoot an hour earlier tonight.

Thank you so much for your feedback!






guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1
    mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose
(10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.

  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/di (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
This is what I'm looking at for following SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Back
Top