1/25 Rusty AMPS 257/+2 122/+4 168/+6 204 PMBG 233

emilyrose

Member Since 2023
1/24 Post

Rusty's vet went through the numbers from yesterday and said they wouldve been fantastic to see if he wasn't feeling worse alongside. She's curious if the reli-on is displaying numbers higher than a pet meter, so she advised me to withhold shots PM and tomorrow AM with monitoring of BG, and to let her know how he's feeling tomorrow before they close.

I did feel a swollen lump in his neck yesterday, but can't tell if it's a lymph node or thyroid. For this she recommended a follow up exam and comprehensive panel.

No real improvements. He did hover over his water bowl today and did not eat as much as yesterday, so I gave 1/4 tab Cerenia and a little bit of Mirtazipine transdermal. Temps stable today.

Also started him on the cardiac supplement to hopefully improve circulation and help his beans feel better so he can walk.
 
If you are not giving insulin, he's nauseous and possibly eating less, and maybe infection (swollen lymph node), please test for ketones daily. That's a recipe for possible DKA.

What cardiac supplement did they start him on?

How much does he weigh and how many mg of Cerenia is 1/4 tab (they come in different sizes). Many vets underdose the oral version of Cerenia. Ondansetron is actually a better drug for nausea, Cerenia is good if there is vomiting.

The Relion will generally show lower, not higher, numbers than a pet meter.
 
He was acting nauseous before stopping the insulin, from last night to first thing in the morning, unfortunately.

The supplement is Verei-Science Cardio Strength capsules.

He is showing on my infant scale as a very skinny 6.8. A whole Cerenia tab is 16mg.
 
Back
Top