1/25 Rosa AMPS HI +5 308 PMPS HI +2 HI +4 498

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, I think Rosa needs a little more juice. Any reason you held off this morning? Don't be discouraged, BGs move around a lot and it is still early days for you and Rosa. Don't be afraid of an increase, it's what she needs. Also, w/ an increase comes the chance of NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) BGs can go up until the shed re-establishes itself.
 
Only to check that I was doing the right thing by increasing 0.5. I'm still on my own here until Tuesday night so can't discuss with hubby which is what I'd usually do before changing anything. I'd just hate to accidentally increase too much and make things worse instead of better. She'll get there - it's one reading out of the last couple of days that's been all the way up there. I'll start her increase tonight - we'll get those blue numbers back yet and hopefully they'll stick around a bit longer soon! :)
 
Ahh Rosa, the other colors looks so much better on you. :stop:

Since you got blue on this dose, and it's the first time Rosa saw blue, the protocol says to hold the dose for 8-10 cycles, before increasing by 0.25U. Today is the 8th cycle on this dose, so you can go up either tonight or tomorrow. Here's the quote from the protocol:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Good luck with the increase when you get to it.
 
One more thing, if you have a question about the dose, it's best to put "Dose?" or "Dose increase?" or something like that in the subject line, so it'll catch more eyes.
 
OK, thanks - I'll remember that for next time. I'll go with a 0.25u increase tonight and see where we get to with that for a few days. Thank you for the help. :)
 
She's doing so well - I'm really proud of the way she's handling all the changes to her routine and the testing and shots. And now responding well to the insulin too :)
 
I've increased Rosa's dose from 1.5 units to 1.75 this evening. While I doubt that's going to drop her dangerously low based on her ss, would I be able to get a good enough indication from a +3 or +4 test to see where's she's likely to be heading overnight or do I really need to get a +5 or +6 to be 100% sure she won't drop low?
 
If you can snag a +2 even, that should give you some idea whether you're going to want to grab a later test. If the +2 is significantly lower than PMPS (maybe assume HI = 600?), it might be a busy cycle. With the higher numbers, there's also always that pesky 20% meter variance, so basically anything down to 480 or so is pretty much the same number.
 
April

I am not sure if I've welcomed you and Rosa to L/L land but welcome!!! I'm glad you all are getting the routine down.

We usually encourage a +2 test every cycle you are able to get one. If the +2 is similar to or the same as the PS, it's likely to be an active cycle. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a fairly quiet cycle. If the +2 is much lower than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with an early drop.

I think you are fine to grab a +2 or before bed, whichever is later and call it a night unless she is really dropping.
 
Thank you. I've been mostly grabbing the tests when she's feeling fairly quiet anyway so it's usually somewhere between +2 and +4 depending on how lively she's being and when she needs a nap. She objects more to having to keep still for the test when she's busy doing things! I'll try for a +2 and settle for a +3 or so if she won't sit still for a +2 and take it from there. Thank you both for the advice and thanks also for the welcome. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top