1/25 Rex PMPS 572 +2 610 +4 607

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
So many lessons learned on 1/24.

1. Found out my AlphaTrak meter is very different from human meters when following recommendations from the sticky posts.
...Might look at switching, any recommendations on replacement meters?
2. The reduction cutoff for AlphaTrak is 80. So when Rex gets right below 80 we can reduce his insulin from 1.5 to 1.25?
3. Keep on hand HC food with gravy containing 15% or greater carbs.
4. Reading Reading Reading all the Handling Low Number posts
5. Recommendation for posting numbers in Subject line

I could be wrong, but do most vets know all this information? I don't seem to be getting as much information or detailed information on feline diabetes and/or treatment from them.
My vet makes recommendations and glucose curves, but not the details or planning like I am receiving here.

Anyway, working from home today so Rex will be using my lap as a day bed. :)



Rex's 1/24 Condo
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 Hyperglycemic

So I made a mistake with the Dry food for last night hypoglycemic episode. (totally learned from my mistake)

Finished reading Hypoglycemic sticky post and understand.

So now we are in a hyperglycemic state and did know if I need to just ride it out or take action in any way?
I did reduce his AM feed by 1/8 of a can since he was so high

Thanks Much,
Rich
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 Hyperglycemic

Good morning Rich. Did you see Sienne's post on yesterday's condo? She confirmed the reduction to 1.25 units. You gave 1.5 units this morning, but if kitty is high the cycle after low numbers, that is a technique caregivers can use for one cycle, to help get over the high numbers. You should shoot the lower dose tonight.

What you are seeing today is Rex's liver responding to the lows from yesterday. You just need to wait it out. Here's a quote from Marje (and Gracie) that explains it better than I could.
When a kitty is first dx, they have usually been at higher numbers for a bit and the liver has gotten used to those numbers as normal. So when the depot fills and the kitty starts to see better numbers, the liver might "panic" and release counter regulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG. The numbers the liver reacts to might not be super low...just lower than it is used to...or also if the numbers drop quickly. This is called a bounce. Bounces can take six cycles to clear..sometimes longer.

In Rex's case, he saw low numbers and his liver reacted perfectly to protect him. FWIW, my Neko still likes to bounce a lot and we are higher this morning too.
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 Hyperglycemic

Hi Rich

Great job last night :smile: Today looks like a big bounce from those greens & blues - Ride it out ;-)
Although it's better to use wet HC to bring numbers up, I don't think the dry was responsible for
the numbers you're seeing today.....

Rex earned a dose reduction last night, but I guess you're "shooting through the bounce".
Are you reducing his dose for the PM shot?
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 Big Bounce

So Rex is in a pretty big bounce 500s

Next Steps:
Insulin:
Just to confirm - He has earned a dose reduction (he will get a 1.25 dose Friday night and going forward).

Feeding:
Just to confirm - He will get his normal 5/8 can of wet Purina DM tonight (will switch to Merrick, higher quality food next week).

Testing:
I will continue to test him every 2 hours +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, and +11.
What should I expect to see for number the rest of the day so I don't freak out. :)
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 Hyperglycemic

Not to worry. Rex is just bouncing. It's an impressive bounce, to be sure but it will pass. What you inadvertently did was , "shoot through the bounce" -- what Wendy explained as giving your previous dose to help get through the bounce.

As to what vets know, some vets are very up to speed on feline diabetes. Others, not so much. They have to be informed on every disease for every species they treat and not just medical management but surgical as well. It's a huge amount of information. We only need to be knowledgeable about feline diabetes. It's much easier.
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 +6 601 Riding The Bouncy

Just Riding The Bouncy Wave

Very active and playful earlier this morning.

Sleeping since 10am and it is now 2:45p PST
 
Re: 1/25 Rex AMPS 611 +2 551 +4 594 +6 601 +8 613 Riding

Rex woke up at 1545 PST

Tested and now cleaning himself. Continue the ride.
 
Re: 1/25 Rex PMPS 572 +2 610

I hope that bounce clears quickly. I'm glad Wendy was around last night to help you through it.

Good job. Good luck wit the reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top