Emily&Oliver
Member Since 2019
Oliver came home two weeks ago with a starting dose of 2U lantus twice daily. We've collected the data and talked with vet, and he's down to 0.5 twice daily, but we are now starting to get numbers that are making us nervous to shoot even on that. I've done my best to collect data on him with work schedule, and he seems to be predictable in his curve so far - going lower, hitting nadir, and then rising again.
We are using an AlphaTrack2, and I'm seeing most of you are using human meters. I've sunk about $250 into this meter/strips/lancets so I'm not ready to change just yet, but I need some help understanding when to not shoot with him right now.
If you look at his spreadsheet, you will see he's had some pretty low nadirs and it makes us nervous. We're realizing too how the margin of error in this meter makes a difference. You'll see a BG of 47 from the vet's bloodwork when the day before the meter gave us a BG of 66 with similar AMPS and dose. Our vet has provided us these guidelines:
BG >250 - Increase 1U from previous dose
BG 100-250 - Repeat previous dose
BG <70-99 -Decrease 1 U from previous dose
BG <70 - Skin insulin
Last night he was 105 PMPS, and we skipped his dose because we couldn't monitor all night. This morning he was 200 after no insulin all night. We administered his 0.5U before going to work.
All that to say - we're struggling with when to skip the shot. We know we should consider going from 0.5 to 0.25 - but how in the world do you guys measure that in the needle?! It's so tiny - we can barely get the 0.5 with the mark on it right. I can't quite understand how to administer 0.25 accurately. Thanks guys!
We are using an AlphaTrack2, and I'm seeing most of you are using human meters. I've sunk about $250 into this meter/strips/lancets so I'm not ready to change just yet, but I need some help understanding when to not shoot with him right now.
If you look at his spreadsheet, you will see he's had some pretty low nadirs and it makes us nervous. We're realizing too how the margin of error in this meter makes a difference. You'll see a BG of 47 from the vet's bloodwork when the day before the meter gave us a BG of 66 with similar AMPS and dose. Our vet has provided us these guidelines:
BG >250 - Increase 1U from previous dose
BG 100-250 - Repeat previous dose
BG <70-99 -Decrease 1 U from previous dose
BG <70 - Skin insulin
Last night he was 105 PMPS, and we skipped his dose because we couldn't monitor all night. This morning he was 200 after no insulin all night. We administered his 0.5U before going to work.
All that to say - we're struggling with when to skip the shot. We know we should consider going from 0.5 to 0.25 - but how in the world do you guys measure that in the needle?! It's so tiny - we can barely get the 0.5 with the mark on it right. I can't quite understand how to administer 0.25 accurately. Thanks guys!
