? 1/25 LADY AMPS 1.9 +9 HI

AnimalsAreAnime

Member Since 2022
Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 4.29.35 pm.png

Hi, my cat Lady's blood sugars have been unusually low for her the last couple of days (her blood sugars are normally around 18-20 before her shot, dropping to about 13, she had been on 8.5U for 2 weeks). Her blood sugar levels are all over the place and i'm not sure what to do, I have been decreasing her dosage but i'm not sure whether to keep going down or what to do. I skipped her insulin this morning and but have given her 6.5U of insulin early today at +9 because her blood sugar reading was HI and she looked unwell. I can do a curve tomorrow but i'm not too sure what that's going to tell me when i've been giving her fluctuating insulin amounts

My spreadsheet is a little messed up I couldn't get a 2023 US one to work...
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MPZIFE7GWosDvdXs5Ee8ZgeyH0PoHB7mvjVzJi2YQd0/edit?usp=sharing
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 4.29.35 pm.png
    Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 4.29.35 pm.png
    53.1 KB · Views: 86
Hi Ellie, I had editor access to your SS from before so I've added the US 2023 tab.

It looks like Lady has decided she wants much less insulin! Has anything changed recently that could affect her blood sugar? Any change in food etc? I see she was on 8U for a while and there isn't much test data. Would you have data for Jan 1st to Jan 19th?

You might want to try a dose that is much lower like 4U or 5U. I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko because she has a ton of experience with high dose kitties and @Bron and Sheba (GA) who is also in Australia.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...299-4-203-6-207-8-203-10-207-pmps-207.263660/
 
Waving fromSydney
At the moment she is bouncing from the 34 this morning. I am glad you gave a reduce dose after the drop to 34. She could have dropped a lot lower after the 97 at +2 last night. If you get a drop like that again, I would really recommend you do another BG test an hour later to see if the BG is continuing to drop.
There is very little data before 20/1/23 so it is possible she has been dropping low for a while.
A curve tomorrow will probably not be of much use if Lady is still bouncing which is likely. .
Have you been testing for ketones in the urine at all?
How is her appetite now?
 
Hi Ellie, I had editor access to your SS from before so I've added the US 2023 tab.

It looks like Lady has decided she wants much less insulin! Has anything changed recently that could affect her blood sugar? Any change in food etc? I see she was on 8U for a while and there isn't much test data. Would you have data for Jan 1st to Jan 19th?

You might want to try a dose that is much lower like 4U or 5U. I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko because she has a ton of experience with high dose kitties and @Bron and Sheba (GA) who is also in Australia.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...299-4-203-6-207-8-203-10-207-pmps-207.263660/

Nothing has really changed in her diet, I have been feeding her more of a particular brand of cat food, but it all should be low carb. I was testing during Jan 1st to Jan 19th, I just haven't been recording it at all, but it was all around 20-18 at AMPS OR PMPS and around 11-13 at +6. I might have been missing drops.

Thanks for fixing the spreadsheet!
 
Last edited:
Waving fromSydney
At the moment she is bouncing from the 34 this morning. I am glad you gave a reduce dose after the drop to 34. She could have dropped a lot lower after the 97 at +2 last night. If you get a drop like that again, I would really recommend you do another BG test an hour later to see if the BG is continuing to drop.
There is very little data before 20/1/23 so it is possible she has been dropping low for a while.
A curve tomorrow will probably not be of much use if Lady is still bouncing which is likely. .
Have you been testing for ketones in the urine at all?
How is her appetite now?
I was testing, before the 20/1/23 it's just that because it was all in her usual area of 20-11ish I wasn't recording it down anywhere (regretting that now). I'm so used to her always being high, I didn't think i would need the numbers anytime soon. I have not been testing for ketones, I have the stuff to do it though, never done it before, I can try and get a sample. She is being picky with her food, but she's happy to eat if I feed her treats for meals, or give her her favourites.
 
Do you think she could be nauseated?
it would be a good idea to test for ketones at least once a week while she is so high
She is definitely not feeling well, she keeps crying in the sink, which is her usual way of communicating that somethings wrong. So I assume she is nauseated.

I'll start testing her ketones.
 
I would ask the vet for some cerenia or zofran for the nausea. Cerenia is given once a day and zofran can be given 3 times a day. Zofran ( ondansetron) is a human medication that can be given to cats. My vet had not heard of it but after investigations he gave me a script for it and I got it from a human pharmacy. It comes in wafer form in Australia which you put on their tongue. ( make sure your hands are completely dry when handling. The wafers are 4 mg and I used to give Sheba 1/2 a wafer.
It’s more commonly given in the US than Australia I think. It is very effective for nausea. Better than cerenia.
 
I would ask the vet for some cerenia or zofran for the nausea. Cerenia is given once a day and zofran can be given 3 times a day. Zofran ( ondansetron) is a human medication that can be given to cats. My vet had not heard of it but after investigations he gave me a script for it and I got it from a human pharmacy. It comes in wafer form in Australia which you put on their tongue. ( make sure your hands are completely dry when handling. The wafers are 4 mg and I used to give Sheba 1/2 a wafer.
It’s more commonly given in the US than Australia I think. It is very effective for nausea. Better than cerenia.

I gave her some Zofran and she is eating more food. I also tested her Ketones...and frankly I can't tell if it's nothing or a trace, I think it's nothing
IMG_6495 Small.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6495 Small.jpeg
    IMG_6495 Small.jpeg
    32.3 KB · Views: 69
That ketones strips looks like none, which is good. You can also test yourself to compare. Good to hear she is eating again. If her inappetance carries on, it might be worth a vet visit and getting blood work done, especially if it's been a while since the last one.

The Freestyle Lite should keep the last two weeks of data in it's memory, you might be able to recover at least the last two weeks of numbers. That would be very helpful to us. I used to also record things in a paper log book, just in case.
 
Back
Top