1/25 Jan and Buddy PMPS +11 398 +12 371

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/25 Jan and Buddy AMPS 487 +1 386

Libby and Lucy said:
Jan and Buddy said:
What do you think a low number would be to NOT shoot Lantus on any given day, with a IAA kitty??

There really isn't a no-shoot number. You just need to go with what your data tells you you can do, like everyone else. Whenever you get an opportunity to shoot a lower number in the evening when you're home, take the opportunity to shoot and see how it goes. The more you can do that, the better equipped you'll be when it happens in the morning. Remember that Lantus curves are flatter the lower you shoot (he won't drop as much from 100 as he will from 300, it's the way this insulin works). You know you are at a safe dose for Buddy because we worked up to the dose systematically. Sure his dose is higher than others, but it's the dose he needs.

There will come a time when you do get to a dose that will overwhelm the IAA's and Buddy will suddenly start getting a really great response. When that time comes, you will have to do some guessing about what dose to shoot. I remember Sandy doing that, some mornings she would get up and say "oh, I can't shoot 20 units into that number, I think I'll shoot 8." There is no harm in doing that when you need to.

Sandy relied a lot on her instincts while she was collecting the data, then later on she started shooting full dose into almost any PS number because she knew how BK would respond. You'll get there too!

I completely agree with what Libby has said.

I want to add, from my perspective, that it is very scary to shoot these doses (in the beginning) and sometimes you'll feel very alone because you'll have to make your own decisions...people can offer opinions, but you (along with Sandy/BK and Sharyn/Fiona) are in a very small minority and you basically have to forge your own way. You are lucky to have Sandy's spreadsheet to look at because they successfully killed the IAAs! Future kitties are relying on you to be as successful.

Good job this morning Jan.
 
WCR Kinda expected him to be higher when I got home like this am, but he was lower and going down. He ate good, but acts like he really doesn't feel good.

Gave .1 R will see how that works out.

Was that a good choice or should I not have given him R
Jan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top