1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! Hope yalls week has been fabulous so far :)

Garland has been doing great with the exception of her numbers. Spunky, happy, energetic and eating well. But those numbers are continually flat pinks. :YMSIGH:

I raised her dose this morning to 4.0. Her ketones a few days ago on the urine strip was negative, today I decided to do a meter check. 2.3. Thats higher than I would like, but its not crazy high... its "trace". I can only assume its because shes not getting enough insulin. Its so bizarre, her numbers are like Im not even giving her any insulin at all. But shes taking a pretty high dose. (?) I dont know. Her numbers have been puzzling to me for a while now. She's on a new pen, no fur shots, eating her normal FF classic... I dont know. :YMSIGH: I guess Ill just keep raising according to the protocol until those numbers start to come down

Condo 1/19

QUESTION: I have been doing the one in the middle (always been nervous to do the third one) But should I go ahead and start raising her dose by .5 every 3 days if these numbers continue? Instead of .25 every 6 days?

Increasing the dose:

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

:shock: And just now re-reading this quote (after all the times ive read it before), I just realized its every 3 days, 6 "CYCLES", not 6 days... Dang, Ive been doing it wrong
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

It's kinda why I keep saying you're holding your doses too long. I'm glad you raised Garland's dose.
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

don't feel bad, Violet...you wouldn't believe the silly mistakes I've made reading the protocol... :oops:
Like
"early shot= increase
late shot= decrease"

i took that to mean I could only dose increase in the am,
and decrease in the pm :lol:

yours was an easy misread :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

I would go with the 0.5 increase (3 days after your last if nadirs still over 300) as that is what the protocol calls for. I would be particularly keen to do that with the ketones coming on. It seems that sometimes kitty's don't notice/react to several 0.25 increases in a row as well as one increase of 0.5 so I really think this would be best. However, although this has been my own experience I am pretty new at this so you probably want confirmation from someone with more experience.
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

mybuddybinks said:
don't feel bad, Violet...you wouldn't believe the silly mistakes I've made reading the protocol... :oops:
Like
"early shot= increase
late shot= decrease"

i took that to mean I could only dose increase in the am,
and decrease in the pm :lol:

yours was an easy misread :-D
Thanks for making me feel better. Geeze, I feel like an idiot ohmygod_smile I was thinking cycles = days even though I know it isnt. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

Sienne and Gabby said:
It's kinda why I keep saying you're holding your doses too long. I'm glad you raised Garland's dose.

In 3 days if her numbers resemble what Ive been seeing should I raise by .5? She has that high yellow AMPS here and there, so technically her nadar is under 300
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

:lol: :lol:

I laughed a lot over all my screwups...
and Binks just shook his round little head with those super big swivelers...
and basically took over his treatment so he'd be sure to get to the Falls :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

Violet and Garland said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
It's kinda why I keep saying you're holding your doses too long. I'm glad you raised Garland's dose.

In 3 days if her numbers resemble what Ive been seeing should I raise by .5? She has that high yellow AMPS here and there, so technically her nadar is under 300
how about if we re-evaluate during the AM (5th) cycle on 1/27?
a lot can happen between now and then.

i know you'll be staying on top of those ketones. if she trends higher, protocol goes out the window and we'lll have to get more insulin in her... amongst other things.
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

Jill & Alex said:
Violet and Garland said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
It's kinda why I keep saying you're holding your doses too long. I'm glad you raised Garland's dose.

In 3 days if her numbers resemble what Ive been seeing should I raise by .5? She has that high yellow AMPS here and there, so technically her nadar is under 300
how about if we re-evaluate during the AM (5th) cycle on 1/27?
a lot can happen between now and then.

i know you'll be staying on top of those ketones. if she trends higher, protocol goes out the window and we'lll have to get more insulin in her... amongst other things.
Sounds good! :smile: I hope these ketones go down in the meantime. I hate when they start moving out of the negative range
 
Re: 1/25 Garland PMPS 335- Ketones "Trace"- 2.3 meter - Ques

Violet and Garland said:
...Thanks for making me feel better. Geeze, I feel like an idiot ohmygod_smile I was thinking cycles = days even though I know it isnt. ohmygod_smile

Oh my gosh - Violet really IS human....(giggle..giggle...)

Garland, u iz gettin' more juiz - shak it babee!

BIG hug,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top