1/25 Davidson AMPS 261 +3 296 +6 256 +1- 311 PMPS 317

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/25 Davidson AMPS 261 +3 296

Good morning Shawna!

glad you increased his dose this morning! good job.

I noticed on his spreadsheet that he's gained 1.3lbs since the 16th. :shock: can you reduce the amount of food you are giving him so that his weight just remains stable? unless you are thinking he's underweight now, which i'm guessing at almost 15.5lbs he's not! When cats are unregulated they can be ravenous, but you don't want to give him all the food he wants.

There's a lot of good info on on the New to the Group? sticky. This one is near the bottom of that page Feed Kitty as Much as He Wants?
 
Re: 1/25 Davidson AMPS 261 +3 296

Thanks Julie for your concern, but Davidson's a BIG boy and he was really dehydrated when I returned from Holidays Jan 6th and that's why he went to the vet and we started the insulin. Up until then he was only on wet food. He's been 16/17 lbs since he was 3 (nick name Bam Bam) so he lost some weight with more exercise and diet, then Diabetes set in (not due to weight) and he lost lots more when on dry food (that all he ate for 11.5 yrs) which explained the 3 cups of water each day before I got back. So, he's good and spoke to the Vet about him and even he said he's really muscular, which as we all know if heavier then fat. He eats 2 x 5.5 cans per day (maybe a tad more if Harley leaves some) and that's under what he should be getting. I am keeping a CLOSE watch on him and will post if there are any concerns, or call my Vet. Wendy has given me signs to look for but I think he is okay since he's playful and getting back into wrestling with Harley - a good sign the insulin is working.

Back to the warmth of the fireplace........

Shawna
 
Re: 1/25 Davidson AMPS 261 +3 296

It's a nice sunny start to the day in yellow! Good luck with the dosecrease, maybe you will be seeing some lower floors soon. Hope you have a great Caturday :-D
 
ok - i didn't realize he was just regaining weight lost in the initial diabetes illness phase. he does sound like a big guy!

i had one kitter, Felix, who got up to 24lbs! he wasn't muscular, though, i hate to admit he was just overweight. we had him most of his life on a weight loss diet (dry food from the vet) and the poor guy was always starving but hardly lost any weight. wish i'd known then to switch him to canned food.

enjoy your fireside evening - how perfect!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top