1/25 Chispa, 139 AMPS, 78 +3, 120 PMPS, 82 +3

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-24-chispa-143-amps-101-3-123-5-115-pmps-79-3.273389/

Another high-ish start -- but she's been getting breakfast less than 2 hours before her AM shots, so I am going to blame it on that. Her PM preshots are better.

I am glad she is back in the greens today, but other than 1/23, her nadirs have been so close to 80 that I am wondering if I should do another increase. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko , would you mind reading the tea leaves for me? I'd be grateful for any input. :cat:
 
Why is Chispa getting breakfast so long before her shot? Typical routine is test, feed, shot, all within 15 minutes or so. That breakfast may be inflating her preshots. What is her food routine around PMPS?

I do see nadirs in the 60’s which isn’t a lot of room to increase, but might be necessary depending on above. After waiting at least 10 cycles on this dose, of course.
 
Hi Wendy -- thanks so much for weighing in. Chispa expects/demands breakfast when DBF gets up in the morning, and I've been trying to move her shot times up a bit so as to get to bed earlier, and this has led to her getting breakfast within 2 hours or less of AM shots. Having said that, I'll also say that she is a cat who doesn't seem to register much of a food spike (there are exceptions). She does not get fed within 2 hours of PMPS, so I am giving more weight to those numbers.

Her spreadsheet never looked better than when she was on 4 units in 2022 -- the curve was flatter and green preshots were common. I hope she will not need to go back to that high of a dose, but it would be nice if her spreadsheet could look more like that.
 
I used to give Neko a zero carb snack when she insisted on food at AM+9 - which had been a pre-FD mini meal time. Thankfully moving to Levemir took the pressure off limiting the late snack because her nadir moved so much later. I wonder if Chispa would be OK with a breakfast snack when DBF gets up.
Her spreadsheet never looked better than when she was on 4 units in 2022
And she never technically earned a reduction down from 4 units either. Sometimes you just gotta go up to go down.
 
I think the early AM portion is small as it is (I'll have him show me), but any token amount would probably tide her over until her real breakfast at shot time.

I had forgotten that she did not earn the reduction from 4, but you are right -- it was a vacation dose that never went up again!

Guess I will see what she does for the next couple of cycles (I think we are at #8) and then maybe go up.

Many thanks again :bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top