Patty & Champ
Member Since 2011
Last condo (from 1/20)
ohmygod_smile Champ, Champ, Champ ohmygod_smile He's in a vicious low/bounce mode and it's driving me nuts!!! I would love anyone's input on what to do at this point, but would love to hear from any of our resident "experienced people."
I have it in my head that Champ may have been on too much insulin because he's going low in one cycle (where I have to give him 18% to keep him above 50) and then bouncing very hard the next cycle. Yesterday morning was hard for me to take....he had an AMPS of 462!! His bounces are still extremely short...high preshot number followed by a decline over the rest of the cycle. I decreased his dose yesterday morning from 2.5u to 2.25u. Last night I was up until 1 a.m. (and I get up between 4-5 a.m. every morning) because, once again, he dropped like a stone. He had a PMPS of 243 so when I saw the 75 at +3 I knew I had to slow him down. I gave him a teaspoon of 18% on top of his regular homemade raw food, but he still dropped to 59 at +3.5. I gave him a tablespoon of 18% and he fell another couple points at +4. He got another tablespoon of 18% and started to rise by +4.5, finally getting to 99 at +6 and I felt I could go to bed. I don't like having to carb him to keep him in a safe range. His bouncing is already crazy ridiculous without adding that to the mix. As it is, I only carb him when he's in the 50's or below. 60's and up, I only give him his homemade raw or some Before Grain 1% if I have it on hand. At this point, I feel like a complete newbie and I've lost some confidence in myself about whether I'm making rational decisions where Champ is concerned.
I'd love input on whether the reduction was a good idea or not. I don't know if I would feel comfortable raising his dose when he's going low on this one. However, that being said, I'll do what I need to do to get this bouncing to stop.
I gave Champ his second Adequan injection yesterday morning. Boy, filling a syringe with 36 units just seems so wrong!! :shock: He didn't give me any trouble with the injection, though, so that's a relief!! Of course, when he has his head in a bowl of breakfast, nothing bothers him!!! :lol:
OT: My daughter had an extremely minor traffic "incident" yesterday. The person in front of her braked hard, she hit the brakes but ended up bumping him, and a car bumped her from behind. The car behind her left since there was no damage to anyone's vehicle, but the guy in front of her got out of his car so she had to get out of hers. There was no damage to his car, but his passenger got out and said his "back kind of hurt." He then looked at the rear of the vehicle he was in and said he couldn't believe there wasn't any damage. Then the driver, hearing this, said "yeah, my neck hurts a little too." My daughter, being inexperienced, didn't call the police so there was no police report and no documentation that there was no damage. Fortunately, she called me and I told her to take a picture of the car. They had already driven off, saying they were going to the emergency room, but they were right in front of her so she took a picture of the car from her window. I'm so sick of how litiginous our society has become. God forbid you should work for your money. Let's just fake an injury so we can collect insurance money. My daughter's car is in my name and I'm scared to death that this is going to turn into a nightmare. Las Vegas traffic is some of the worst in the country and our insurance rates are some of the highest in the nation. Unfortunately, my daughter has to travel from one end of town where we live all the way to the other side of town, in the middle of the strip, where UNLV is located. I think we may need to get her an apartment by the university so she doesn't have to drive so much, but, geez, the expense!!!
And now to get off gloomy subjects....
I hope everyone has a great hump day!!!!
ohmygod_smile Champ, Champ, Champ ohmygod_smile He's in a vicious low/bounce mode and it's driving me nuts!!! I would love anyone's input on what to do at this point, but would love to hear from any of our resident "experienced people."
I have it in my head that Champ may have been on too much insulin because he's going low in one cycle (where I have to give him 18% to keep him above 50) and then bouncing very hard the next cycle. Yesterday morning was hard for me to take....he had an AMPS of 462!! His bounces are still extremely short...high preshot number followed by a decline over the rest of the cycle. I decreased his dose yesterday morning from 2.5u to 2.25u. Last night I was up until 1 a.m. (and I get up between 4-5 a.m. every morning) because, once again, he dropped like a stone. He had a PMPS of 243 so when I saw the 75 at +3 I knew I had to slow him down. I gave him a teaspoon of 18% on top of his regular homemade raw food, but he still dropped to 59 at +3.5. I gave him a tablespoon of 18% and he fell another couple points at +4. He got another tablespoon of 18% and started to rise by +4.5, finally getting to 99 at +6 and I felt I could go to bed. I don't like having to carb him to keep him in a safe range. His bouncing is already crazy ridiculous without adding that to the mix. As it is, I only carb him when he's in the 50's or below. 60's and up, I only give him his homemade raw or some Before Grain 1% if I have it on hand. At this point, I feel like a complete newbie and I've lost some confidence in myself about whether I'm making rational decisions where Champ is concerned.
I'd love input on whether the reduction was a good idea or not. I don't know if I would feel comfortable raising his dose when he's going low on this one. However, that being said, I'll do what I need to do to get this bouncing to stop.
I gave Champ his second Adequan injection yesterday morning. Boy, filling a syringe with 36 units just seems so wrong!! :shock: He didn't give me any trouble with the injection, though, so that's a relief!! Of course, when he has his head in a bowl of breakfast, nothing bothers him!!! :lol:
OT: My daughter had an extremely minor traffic "incident" yesterday. The person in front of her braked hard, she hit the brakes but ended up bumping him, and a car bumped her from behind. The car behind her left since there was no damage to anyone's vehicle, but the guy in front of her got out of his car so she had to get out of hers. There was no damage to his car, but his passenger got out and said his "back kind of hurt." He then looked at the rear of the vehicle he was in and said he couldn't believe there wasn't any damage. Then the driver, hearing this, said "yeah, my neck hurts a little too." My daughter, being inexperienced, didn't call the police so there was no police report and no documentation that there was no damage. Fortunately, she called me and I told her to take a picture of the car. They had already driven off, saying they were going to the emergency room, but they were right in front of her so she took a picture of the car from her window. I'm so sick of how litiginous our society has become. God forbid you should work for your money. Let's just fake an injury so we can collect insurance money. My daughter's car is in my name and I'm scared to death that this is going to turn into a nightmare. Las Vegas traffic is some of the worst in the country and our insurance rates are some of the highest in the nation. Unfortunately, my daughter has to travel from one end of town where we live all the way to the other side of town, in the middle of the strip, where UNLV is located. I think we may need to get her an apartment by the university so she doesn't have to drive so much, but, geez, the expense!!!
And now to get off gloomy subjects....
I hope everyone has a great hump day!!!!