1/25, Bell, +4 73 +6 52 +6.5 75 +7 64 +8 54 +9 60 +10 54 +11 68 PMPS 61 +2 60 +3 64 +5 61 +7 78

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Welp I finally caught covid after 5 years of avoiding it. Feel awful...

I have a question on how to handle tonight shot. Bell seems to be struggling maintain above 50. I've basically been feeding her an 1/8 can of LC fancy feast (3 oz can) every hour (and a bit more when she is in the 50s) to keep her up. I know the rules say that she needs to fast for 2 hours before her shot to get a non-food assisted reading. But I'm worried she'll drop below 50 at the PMBG if I don't feed at +11. Do I just let that happen, take a reduction, and skip the shot? Thanks!
 
upload_2025-1-25_17-18-59.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-25_17-18-59.png
    upload_2025-1-25_17-18-59.png
    676.5 KB · Views: 106
Hi Seth. You know I’m not experienced and knowledgeable enough to be an advice giver, but what I will share regarding Minner maybe is something that could help with your decision.

When we got to 7.5 units and she “stabilized”, we did a temporary tweak to 7.75 to possibly get nadirs a little lower. I did not like nadirs in the 60s and I would prefer not to see a 50 ever. So we went back to 7.5. It seems that once we got to general area of the breakthru dose, there is opportunity to fine tune … of course if Minner earned a reduction by going below 50 I would do the 0.5 reduction. Before that might happen, it’s likely I will tweak down by 0.25 or slim her 7.5 to fine tune her nadirs as I find myself feeding her so much to keep her from dipping below nadirs in 60s/70s.
 
Hi Seth, sorry you got sick. Blame having to go back to work!

You could skip or half dose if you need to. How are you feeling? It's most important that you are well enough to take care of Bell. If you need to crash tonight, cut or reduce the dose. A reduced dose will still have action for quite a few hours yet, so only if you can be up. She will get back on track, regardless of what you do. :bighug:
 
OK, just wanted to get that out there first. The "no food 2 hours before shot time" is what we tell new people to do. Once you have experience, and enough +1 data to know how much of a food bump she gets, you can feed later and keep that number in mind when you look at the PMPS to see if it's safe to shoot. For example, if she gets 20 points bump from dinner, then that food influenced 68 is not safe to shoot.

The joy of a larger depot is that it helps carry her over a reduced or skipped dose. You could pretend you did a fur shot and go to bed, provided she is staying above 50 with no insulin.
 
Thank you both! She was 61 at shot time so I shot the whole dose. I feel like I got hit by a train, not sure I could even sleep if I wanted to… I’ll be setting alarms every hour or 2 to make sure she’s ok
 
OK, just wanted to get that out there first. The "no food 2 hours before shot time" is what we tell new people to do. Once you have experience, and enough +1 data to know how much of a food bump she gets, you can feed later and keep that number in mind when you look at the PMPS to see if it's safe to shoot. For example, if she gets 20 points bump from dinner, then that food influenced 68 is not safe to shoot.

The joy of a larger depot is that it helps carry her over a reduced or skipped dose. You could pretend you did a fur shot and go to bed, provided she is staying above 50 with no insulin.
Got it! That probably would have been wiser… But she does do pretty good on these low flat cycles. I’ll make sure she’s safe
 
Oh man sorry you have covid. Did you call your doctor about starting
Paxlovid starts to work soon after you take it. It works best when taken as soon as possible after getting a positive COVID-19 test and within 5 days of your symptoms starting. Everyone has a different experience of COVID-19, especially if you have risk factors for getting severely ill.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks so much, Madeline and Diane!

I’ve been super cautious throughout the pandemic as my mom has been winning a battle with lung cancer but has reduced lung capacity now. I am one of the few still masking at work and in most indoor places. I knew it would get me eventually tho, just lucky I haven’t been around my mom in the past week.

I am really healthy and up to date on all my covid vaccinations. I’m also embarrassed to admit I don’t even have a primary doctor ( :oops::oops:). I wonder if I’d be able to get Paxlovid through one of those urgent clinics. I’ve heard it really helps with symptoms, altho lots of folks rebound in a week or so.

Thanks so much for looking out :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You might be able to get it at one of those urgent care clinics, can't hurt to ask .
I'm so glad you haven't been around your mom in the past week. Sending prayers for your mom :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@bluesunshine

Just googled this
While seeing your PCP may be the most familiar method, it's not the only way to get a Paxlovid prescription. You can also visit an urgent care center or a retail health clinic, such as CVS MinuteClinic.
 
Last edited:
Hoping the covid is mild for you Seth. I had it once, last february, tested positive for 10 days and stopped testing since no symptoms really after day 4 or 5. I’ve neglected the covid vaccine over past year but got the flu shot a mth ago after my brother was so sick with it, raging 104 fever for 4 days, he finally went to ER. Scary.

Bell’s overnight cycle is absolutely beautiful. Heck, the whole day was! :D:D:D
 
Damn, sorry to hear you got COVID after being able to dodge it all these years. I still haven't gotten it, that I know of. I hope it passes quickly, I agree with the others, you should be able to get whatever you need from urgent care. The US healthcare is so messed up, I don't have a primary either.. I just go to urgent care when needed. Even if you had a primary, you probably couldn't see them for weeks and they'd tell you to go to urgent care anyway. My work offers Telemedicine where you can just work with a doctor over the phone, you might have that if you have insurance through an employer.

If you have to reduce or skip, no worries, you'll get Bell back to better numbers as soon as you get better. I run Kona in higher numbers when I have to.... life happens.

Get well! :bighug:
 
So sorry you’re sick Seth. You've gotten great advice for Bell and I know you will do what you need to for her.
Prayers for your Mom. You’re an awesome son in your concern for her well being.

I would tell my sons to get a primary care doctor, so I’ll be that nagging mom and suggest you to do the same. It’s always helpful if you have an established doc if you ever need one. (Even if you only go 1x a year for a physical and have a record with them.)

Just my 2 cents. Hope you don’t mind.
But in a pinch, use urgent care!
And drink lots of fluids and rest as much as you can.
Sending lots of good wishes for a fast recovery and safe surfing for Bell :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top