1/25 Atlas PMPS 72, +3 61, +4 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Lantus Land!!!!

I'm being stalked off board! :razz:

Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35132

Long day yesterday ....


Quiet morning today. Everybody sleeping in it seems. Attie very snuggles and purry wanting very much to be babied. It's 31F this morning, so don't know what's up with them.

Gary is AWOL. Lodge unused for two nights.
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116

Nice place to start your day Atlas!
Stalked? :o What do you mean?
Hope you have a good day...but where is Gary I wonder?
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96

I have some long thoughts about Atlas. I hope you don't mind me putting them here. Maybe they will help.

Here’s my observation, based on my experience with Lucy and on what I’ve seen with a lot of other cats here. At this stage in the game, the lack of bounces means that Atlas’s pancreas is on the job. Our job is to give the newly functioning Mr. P as much support as possible so it has lots of time to heal and get strong as we gradually remove the exogenous insulin from the picture. We want to provide support, but we don’t want to put Atlas in any danger AND we don’t want to exhaust the bean (well, maybe a little!).

A lot of your decisions will have to be based on what your gut tells you at shot time. It is perfectly fine to take 0.25 reductions at this point when reductions are earned, and that is what I would do (and it is what I did with Lucy during most of her trip). He is holding the reductions just fine so shaving isn’t necessary. If he gets to a point where he is having more trouble with reductions, then you can switch back to shaving. Don’t get thrown by an occasional blue number – keep your consistent dosing just like you always have and don’t adjust the dose based on seeing a higher number or two. They happen. As long as they go away, we’re fine.

Also, there were times when I had to skip or BCS a dose just to try to let Lucy’s shed drain a little. There is no harm in that and Atlas will hardly notice. You can see times on Lucy’s spreadsheet when I skipped, and she might have been blue or yellow at the next shot time but she came back down immediately. It let me get some sleep and it let her clear out some of the shed so we could get a better picture of what the dose was doing for her. Many people have to do this on the way down the dosing scale. Obviously if you find yourself skipping often, then you need to reduce the dose. It's just a tool to help you maintain control of the numbers.

There is always a possibility that a cat who goes down the dosing ladder too quickly can “lose it” and their dosing needs will increase. Lucy did this on her first trip down. It was a learning experience for me, and I did a much better job of managing her on her second trip down. A big part of that was learning to follow my gut and learning when it was better to just not shoot. The Lantus shed is a wonderful thing, but sometimes it does get in the way. :smile:

Sooooo….. next time Atlas is running 50s for several cycles in a row, or earns a couple of reductions in quick succession, if he gives you a 50s preshot maybe try giving half of his dose, or even no dose, just for one cycle. Get a few spot checks and see where he is at the next preshot. Then restart at whatever his dose is supposed to be (currently 2.5, unless he earns a reduction before then). Don’t hesitate to increase the dose again if it looks like a reduction isn’t sticking, but I don’t mean just one or two blue numbers, I mean an overall trend.

I have to get back to work, but I’ll try to check back in later.
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96

Thank you Libby, I am concerned the decreases are coming too fast.

We'll see where he is tonight. I guess I am just afraid to lose momentum and the dreaded fear of triggering a serious bounce...which then sends us back to LTS with a known bouncy cat!

I can see where the strategy of half dose and no dose would be opportune. So last night might have been a good chance to shoot even lower than the 2.5u. I had actually contemplated shooting a 2.25u as a BCS dose.... I wasn't entirely wrong, but could have been more aggressive.

It sounds like my thinking is on the right track, but to not be afraid of being a little more aggressive in slowing him coming down to dose ladder. I'm was thinking more in shaves to try and balance vs. lower dose rise and revisit. ;-)
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53 (not again!)

And I thought I was going to go somewhere!!!

ATTIE I HAVE A BUSINESS TO RUN THAT DESPERATELY NEEDS TO HAVE SOME MARKETING TLC!
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53 (not again!)

Hi guys ... look at atlas go! Libby gave you some really good advice so I'll just say keep up the nice work you guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53 (not again!), +6 60

We did a minimeal 0.25 oz at the +5 with no carbs.

Looks like he is moderating on his own.

Dressed, hair done, make-up on,....maybe I'll get out the door in an hour? Then is will be +7 and he will have access to an afternoon snack at his leisure.

I should be home in time to catch the 5 o'clock fall out.... ohmygod_smile


Libby I may be using your advice this evening! Sheesh...
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53 (not again!), +6 60

this all sounds good! (except the stalking thing...you've got my curiosity piqued, girl)...
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53 (not again!), +6 60

mybuddybinks said:
this all sounds good! (except the stalking thing...you've got my curiosity piqued, girl)...

Please note: there is a razzle face after that statement....

Miriam was waiting for me to post this morning and since I am the very early poster...and was very late...well she PM'd me and said she was stalking me. :lol:

See the last post in yesterday's condo too...it is very, very cute.
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53, +6 60, +7 75

And I can make it out the door!!!!!!

Surf nice now Attie....

There is a treat in the feeder for you when you decide to get out of bed! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53, +6 60, +7 75

Another great day for Attie....Beth...you are doing wonderful!!! I love how he came up on his own!
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas AMPS 116, +3 96, +5 53, +6 60, +7 75

Atlas continues to look so great!! Keep up the good work!! :) I've got nothing to add on the dosing instruction... thanks to you and libby for discussing in your condo as opposed to PM... it's nice info to store in the back of my mind for when the wee-dub and I are hopefully someday in a similar situation!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/25 Atlas PMPS 72

Everybody has been fed and are snoozing away...

EVEN GARY....WE HAD A GARY CAT SIGHTING! He appeared quite happy and fine. :-D
 
Busy day, nice afternoon visiting and chatting up with vets and groomers...
Website worked on for SEO
Teleconference call on the Virtual Sales Person and automated customer education...actually sounds pretty neat....look into in the morrowlands...
Exapanded my understanding of Facebook Insights and how to utilize


We're calling it night...

Bedtime snack being fed, beds turned down... balmy evening tonight at 27F. Gary bounced through and have not seen him since dinner. My money bets he was "confined" at someone's home during those brutal cold days. I just might be hosting the club house hangout. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top