1/25/25 Minky AMPS: 357; 248@+6; PMPS: 347; 391@+2; 395@+4.5

Sheila and Minky

Member Since 2024
Minky has a history of having DKA. Yesterday she was better but the couple of days before that she had been more lethargic and not eating the best. Yesterday she ate a lot better. She did throw up once last night although I think it was from eating too much food within a 3 hour window. Through her numbers coming down and dose reductions we are at 1.25 units of insulin. I tested her ketones on January 23rd at night and she was at .4. I know that is not a bad number but she hasn't been at that number since September shortly after we went through the DKA and were just coming out of it. I have one blood ketone test left and have more coming Monday. Is there something else I should be doing? Should I give her 1.5 units of insulin tonight? She has been hovering a lot in the 300s.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Minky has a history of having DKA. Yesterday she was better but the couple of days before that she had been more lethargic and not eating the best. Yesterday she ate a lot better. She did throw up once last night although I think it was from eating too much food within a 3 hour window. Through her numbers coming down and dose reductions we are at 1.25 units of insulin. I tested her ketones on January 23rd at night and she was at .4. I know that is not a bad number but she hasn't been at that number since September shortly after we went through the DKA and were just coming out of it. I have one blood ketone test left and have more coming Monday. Is there something else I should be doing? Should I give her 1.5 units of insulin tonight? She has been hovering a lot in the 300s.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hi Sheila, I’m sorry to hear Minky was throwing up last night. I hope she is better today.

It’s good you are being cautious since Minky had a DKA and you don’t want a repeat of that.
I’m hopeful you will get some suggestions from some more knowledgeable people with advice about ketones. @Wendy&Neko

I know it’s so important they do eat and get insulin condition help keep away the ketones but I’m not experienced with personal experience here.

Maybe put Minky’s name in the header field, too and add today’s date as well and a few more tests as the day goes on for more information so you may get some attention.
Wishing you and Minky a calm day :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Sheila, I think you could go up in dose to 1.5 units as long as you can monitor.
And I would feed some extra food if Minky will allow it. And add a teaspoon of warm water to each snack if a Minky is agreeable.

I see 10 days ago you skipped a dose when the PMPs was 230. I know that was lower than usual but it is a safe number to shoot and it is never a good idea to skip a dose with a kitty with a DKA history.
If you are concerned you can stall for 20 minutes and then eyestalks and post and ask for support but 230 is a safe number to shoot. The first few times you shoot a lower than normal preshot, get a +2 and a +4 so you can see what is happening.
 
Hi Sheila, I think you could go up in dose to 1.5 units as long as you can monitor.
And I would feed some extra food if Minky will allow it. And add a teaspoon of warm water to each snack if a Minky is agreeable.

I see 10 days ago you skipped a dose when the PMPs was 230. I know that was lower than usual but it is a safe number to shoot and it is never a good idea to skip a dose with a kitty with a DKA history.
If you are concerned you can stall for 20 minutes and then eyestalks and post and ask for support but 230 is a safe number to shoot. The first few times you shoot a lower than normal preshot, get a +2 and a +4 so you can see what is happening.
Thank you Bron for the help and advice. Sometimes if I am getting ready for work, I am unable to stall and I can't do +2 because my schedule doesn't allow it. I am able to do +4.5. That is the earliest I can test. Because she had dropped 140 points in 4.5 hours a few times around then, I was really hesitant to shoot. Since then I have been trying to consistently shoot though. I will try to give extra food. Thank you <3
 
Last edited:
Good luck with the increase. More blues please Minky.

From what I can see, those big drops were from higher pink numbers. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers flatter, the big drops tend to happen when you have higher preshots.
I gave her the 1.5 so we will see and I am trying to feed more. Thank you Wendy <3
 
Hi Sheila, I think you could go up in dose to 1.5 units as long as you can monitor.
And I would feed some extra food if Minky will allow it. And add a teaspoon of warm water to each snack if a Minky is agreeable.

I see 10 days ago you skipped a dose when the PMPs was 230. I know that was lower than usual but it is a safe number to shoot and it is never a good idea to skip a dose with a kitty with a DKA history.
If you are concerned you can stall for 20 minutes and then eyestalks and post and ask for support but 230 is a safe number to shoot. The first few times you shoot a lower than normal preshot, get a +2 and a +4 so you can see what is happening.
I just tested at +2 and she went up from 347 to 391. I have seen her really spike at +10 before her preshot too. +2 doesn't feel helpful to me :(
 
Back
Top